Chevron Left
Вернуться к Реклама и общество

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Реклама и общество от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 348
Рецензии: 73

О курсе

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Лучшие рецензии

KD

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 72 отзывов о курсе Реклама и общество

автор: Aine G

Feb 11, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I took it to help me further my career and get a better understanding of advertising and the world I want to work in. It provided me with great of information and gave me a lot to think about, to research further and pay more attention to the advertising around me. I found that even though the majority of the examples and case studies were American I still found it useful and seen similarities in Ireland and Irish advertising. Thank you.

автор: Jose R M J

Jun 25, 2017

Informative and thought-provoking, this course will equip you with the tools you need to look at advertising with a critical eye and to understand its relationship with our modern world beyond what meets the eye. Professor O'Barr is also an excellent teacher, and his passion for the material inspires you to continue learning, even beyond what's mentioned in the lectures.

автор: Ravindra K

Apr 01, 2020

I have been student of marketing since 14 years, completing and experimenting so many techniques as professor mentioned in 7 week lecture, have never found so intriguing his point of views on advertising and how it persists. I am really thankful to professor that he added more insight to my continuos journey of learning marketing.

автор: cogochi1997

Dec 25, 2018

It is the my first time to study through a course in Internet. The experience is amazing, since it opens a brand-new door for me to advertising and gives a chance to explore the advertising by additional resources. Thx a lot~ Professor is really really nice and erudite. And I will continue to learn more about advertising~

автор: Saurabh M

Feb 26, 2018

It's a wonderful course which talks about the fundamentals of advertisement and links them to the practical scenario in history and recent times. Advertisement is a vast field, but this course certainly provides the required basis to further gain the expertise in the field.

автор: Seohyeon J

Sep 24, 2017

It was the most interesting mooc that ever took. I like a lot of cases that professor show. It was both interesting and informative leture. Thank you for making such mooc. I also like his teaching style. I hope I can see him in another mooc again.

автор: Ijeoma M

Oct 23, 2019

Great course! it has opened my eyes to things that goes on behind every advertisement. More so, I learned how advert has evolved over the years and how the society at large is affected positively and negatively by it. T

автор: Kevin L D

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

автор: Giorgio G

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

автор: Suchismita P

Jun 13, 2017

I am really grateful to Duke University for offering this excellent course. I will never see an advertisement from now on like I used to. I will try to relate all the topics I have learnt.

автор: Devansh D

Mar 20, 2019

Great course. This course has helped me a lot in getting better in Advertising field. I recommend this course to everyone those who are trying to build a non technical profile like me.

автор: Erik O

May 21, 2018

Great course if you're interested in advertising or work for a creative agency. Professor is very knowledgeable and he includes classic as well as modern examples of advertisements.

автор: carrie

Sep 02, 2017

This course is so informative and interesting, making me think about pursuing advertising so much! The professor is great with explaining complex ideas to simple ones. Love it!

автор: Sameer S

Oct 08, 2018

It was a great course where I learned a lot about not just advertisement but also the society we live in and how it effects the way advertisements have evolved over the years.

автор: Hamza

Nov 04, 2016

This course looks at advertising from a different angle which is very interesting and inspiring.

you will learn a lot, i highly recommend it to everyone in the marketing realm.

автор: Saakshi N

Jul 19, 2017

It is a very broad course, which beautifully delves into the subject of advertising by using innumerable examples and references to make studying easier and more interesting.

автор: Yana Y

Nov 20, 2016

Great course! It has helped me learn a lot and given me much more perspective on the world of advertising. I thoroughly enjoyed learning and discovering new things.

автор: rishika m

Jul 24, 2017

Great course. The faculty is really good. He explains everything patiently. The ads shown in between help you understand well. Would like more such courses.

автор: Kariya

Dec 28, 2016

My first course about advertising ever, it was very interesting and the knowledge i learned, i'm sure gonna be useful! Thank you very much!

автор: Ekpo A

Dec 20, 2019

It was an enlightening experience, the course was broken down to eliminate ambiguity. I am looking forward to doing similar courses.

автор: Bladimir E C V

Feb 19, 2018

Me ha ayudado a comprender mejor la relación de la Publicidad con la Sociedad. Así como su evolución histórica, social y cultural.

автор: LOHITH M C

Oct 26, 2017

That was good experience in learning many aspects of advertising from the history to future of advertising. Very useful course.

автор: Aurelija V

Nov 26, 2017

Very interesting and valuable! I have learned how to look at advertising from a more long-term focused perspective.

автор: sreela m

Jul 29, 2019

Really enjoyed reviewing advertisements and literally learning that there's so much more to it han meets the eye.

автор: Thibaut S

May 05, 2017

Very interesting class, lots of examples and cases study which made the course very active and dynamic !