Chevron Left
Вернуться к Спорт и общество

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Спорт и общество от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.8
Оценки: 364
Рецензии: 74

О курсе

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Лучшие рецензии

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 75 отзывов о курсе Спорт и общество

автор: Ravi K

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

автор: Aaron F A C

Jun 21, 2019

It´s a very good course

автор: Elio K

Jun 12, 2019

The pace is quite slow and the content maybe it is not for young boy

автор: Priyesh S

May 31, 2019

This was a really interesting course, gives lot of insight into the various types of sports in the world, explains the science and detailed theory behind some of the worlds most popular sports, not to mention a lot of trivia and history behind the sports and how it relates to society and the various cultural relations it has all across the world.

A wonderful course and a very fun ;earning experience.

Special thanks to Professor Orin Starn and everyone at Duke University for bringing this course and making it possible. Cheers

автор:

May 24, 2019

Really great course that explores the various ways sports have an impact and are reflections of human society and various cultures. Really interesting!

автор: victor m c

May 14, 2019

c

автор: Conner C

May 06, 2019

Amazing good work Orin Star

автор: Thomas R

May 05, 2019

Interesting, teacher voice is fluid

автор: Muhammad A J

Feb 09, 2019

Excellent topic and well presented for those looking for an understanding between sports and society as a whole.

автор: Gerardo B P

Feb 01, 2019

Tiene una gran variedad de temáticas y la mayoría de los videos son dinámicos .

It has a great variety of topics and most of the videos are very dynamic.

автор: Tashin I

Jan 11, 2019

Awesome lecturer, reveals topics comprehensively. Lectures are well-structured. The course makes me learn more about sports.

автор: benmaamar h

Dec 22, 2018

thank you .

автор: Liam S

Dec 10, 2018

Professor Starn gives insight into the sports world and explains complex topics using anthropological reasoning in a way that makes sense to the average person. Great class!

автор: Lee J

Nov 09, 2018

Very insightful, and well communicated by the teacher. Very enjoyable!

автор: Emil

Oct 27, 2018

Nice and refreshing course. I liked best the video game lecture and the book recommended.

автор: Deleted A

Sep 29, 2018

This online course is very interesting for people that enjoys playing and watching sports. To explain the impact of sports in society and the development of sports in general, ideas and studies of many social science experts are provided and translated to the sport reality. Many well-known sport facts and personalities are provided to support the arguments.

The lecturer (Orin Stark) presents the subjects and his personal opinion on an “easy-going” language. He is someone with who you could have a very pleasant pub conversation. His approach and “easy going” language make the course and its content interesting and easy to follow, also for people without any background in social sciences, like me.

I really enjoying this course!

автор: Sagar A

Sep 27, 2018

It is an excellent Course!!Great insight into one of the important aspects of sports

автор: zhangzhe

Sep 22, 2018

perfect

автор: Jaime S

Jul 11, 2018

Excellent course, well prepared and presented!

автор: JOACI J C

Jul 06, 2018

amazing!

автор: Crys L

Jul 06, 2018

This was a great course! I went in not knowing much at all about sports, and I think I learned a lot. Everything was easy to understand, and the lectures were easy to follow. Some of the readings were challenging, but in a "hey, I learned a lot and this made me think" way rather than a "this is too hard, I give up" way.

автор: Scott S

Jun 18, 2018

Very Interesting.

автор: Jennie v d B

Jun 14, 2018

This class is so fun and touches on so many topics (and sports)!

автор: ADITYA S

May 27, 2018

The course covers every aspect on which the modern sports foundation have been laid. Many thanks to Mr. Orin for sharing his knowledge to us.

автор: Anne M v B

Apr 25, 2018

I really enjoyed the course! I feel it touches all of the subjects around sports and helps you understand the evolution and impact they have in society.