Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 15,689
Рецензии: 4,702

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

CS

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

AE

Jun 22, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

Фильтр по:

4376–4400 из 4,658 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: Stephanie H

Jul 09, 2017

I appreciate this course, the quality of the videos, and the subject manner, however I felt that a lot of the material was drawn from an interview with Michael Pollan (why not just recommend reading his books, or seeing his wealth of documentaries on Netflix, such as "Cooked" and "In Defense of Food." I felt that this course did not offer as much scientific information about nutrition as I was hoping. Having said that, I feel like this course would be great for those struggling with their weight. There should be a link to this on diabetes and heart disease websites.

автор: Leyre D d V

May 06, 2020

El curso esta bien para marcar las bases nutricionales a personas que se alimentan de manera muy insaludable, sin embargo es bastante pobre para todas aquellas personas que se interesan por la nutrición y buscan aprender más.

Hay varios fallos en los alimentos utilizados, como mucha sal añadida a los alimentos, utlilización de Nutella en vez de una pasta de cacao realizada por uno mismo ....

Aún así he seguido el curso hasta el final y les agradezco el esfuerzo y dedicación para llevarlo a cabo!

Saludos y agradecimientos

автор: Pim M

Aug 24, 2016

Short and concise. The course strongly aims for USA residents who eat too much. If you are that person, this course is perfect. As someone from another country without health problems, there was not much here. I was hoping to learn more about food and how to optimize my diet so as to increase energy, improve mood, increase life-expectancy, and reduce chances for depression. I found nothing about that. But it's not so bad because the course took me less than 3 hours and I still picked up a few things :).

автор: Lim Z L

Jun 21, 2017

This course teaches very basic knowledge about nutrition. It is good for people who have are just starting out on learning about food and nutrition. Personally I feel that the topics discussed were rather repetitive and general. Perhaps the course could have dived deeper into the topic of nutrition such as discussion of how cooking methods may affect nutritional values of food, different storage conditions for different food types and whether they have any impact on the nutritional contents etc.

автор: Felix B

Jul 03, 2017

I think, it gives a good overview over food and the health implications from eating less processed food for instance. However, I think a lot of the material is too much focused on the US. In a lot of countries (especially across Asia), people do not cook at home but eat at food courts, which do not use processed food and are equally healthy than what we would cook at home. Also, being interested in this topic, I think most of the concepts were rather basic and did not go into depth too much.

автор: Cecilia F

Apr 11, 2020

To whom it may concern,

I'm a french-spanish young person and I personally found the introduction very useful (explanation of nutritional components). However, the rest of the course was too basic. I expected to go deeper in nutrition and not so much about avoiding processed food, which i find a little obvious.

Anyway, thank you very much for the course. All this effort will surely help many people with no real-food culture at all.

автор: Hainuo C

May 18, 2020

This is an interesting and informative course. After learning it, I started to be more conscious about planning my meal. The recipe and cooking video in the last session is very impressive. However, the content of the course is too basic for me, and the advice such as "eat more vegetable" and "read ingredient list" are more like a common sense thing. This course would be better to talk about deeper level content.

автор: Péter H

Mar 02, 2018

This course contains very basic and simple knowledge about how we should eat. So if you have never really read about healthy lifestyle or foods, this will give you a nice, elementary school level overview - which I think is very important. I'm a person who is reading a lot of studies about eating styles, habits and foods, but I'm not a professional. For me, this course didn't really give any new knowledge.

автор: Ondrej Š

Oct 25, 2016

This course provided me with some vital knowledge about health and nutrition, however, I consider it to be very short and rather shallow. The issues would require more coverage, than, with some weeks, 15 minutes for the whole week. Another issue is the tests. 50 % margin for passing the exam seems too easy. The videos have great graphics and the issues are well explained. Overaly 3/4 stars.

автор: Maria L C

May 23, 2016

Super interesting, but it is a very basic introduction to nutrition. Only the first or second lessons have information about nutrients and how they are different from each other. The other sections you could've gotten from a Michael Pollan book, or one of his documentaries. Nevertheless, very engaging, visually and verbally, and ideal for someone who is getting started on nutrition.

автор: Lu M

Feb 18, 2020

It's a fine course. Much of it is common sense (or it should be - I'm guessing it's not for most people, especially americans). I was hoping to learn something about food security, so I'm a bit disapppointed.

Also, some of the advices are outdated, such as the ideia of eating many times during the day.

Having said that, I enjoyed the course, especially Michael Pollan's contributions.

автор: Adalberto C

Aug 31, 2016

The topics discussed into this course are really interesting. The videos give some perspective at the time of taking care of our own health and eating habits.

The only problem I see, is the shortness of the course and the videos. The topics don't go beyond the surface and there is a lack of: details, examples, and comparisons between healthy diets and harmful ones.

автор: Ashley N

Jul 08, 2020

I felt that the information in the course was well presented, however, it was a bit out of date. It seemed to be too careful not to offend or seem unreasonable at the expense of sharing science-based recommendations for a healthy diet. That being said, if one were going from the standard American diet to the diet recommended in this, they'd be much better off.

автор: Maria S

Apr 13, 2020

Very general, basic information provided in the course. It is a very, very small introduction to a subject that is so vast. The last week is practical recipies ideas. Uselful ideas for shopping and laber reading. Not enough details on the food nutrients. The presentaions are very short, 5-9 minutes. More details needed to make it useful.

автор: Boya D

Jan 04, 2018

The course is very introductory but well laid out. If you are already doing some readings on nutrition before this course, you will find more 50% of the course to be familiar. I really wish that the course is longer and have some more in-depth information, and possibly some more insights related to the various diet trends we see now.

автор: Adam R

Jan 23, 2018

It provides good and broad informations about nutrition but I was expected a few more details. I think that this course is more suitable for people who know nothing about nutrition, but maybe a little boring for the ones who already have the fundamentals. Well, in fact, everything is in the title... this is an introduction ! ;)

автор: Dahlia R

May 31, 2020

Perhaps I went in with expectations that were too high. I found the format of this course to be very engaging and enjoyed the quizzes for evaluation, however the content was very elementary. Was looking to learn more about the science behind health and nutrition and less about the social aspects behind the Western Diet.

автор: Katie J

Jun 13, 2020

This course is for complete beginners. The first week i learnt something about nutrition and was rather excited, the next few weeks, however, were so basic i don't know why one would need a course on that since it's such basic knowledge. Overall, the course is fine and the speaker, Maya, is a very nice presenter.

автор: Diana H F P

Jan 12, 2018

It is well edited and has good but very basic information of nutrition which is not what I wanted, I wanted a more advanced nutrition course, this was not for me, but if you don't know anything about nutrition this is a good course and takes you through the basics so you can have a better understanding.

автор: Thomas C

Nov 23, 2016

Incredibly basic- more for the average person rather than a student or professional, but it seems as though that is who the material is directed at- so not a great course if you are a professional looking to increase your knowledge, but great usable information that the average person can easily apply.

автор: Thanmayee K

Jul 02, 2020

i found this course interesting to an extent as this is my first online course. But apparently, the information was too compromised. Although, I got to learn quite a bit, it didn't reach my expectations. There could be another course introduced in extension to this one which would be great.

Thank you.

автор: Ricardo C H

May 12, 2020

Es un curso realmente muy básico, ideal para personas que no entienden nada de nutrición o su conocimiento respecto a este tema es mínimo.

Las explicaciones y la información se presenta de una forma bastante sencilla y entendible por lo cual no debería haber mayor dificultad para aprobar el curso.

автор: Eric J

Aug 07, 2020

Decent course but could have been better. Information was okay but confusing and repetitive in some ways during the weeks of this course. I got very bored with this course in the 3rd week. Overall this course is a 3 out of 5 starts and execution could have been better with presentation as well.

автор: Jayde F

Apr 17, 2020

Very basic course aimed at somebody who is on a very unhealthy american diet and focused on helping them to get slightly healthier. For somebody who already makes good food choices this course isn't for you. To be honest, I can't imagine anybody is unhealthy enough to need this level of basics!