Chevron Left
Вернуться к Спорт и общество

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Спорт и общество от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.8
Оценки: 390
Рецензии: 83

О курсе

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Лучшие рецензии

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 80 отзывов о курсе Спорт и общество

автор: Ravi K

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

автор: Liam S

Dec 10, 2018

Professor Starn gives insight into the sports world and explains complex topics using anthropological reasoning in a way that makes sense to the average person. Great class!

автор: Tashin I

Jan 11, 2019

Awesome lecturer, reveals topics comprehensively. Lectures are well-structured. The course makes me learn more about sports.

автор: Muhammad A J

Feb 09, 2019

Excellent topic and well presented for those looking for an understanding between sports and society as a whole.

автор: benmaamar h

Dec 22, 2018

thank you .

автор: Jaime S

Jul 11, 2018

Excellent course, well prepared and presented!

автор: Elizabeth D

Oct 08, 2017

An academically challenging, and remarkably insightful course, suited both to those who seek greater understanding and/or enjoyment of observing, documenting or participating in sports. Professor Starn puts his whole self -- literally, socially and intellectually -- into his teaching, making this one of the best courses I have ever taken up-close-and-personal or online. Thank you and bravo, Dr. Starn! You just may find me on campus at Duke in the not-too-distant future . . .

автор: Rodrigo V G

Jan 10, 2018

Excelente! Logras recordar o aprender momentos históricos que marcan pautas para los deportes.

автор: Davis J

Jan 27, 2016

This is by far the best course I have taken from Coursera. Orin is very knowledgeable and passionate in his lectures.

автор: Alejandro R M

Dec 10, 2017

Great Course that grasp different views on sports and their meaning in northamerican society as well as their consecuences and forms of ogranization. I enjoyed the lectures and bibliography very much.

автор: Leo M

Apr 02, 2017

Excellent course not only in terms of content but also the instructor is very well spoken and knowledgeable on the subject. He also made it very entertaining and enjoyable; not just an academic exercise. Most definitely I will like to listen more courses by him on the subject.

автор: Joachim T L

Apr 11, 2016

Professor was awesome. Very knowledgeable about various sports and how sports fits into the bigger picture of life. I really enjoyed the lectures and felt the reading was perfectly matched to the videos.

автор: Lezhan W

Oct 18, 2016

I like it and this teaches me a lot, really helpful.

автор: Moussa

Apr 15, 2017

I am currently following this course and I can say that I am really enjoying.

автор: Carlos A M P

Jul 04, 2017

This is a great journey with the great Orin Starn's guide through the history and different perspectives of sports in the human history.

автор: Chew W Y

Jun 03, 2016

Great course, passionate instructor, lively examples. I highly recommend this course for all sports fans!

автор: Oscar D

Oct 07, 2016

Excellent course!

автор: Víctor H M A

Oct 10, 2016

Fantastic humanistic approach, very well designed and above all the passion of the professor Starn is fundamental! great job!

автор: David V D

Sep 18, 2016

Got to learn a lot about sports and how it can have a complete different perceptive than only watching or playing it.

автор: Crys L

Jul 06, 2018

This was a great course! I went in not knowing much at all about sports, and I think I learned a lot. Everything was easy to understand, and the lectures were easy to follow. Some of the readings were challenging, but in a "hey, I learned a lot and this made me think" way rather than a "this is too hard, I give up" way.

автор: Uriel R

Nov 14, 2016

Great class, easy to follow, and very informative. One of my favorite, if not my favorite, course I have taken in Coursera.

автор: Jimmy G

Sep 04, 2017

The professor is cool.

автор: Camilo E

Jul 22, 2017

excelent

автор: Maithili M

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

автор: Anne M v B

Apr 25, 2018

I really enjoyed the course! I feel it touches all of the subjects around sports and helps you understand the evolution and impact they have in society.