Chevron Left
Вернуться к A Crash Course in Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе A Crash Course in Data Science от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.5
Оценки: 5,213
Рецензии: 983

О курсе

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Основные моменты
Basic course
(рецензий: 76)
Well taught
(рецензий: 48)

Лучшие рецензии

SJ

Sep 10, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

JM

Jan 02, 2018

It is a very good course even if you are familiar with some aspects of data science work. If I have to make a suggestion, I would remark the importance of design skills during a data product,

Фильтр по:

851–875 из 951 отзывов о курсе A Crash Course in Data Science

автор: Peter P

Mar 19, 2016

Great course for somebody who does not know anything about data science. When doing this specialisation there should be credit for those that did the other data science specialisation

автор: Brian N

Jan 09, 2017

A good introduction to data science.

автор: Stephanie M D

Dec 23, 2016

Nice overview for those of us unschooled in the language. Syntax of the notes and text is in need of major editing-proofreading.

автор: Ricardo J O

Jan 05, 2016

The courses in this specialization are - in my opinion, excessively short.

автор: ram s

Mar 20, 2016

I want to give 3.5 stars but there is only option for 3 or 4.

Given that it's geared more towards wanna be managers in this field. I would have expected lot of case studies, and links to additional material for individual reading plus a mini write up or a project at the end.

For MOOCs to compete with a degree program or an onsite instruction few of the things I think that are needed are

Interviews with industry practitioners which is a big plus.

interviews/postings from people with similar background as the 90% of the MOOC students of this program who made it... this motivates the students from dropping from the middle of the course/specilization programs

links to additional articles that the students can read at leisure

writeup/project as assignments that the students can pursue and publish (not necessarily for grade but as a mind jogger)

One more thing that I think should help (not specific to this course) is that the student with the best grade should be offered one free course and think this will motivate the students to complete the courses.

автор: Wei C

Oct 02, 2015

It provides a quich shot on data science, but the way it presents is not so interesting.

автор: Deepak R

Jan 01, 2017

Good overview... but expected more content..

автор: Michael G

Jun 13, 2018

Some topics are too high-level. But a great team delivering the content (as always)!

автор: Sam B

Jun 18, 2017

Interesting course but structure was a bit odd I thought, it was not clear why so much time was devoted at the outset to the difference between Machine Learning and data science.

автор: Kristen G

Jun 15, 2017

presenters were a little hard to follow. but good content

автор: Víctor E G P

Dec 28, 2017

Good to know

автор: Thomas N

Jan 03, 2017

needed more depth

автор: Richard B

Jul 02, 2017

it was a little lighter than I expected

автор: Edward W

Sep 27, 2015

A good introductory overview of data science. Grounds you on what you can & cannot do with data science. I find defining the question really impactful. Teachers were enthusiastic and the brevity of the course gives it good appeal for beginners who want to "get their feet wet".

автор: Elizabeth R

Jan 27, 2016

Good, simple, straightforward, and applied. It starts to introduce you to the language and platforms of data science, but it is most definitely not a standalone course if you want to be conversant in the field. Really just a "taster" to get you into the specialization.

автор: Camilo C

Oct 10, 2016

Very basic course!

автор: Conrad W

Jan 04, 2018

Very high level but probably good for beginners.

автор: Seeneth H

Nov 20, 2017

-

автор: Rippon K S

Sep 06, 2017

I find the course to basic in nature

автор: Aarti K

Jan 03, 2018

The teachers spoke really fast with which it became difficult to grasp the words. Overall it was good.

автор: Walter E K

May 27, 2017

Very preliminary, most of the course don't have a PPT or handout. May be helpful if you know very few about data science.

автор: Cecilia B

Nov 08, 2017

More lectures but each lecture should be shorter. More examples for each topic would be good.

However it is a crash course, so it is more of an overall description of Data Science, which also gives you suggestions to enhance your knowledge in other courses

автор: Joey S

Feb 23, 2018

Pretty General, Not many interesting points.

автор: Yuvaraj B

Dec 26, 2017

Very Good Content

автор: tanmay p

Jan 21, 2018

useful basics for data science