Chevron Left
Вернуться к Реклама и общество

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Реклама и общество от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 790
Рецензии: 187

О курсе

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Лучшие рецензии

KD
14 июня 2018 г.

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG
2 мая 2017 г.

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 184 отзывов о курсе Реклама и общество

автор: Raghdah A

2 авг. 2017 г.

At first I was overwhlmed by the historical introductn of avdertising in the first week, but the course gow more exciting and facsiniating from week 2 to week 7. I truley can describe how enjoyable and inmormative this course was, I come from a marketing background, and we have been taught that adverts are mediums and element in the marketing mix, thus, its least important though it's the most visible part of marketing. However, this course has changed my entire perception of adverts, and how it's closely attached to any society. What I wished that this course would've covered is a globla adverts in countries other than western ones, and how these ads in certain countries depict their culture, and produced to inform the world of the social norms and cultural values of those countries. In conclusion, thank you so much fort his course, and I would'nt imagine a person other than Professor O'Barr to deliver this course.

автор: Ashish J

7 окт. 2020 г.

I didn't expect so much in my mind when I joined this course, Advertising and Society. But after completing the very first lecture and most important thing, additional content on Adtext.com I was overwhelmed and really amused by this in positive terms. The lectures and content which have been offered here, I bet, can't be found and taught in any other institution. The reason behind I am saying this, is all the earliest ads this course has offered us to see giving us the opportunity to contemplate how the world of advertising has changed and improved. Thank you so much professor William M. O'Barr and of course Coursera.

автор: Malena G V

27 мая 2020 г.

Me parecio un muy buen curso, sin embargo hay algunas lecciones cuya informacion no coincide con el titulo de la misma, por ejemplo, "week 5 What do ads teach us about race, class, gender and sexuality?" en toda esa semana solo vemos genero y sexualidad, mientras que raza y clase no son mencionadas ni explicadas en relación con el tema. Me parece una falta grave ya que son aspectos fundamentales de la publicidad y de la sociedad en si.

автор: TO H M T

3 июля 2021 г.

The history of ads is amazing. I unlearn and relearn a lot. Moreover, I don't think some problems such as sex, gender,... are mentioned as that detail and controversal like that. Kul

The teacher are dedicated, I can see how he add interesting information or his stories, images,... I saw lots of demonstration.

I am fully pleasure with this course

автор: JONATAN J J

4 авг. 2020 г.

It is an introductory course, it is interesting to know about the history of advertising, but it would have been better if they had taught us some method to analyze society, that is to say, that it was a course to develop some technical competence and not only historical theory

автор: Sanya A

7 мая 2017 г.

This encouraged me to see and analyse ads that never caught my attention before. My understanding of advertisements has greatly increased, since now I am more aware of it's history,predicted future,and the powerful strategies that one may use to sell. Great course!

автор: Ashok S

13 мар. 2017 г.

The course is much better than my expectation, and the flexibility in the quiz and deadline is much supportive. The content of the course is widely sourced. One should do this whoever want to the the evolution of the advertisement world.

автор: Berkay A

18 февр. 2017 г.

it's helpful but not interactive a lot, sometimes hard to follow the video but the proffessor is quite knowledged about the history, gives a lot of insights and force you to re-assess the course after it finishes , by na

автор: Amith M

1 дек. 2016 г.

Takes you back to the age old version of ad pieces from cave paintings to todays social madness. A complete guide to a better student of advertising. And the 80% cross mark challenging and motivating. Thanks for this.

автор: Abhijit R R

5 дек. 2020 г.

Very Good Course. In the beginning i was little bit bored as I'm not from the US or any western part of where I stay. But eventually 3rd I got my interest back and finally very much content after the course.

автор: Kathryn B

8 февр. 2018 г.

This course has really helped with my understanding and background knowledge of advertising, and the impacts of any developments in the advertising industry on modern day and future societies.

автор: manasi s

26 нояб. 2021 г.

Not a 5 star because practical aspect of ad making is missing. I would have loved to have an assignment where I could have made an advertisement for a product.

автор: Amin k

12 февр. 2021 г.

It's a great course about advertising and its history. The focus of this course on the cultural aspects of marketing and advertising is exciting.

автор: Colin M

18 июля 2019 г.

A great informative course that explore the history and significance of advertising in (primarily) American society.

автор: Joris J S

9 сент. 2017 г.

Good course to learn the different types of advertisement, back ground and what tools you have to persuade people.

автор: Mohammad M A

4 июля 2020 г.

I have learned so many thing regarding past, present advertising scenario and techniques.

Thanks a lot sir.

автор: Joy S

4 мая 2017 г.

Pretty good class. Interesting, authoritative professor. Shows lots of pictures during his lectures.

автор: Tatev P

18 апр. 2020 г.

Great review of history of ads and understanding our perceptions through it.

автор: PARAG B

19 июня 2019 г.

This course was very informative and has changed my outlook on advertising.

автор: Aaron L

11 сент. 2020 г.

Everything about the course is just simply great, keep up the good work

автор: Ankit S R

31 июля 2020 г.

Great course! very good explanation of topics using art and history.

автор: upasna

17 июня 2020 г.

very good course relating. to every aspect of the advertisement .

автор: Bismark O

8 февр. 2018 г.

The course is very exciting and the Lecturer did perfectly well

автор: MOHAMMED S

10 мая 2020 г.

fanastic experiance learned about advertisement history

автор: mynameisANG

19 февр. 2021 г.

The course was insightful but slightly theoretical.