Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 17,190
Рецензии: 5,182

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

VI

May 11, 2020

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

Фильтр по:

4151–4175 из 5,135 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: Vivian W

Jul 12, 2019

It is a simple course with basic knowledge, principles and recipes that everyone can apply to improve their daily meal and health. As I've read a couple of nutrition books, I found the content is not intensively structured enough for me. But I would definitely recommend it to my friends who care about their health or eat not very healthy.

автор: Atul K

Jul 28, 2020

Excellent teaching in basics. Instead of the emphasis on recipes towards the end, I would have preferred learning more about what to eat when, what can be a healthy mix for what time of the day, diet for the more active, for the people with different objectives of weight and fitness etc. Maybe you could have an advance course for this.

автор: Sharoon S

Oct 14, 2017

This was an interesting course. It was visually appealing, timed just right and mostly informative. I would have liked for this to be a bit more scientifically informative. There was a lot of feel good episodes which I personally felt didn't add to my take away. I do appreciate the course instructors positive demeanor and presentation.

автор: Sheryl W

Sep 16, 2017

It was an informative course and enjoyable. I would suggest that in the last two lessons recipes be added for vegans and those with dairy intolerance. It was good to see gluten free recipes but they need adapting for egg intolerance. I would recommend this course as it is informative and tries to put things forward in a helpful manner.

автор: Nancy I

Sep 10, 2018

I loved this course, i had so many new discoveries, so many different methods to prepare a healthy meal and to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

But i have a request, i need to put on a little weight coz i am underweight, if i could get recipe's for that i will be most grateful. Thanks again, you guys are doing a wonderful job over there!

автор: Akshay

Jan 22, 2020

Really nice course to begin for beginners. Gives basic understanding of food and changes the way you would look at food the next time after taking the course. Should go for this course even if its not related to your career tracks. Decent explanation and really emphasis on the difficulties we face in day to day life regarding food.

автор: Mansi K

Jan 29, 2016

I star reduced because it was somehow lacking in assignments and practical applicable steps to start eating healthy. A great base of information to build on and offer more in depth of what foods to eat and not to eat. Would also love more information on label reading and organic vs Other food. Extra Virgin vs Virgin Olive oil etc.

автор: Maggie W

May 05, 2017

I loved that a lot of the content was easy to understand and convenient to follow. The materials is definetely helpful for anyone who has interests in eating healthy or even losing weights. I was just a little surprised that the last week of this class turned into a series of cooking videos. Overall, this was an amazing course!

автор: Lauren B

Apr 12, 2016

If you are looking for advice on how to live a healthier life I believe this might be a great course for you. However, if you are looking for depth in the nutritional science this course will be unfulfilling. I stopped after the 3rd week of lessons because this course did not contain the scientific information I was hoping for.

автор: HILAL I K

Jun 29, 2020

I'm interested in the question of how we can be healthy with food. When I saw this course, I enrolled immediately. The lessons are very useful because images and videos are informative to learn beginner level. However, the course needed to be developed because I could not see more scientific information or data. Thank you :)

автор: Vo N D

Dec 31, 2016

The course is very well managed and so informative from basic knowledge about foods and its nutrition then takes us a very fundamental but bold about nutrition and health. For those who does not like to read lot of books to come up with a simple and quick idea about how to have a health eating, this is a recommended one.

автор: Lesly F

May 27, 2020

Este curso brinda información valiosa sobre la alimentación de las personas y como influye esto en la salud. Así mismo brindan consejos basados en evidencia científica para poder seguir una dieta balanceada. Lo que más me gustó fue que incluyeron algunas recetas de platos novedosos y prácticos para realizar en casa.

автор: Fabian H

Aug 11, 2016

Interesting topic and very good information

Not enough content (my opinion)

Tests where way to easy, I could take them all without first watching the videos, and my grade ist above 90%. The questions are (espacially in Week 3 and 4) easy to solve with logic and a basic intelligence. Please work on making it harder! :)

автор: Marwa E

Mar 11, 2017

Simple and practical

I really enjoyed this course and how it managed to focus on the beauty and enjoyment of food as a main point in making healthier choices when it comes to diet. I only hope there is another follow up more in-depth course with more information on micro-nutrients and hormonal influence on obesity.

автор: Jeyana M

Jan 19, 2016

In general, this course is great! Thank you so much for it.

Great lectures, great videos, animations and slides.

One thing I didn't like is the assumption, that cooking at home will do so much help in slowing down the obesity epidemic. Here in Ukraine most of us don't eat out, but obesity is prevalent nevertheless.

автор: Bhim R M S

Feb 02, 2020

Ever since I learnt about healthy eating, I became very captivated with the topic. I was very curious and my how food affects our health and how we can protect ourselves by eating right. This course has enlightened me about the various aspects that we have to consider when choosing what we eat and how we eat it.

автор: daniel h

May 02, 2018

A good way to start your research into what food is, what you can do with it and how food works in your everyday life. The videos are informative however lacking charisma to keep the student entertained.... This may not be a negative. This is about facts and Standford provides a good base to start from.

Thanks.

автор: Thomas R

Apr 27, 2018

Thorough and engaging look at the fundamentals of nutrition and healthy food choices. Excellent resource for anyone who wants to understand the basics of a healthy diet and productive sustainable food choices. Engaging videos and the demonstrations of recipes are particularly nice touch. Thoroughly enjoyed.

автор: Borja T

Jan 18, 2016

Could be added more technical question, but I understand that the course is trying to reach as much people as possible.

However explaining a bit more details about minerals, which was not mention, would be good. Extending to flavonoids and some other stuff which most poeple is unaware would be interesting.

автор: Reem N

Jun 29, 2020

An interesting basic course with explanations about nutrients, calories, plant-based diets etc. I think I had expected more details and a more rigorous course but I see now that this is aimed at people who may have limited to no knowledge about these issues. Very good course, nonetheless. Thank you.

автор: RITESH M

Feb 11, 2020

i have learned so many things about food , how to do groserry shopping . i learned that we should more depend on natural food rather than highly processsd food we should eat plant food rather than having meat, and some other supplements that are available in market eassily we must ahave more organic

автор: Alison O C B

Jun 26, 2020

I really liked it, but it's very basic, and as I'm a first-year nutrition student in college, I should had taken on a harder course that would bring me some knowledge I didn't already know. Regardless of that, it's a very good course for someone who doesn't know anything about health and nutrition.

автор: Jose C

May 09, 2020

I appreciated the insights and recommendations from both Dr. Adams and Michael Pollan. We do overeat in this country but it is so difficult to eat the right way when fresh organic fruits and veggies are SO incredibly expensive and fast food and junk food so cheap. Thanx for this perspective.

автор: Ubayd R

Oct 20, 2020

Its been a great journey of learning and experiencing true knowledge about how food and nutrition affect our health and whats the role of food in your lifestyle and fitness. Overall its been a great course i would definitely recommend people to must do this course for a better understanding.

автор: Karime L

Jun 22, 2020

Great course for beginners. Could have better explanations of terminology like HDL cholesterol and LDL. I think that beginners need a little more detail about terminology involving biochemistry. Overall, it is an inspiring and helpful course to understand why it is important to eat healthy