Chevron Left
Вернуться к Спорт и общество

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Спорт и общество от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.8
Оценки: 418
Рецензии: 87

О курсе

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Лучшие рецензии

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 84 отзывов о курсе Спорт и общество

автор: Ravi K

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

автор: Tashin I

Jan 11, 2019

Awesome lecturer, reveals topics comprehensively. Lectures are well-structured. The course makes me learn more about sports.

автор: Muhammad A J

Feb 09, 2019

Excellent topic and well presented for those looking for an understanding between sports and society as a whole.

автор: benmaamar h

Dec 22, 2018

thank you .

автор: Liam S

Dec 10, 2018

Professor Starn gives insight into the sports world and explains complex topics using anthropological reasoning in a way that makes sense to the average person. Great class!

автор: Jaime S

Jul 11, 2018

Excellent course, well prepared and presented!

автор: Martin S

Aug 08, 2016

Great course that look at sports from an anthropological view and exposes many ideas that even the hard

автор: Pablo M

May 01, 2017

Simple, informative, and useful.

автор: Jan J

Jun 07, 2016

awesome instructor, great energy and even better insides

автор: Ana E T H

Feb 06, 2018

Excellent course!

I enjoyed the course because it goes deep enough into the topics for begginers...

I specially liked the video about corporate athletes.

I'm a soccer fan!

автор: Abhishek G

Sep 01, 2017

This course has given me a whole new perspective of looking at Sports now. It's been enriching, informative & insightful. Thank You!

автор: JOACI J C

Jul 06, 2018

amazing!

автор: Annigje F

Jan 21, 2016

Great course! Basic info on how sports were, and are, looked at from a society point of view. Broad information about many various subjects.

автор: Stacey B

Jan 28, 2016

AMAZING COURSE!!

автор: Rajesh S M

Nov 02, 2017

best

автор: Chew W Y

Jun 03, 2016

Great course, passionate instructor, lively examples. I highly recommend this course for all sports fans!

автор: Oscar D

Oct 07, 2016

Excellent course!

автор: Elizabeth D

Oct 08, 2017

An academically challenging, and remarkably insightful course, suited both to those who seek greater understanding and/or enjoyment of observing, documenting or participating in sports. Professor Starn puts his whole self -- literally, socially and intellectually -- into his teaching, making this one of the best courses I have ever taken up-close-and-personal or online. Thank you and bravo, Dr. Starn! You just may find me on campus at Duke in the not-too-distant future . . .

автор: Davis J

Jan 27, 2016

This is by far the best course I have taken from Coursera. Orin is very knowledgeable and passionate in his lectures.

автор: Alejandro R M

Dec 10, 2017

Great Course that grasp different views on sports and their meaning in northamerican society as well as their consecuences and forms of ogranization. I enjoyed the lectures and bibliography very much.

автор: Nasiba I

Aug 02, 2016

Such a passionate lectures,very interesting and useful.

автор: Unal G

May 11, 2016

I loved this course, clear and rich instruction. highly recommended

автор: shyam s

Jun 10, 2016

it was wonderful....very useful couse..i like it .but it hard

автор: Pietro R

Jan 12, 2017

The teacher is quite engaging, the man has showmanship! Add that the content is really interesting and you get a 5 stars course. Recommended!

автор: Arjay G

Aug 13, 2017

An eye opener and very entertaining, I am a MAPEH (Music,Art,Physical Education) teacher from the Philippines and lessons and insights here is a big help for me and to my students..You will gain elevated perspective about sports while taking this wonderfully presented course.