Chevron Left
Вернуться к A Crash Course in Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе A Crash Course in Data Science от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 5,355
Рецензии: 1,014

О курсе

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Основные моменты
Basic course
(рецензий: 76)
Well taught
(рецензий: 48)

Лучшие рецензии

SJ

Sep 10, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

JM

Jan 02, 2018

It is a very good course even if you are familiar with some aspects of data science work. If I have to make a suggestion, I would remark the importance of design skills during a data product,

Фильтр по:

951–975 из 985 отзывов о курсе A Crash Course in Data Science

автор: Robin S

Jun 13, 2019

The only reason this course is two stars is because the content could be useful to a beginner in the field. The course itself, however, is of poor quality with un-engaging video content and an unedited book with multiple sections that are clearly derived verbatim from the sub-par video lectures. It could be drastically improved with a little effort and would hopefully provide more value to learners with genuine interest.

автор: ciri

Mar 04, 2019

Came in with high expectations, but the content didn't meet them. Some of the videos have poor audio/video quality, read out dry definitions that are not very relevant. The lecture notes and video content contain factual mistakes (section of software is filled with errors) and confuse the notion of machine learning with data science throughout.

автор: Mohsin Q

Oct 31, 2016

They could have stated the audience of the course more clearly. I found most of the information irrelevant that added little value. Most of the things discussed are generic and would apply to any project.

автор: Marcelo H G

Jul 12, 2017

Too much Superficial. Too fewer quizes. More external videos about hadoop, python, spark, data lakes. More paradigms broken. Need to explain what is On premise, rent and cloud.

автор: Jouke A M

Dec 07, 2018

Not very complete, also you need some knowledge of the field already otherwise you will be left in the dark at certain moments. Not a very consistent course. I expected better

автор: Prashant P

Dec 22, 2015

Too theoretical, e.g, comparison between statistics and ML is not at all useful. Too many quizzes after very short classes and on topics of absolutely generic things.

автор: Brandon L

Aug 01, 2016

Good intent but poor execution. Tries to summarize all the major topics but ends up delivering a totally disjointed, cut-and-paste experience with no real flow.

автор: Arno B

May 04, 2017

very elementary. Takes approximately 2 hours to complete.

cannot continue with the in-dept material but have to wait until next week (and payment ofcourse).

автор: Nellai S

Jul 02, 2017

At some places, one lesson had the text and the next lesson was redundant with part of the information on video. you could club them in one an

автор: iair l

Dec 26, 2015

too basic, the 4 courses of this specialization could be just one course.

автор: Hussain, C

Oct 21, 2015

Very general course. Doesn't give much insight into data science.

автор: Deepak G

Jun 28, 2016

Very short. Quality of the course is also not that good.

автор: Eduardo R L

Oct 07, 2016

1-week does not seem enough for a Crash Course

автор: Shafeeq S

Jan 08, 2019

Not that engaging content. bit lengthy

автор: Jose C C

Oct 05, 2015

This course is too short.

автор: Yousuf B

Mar 11, 2017

Overly academic

автор: Boris L

Oct 05, 2015

Very shallow

автор: Thomas W

Dec 28, 2017

All the course content is too basic to bother with. It’s just a bunch of common sense and a few definitions of vocabulary words that can already be found on Wikipedia. There is typically one page of reading stating basic definitions and intuitive ideas followed by a 10-15 minute video reiterating those basic ideas. For example, there is an entire unit just to explain that a report on a data science experiment should be clearly written, avoid unnecessary detail, and have concise conclusions. There is a page of reading to list these as bullet points and a 14 minute video to repeat these points.

This course is a waste of time. Thankfully, it’s short and free.

автор: Vishal S

Nov 27, 2019

A LITTLE TOO THEORETICAL. THE INSTRUCTORS SEEM CHALLENGED TO PRESENT REAL LIFE EXAMPLES. Quoting favorite examples from historical pure play ideas (e.g. predicting heights of boys) are frankly a bit dated, not relevant for a business audience, and hint at real life incompetence of instructors. And what is with trying to promote books these guys have written?

автор: Alessandro V

Apr 22, 2016

It's too short, I think it should be a part of a course and not a course itself.

It is a repetition of concepts and examples from other courses by john hopkins univ.

автор: Tamer D

Sep 05, 2017

It would be great if slides were prepared and used through out the videos....

I was looking for something a little but more technical...

автор: Ismail H D

Apr 11, 2016

This course is very sparse on details, and just a week of content. The lecturer is not the best at explaining concepts.

автор: Guy B

Feb 12, 2016

Very basic, for absolute beginners/ managers completely new to data (let alone data science)

автор: Carol P

Feb 09, 2016

Too short to get any depth of information. Too expensive for the content provided.

автор: Poon F

Jan 26, 2018

No much information presented. Disappointed that this comes from John Hopkins.