Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 15,823
Рецензии: 4,736

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Фильтр по:

4426–4450 из 4,689 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: Thomas C

Nov 23, 2016

Incredibly basic- more for the average person rather than a student or professional, but it seems as though that is who the material is directed at- so not a great course if you are a professional looking to increase your knowledge, but great usable information that the average person can easily apply.

автор: Thanmayee K

Jul 02, 2020

i found this course interesting to an extent as this is my first online course. But apparently, the information was too compromised. Although, I got to learn quite a bit, it didn't reach my expectations. There could be another course introduced in extension to this one which would be great.

Thank you.

автор: Ricardo C H

May 12, 2020

Es un curso realmente muy básico, ideal para personas que no entienden nada de nutrición o su conocimiento respecto a este tema es mínimo.

Las explicaciones y la información se presenta de una forma bastante sencilla y entendible por lo cual no debería haber mayor dificultad para aprobar el curso.

автор: Eric J

Aug 07, 2020

Decent course but could have been better. Information was okay but confusing and repetitive in some ways during the weeks of this course. I got very bored with this course in the 3rd week. Overall this course is a 3 out of 5 starts and execution could have been better with presentation as well.

автор: Jayde F

Apr 17, 2020

Very basic course aimed at somebody who is on a very unhealthy american diet and focused on helping them to get slightly healthier. For somebody who already makes good food choices this course isn't for you. To be honest, I can't imagine anybody is unhealthy enough to need this level of basics!

автор: Alexander U

Sep 04, 2019

Interesting, but did not learn much I did not already know. Course was nice though, would recommend it to my acquaintances. I would diversify the references, and not always have Michael Pollan (some controversial stuff there), even though his interviews were on point and politically correct. :)

автор: Aliona C

Feb 14, 2016

extremely short & easy - fun-ducation. Not hugely informative for someone who's looking to learn about the links between what we eat and how we eat, and how human bodies respond. But the instructor is very charming, so it was a pleasant experience. The whole course can be completed in 1-2 hours

автор: Fiona V

Apr 29, 2017

This course gives you a general overview over nutrition. It is a good start for those who want to have an healthier diet. Personally I already knew most of the information provided and I am a bit further into the 'eating healthy' process. The course is well done anyway and worth a look.

автор: cassandra t

Aug 12, 2016

Starts off informative and then becomes very basic. It felt like it was more for informing families struggling with nutrition than for informative education on health and food.

The interview with Michael Pollan that was woven in to each lesson were the main reason to finish the course.

автор: Simran P

May 22, 2020

The course was informative. However, i was very basic. Being a post graduate in food science and technology myself, I was looking for advance level. I have a suggestion as well, the background music was high which hindered the listening when the coaches were speaking. Thank you!

автор: Jennifer H

Feb 01, 2016

This seems like a good overview for those new to the kitchen, and/or health concerns more generally. For someone interested in deepening their understanding, it's of more limited value--but it is presented as an introduction. I wish there were readings to supplement the videos.

автор: Susan M M

Sep 01, 2017

I enjoyed most of the information in this course. The last week recipes and instructions seemed ridiculous as it was out of sync with: "eat food, not too much, mostly plants." I would have appreciated some plant based recipes. These recipes had too much dairy and meat. <3

автор: Jessie Z

Mar 16, 2016

It was filled with a lot of interesting, pertinent information but I did feel that there was not enough variety in terms of interviews and I do wish that she had delved more into some of the topics. I understand it was an overview but I often felt that it was very brief.

автор: Sarah M J

Feb 03, 2016

I was hoping for something a little more technical. This course might be good for someone who has no previous knowledge of the nutrition content of food or how to cook. It would be perfect for kids getting ready to head off to college who've never cooked for themselves.

автор: Patsy D

Jun 30, 2018

Most of the concepts are very straight forward. I have been on and out of diets since I was 12 years old, at least the first week was a different approach, the rest was common sense. I would like to do deeper into the topics of nutrients and choosing better options.

автор: PERIE

Jul 01, 2019

Some good advices, but it lakes of amounts and informations are rapidly repetitives (i'm french, so perhaps those informations are for me mainstream and that's why i find it repetitive).

It's actually helpful to begin my own seach but i expecteted more informations

автор: Virat M

Sep 06, 2019

A very basic course just skimming over information. I wish that more in-depth material was included. I got the feeling that it was designed to promote M. Pollan's books and point of view. Nevertheless, there were some useful tips and hence the 3-star rating.

автор: Christian P R

Mar 03, 2019

As with almost the totality of all courses produced by HarvardX, the production quality is world class.

Despite this being an introductory course, I expected more knowledge to be included. But this is a subjective review so whatever. What is reality?

автор: Maria B

May 04, 2020

Very basic. It could use much more in depth material. I would recommend it to someone who was absolutely no knowledge of food and nutrition, even basics like "do not eat processed foods". For someone who has basic knowledge, this is not very useful.

автор: Kim H J

Oct 03, 2018

This course is too easy and too simple that we don't have to learn from the lecture. We already learned most of this course's information from high school, news, or SNS posts. Also, I'm a little doubted about the recipes if these are really healthy.

автор: Marilyn P

Jun 02, 2020

The course was very simplistic but I guess it was an introduction. I stopped watching the recipe videos when everything had sugar and/or Nutella. Nutella has zero nutritional value. Really? A program on health and all the recipes have sugar?

автор: L A

Jul 16, 2017

It was really easy... perhaps too easy IMO. I barely had to focus or think throughout the lecture videos or the quizzes. The course provided me with facts that I already knew about. However, I found that the recipes were creative and helpful.

автор: William H

May 21, 2020

I was hoping there would be more breakdowns of nutrients at a molecular level, and why your body needs them. This course offered a superficial understanding of those nutrients. However it offered a guideline of how to organize your plate.

автор: Peter S

Nov 28, 2017

A very enjoyable course, but a little on the 'light side'. Good fun to watch, but not as rigorous as many other MOOCs. Though to be fair, the course only claims to be an introduction to the topic. The lecturer is certainly not boring.