Chevron Left
Вернуться к Параллельное программирование

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Параллельное программирование от партнера Федеральная политехническая школа Лозанны

4.5
Оценки: 1,592
Рецензии: 240

О курсе

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

Лучшие рецензии

AL

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 228 отзывов о курсе Параллельное программирование

автор: c86jeff

Jan 22, 2017

learned a lot

автор: shuo z

Jun 27, 2016

Good course. The assignments should focus on the parallel programming itself instead of language stuff.

автор: Viacheslav I

Jun 03, 2017

Interesting course, very useful to get to know concepts of parallel programming. Assignments could be a little bit simpler but involving more programming from scratch, not just filling in methods bodies. This would help more to understand concepts.

автор: Seoh C

Oct 04, 2017

unhelpful assignment instructions and test cases.

автор: Oleksiy P

Apr 21, 2017

I have one issue about week 4 "Append" tree. I did not get how Append correlates with binary digits. I would like to have some step by step example how will we create a tree like s1 = Single(1) appendLeaf Single(2), s2 = s1 appendLeaf Single(3), s3 = s2 appendLeaf Single(4), s4 = s4 appendLeaf Single(5) using binary digits?

автор: Evgeniy T

Nov 10, 2016

There are some really boring parts, like 10 first minutes of many videolectures. It's kinda difficult to watch list.map explained in detail, since it's a course supposed to be taken after the one on basic Scala.

Overall - it's really good, I learned a lot.

автор: Piotr G

Nov 01, 2017

This is a good course that has some really interesting assignments. The lectures are understandable and the topics are explained a bit nicer than a lot of theory in the other Scala courses from Martin Odersky, who conveys knowledge in a more "textbook" form. I am, however, taking one star out for the last assignment which was rather muddy in terms of explanation, long and not easy to debug due to it's size and parallel aspects. I felt way more positive about all other assignments on this course.

автор: Martin K

Jun 22, 2016

Very good. Only things I wish were better is more comments in some assignments and more prepared tests. Also I miss not having "Statement of Accomplishment" like some other Scala courses :-(.

автор: Mateusz K

Oct 02, 2016

Appreciate the time spent by the authors to prepare all the course materials and the assignments. Everything clear and relatively self-contained. However, I still do not feel to be an expert in parallelism.

автор: Sérgio T

Nov 16, 2016

It requires more effort on undestanding the algorithms involved in the problems, rather than paralelism and its techniques. Instead of 4 weeks it would benefit of an additional week - for those who take the course after the regular work hours at their job. So 5 weeks would be more adequate.

автор: Rahul W

Dec 11, 2016

Good course but scala understanding is required for this course. So please register for prior course in the certification task to easily complete this course.

автор: Kaushik N

Aug 07, 2016

The course was really good. Got to learn so much about parallel programming with that course. The explanation level is very basic and any Computer Science related person can easily grasp the concepts

автор: Patrick L

Aug 28, 2016

I learned very useful programming techniques, but I'm a bit lost as to whether these techniques are "good practices" or if they are "existing parallel programming features in Java, transposed as-is in Scala"

автор: Théophile G

Jul 17, 2017

Pretty good course

автор: Benjamin S

Nov 03, 2016

Great explanations and insights around parallel programming. The instructors help you understand how parallel programming works and are doing great in making the complex topic understandable. To improve it further, there could be more explanations on performance differences between alternative solutions as well as some guidance on how to apply these ideas in practical Scala programming.

автор: David P

Jan 25, 2017

Nice course! I learned a lot...

автор: Zhenduo D

Nov 15, 2017

I can be further improved if the class can touch on design patterns using Future and Actor, in addition to the data structure oriented materials.

автор: Romain G

Jul 28, 2017

Very good course. Conc-list was brilliant.

Automated correction tool could do with more verbosity on failed test cases.

автор: Kyoung-Seop P

Jan 24, 2017

What a difficult course it is!

Nevertheless, it was very helpful.

автор: Agustín B S

Jun 19, 2017

I find the contents (theory behind) more challenging to follow than previous courses on the specialization, the nice thing is that the practical exercises are built so that they are still manageable and a good help to understand the lessons. I am missing Scala's actor model in this course, why is not there?

автор: Adianto W

Oct 24, 2016

Insightful, though I am not sure if in non R&D/Academia settings the knowledge here can easily be applied.

автор: Joaquin B

Oct 27, 2016

Awesome course to learn parallel programming and advantage of scala to achieve this.

Learned how to think algorithms in parallel being careful that it's not always better to do everything in parallel.

The only thing I didn't like that much is that the course has too many mathematical explanations and maybe that lectures should be optional for those that want to go further.

автор: Васеев Р В

Jun 02, 2018

Assignments are too easy compared to 2 previous courses. I've been asked lot less than been given. And did not grasp everything in the lectures at the end.

автор: Du L

Jun 02, 2018

Very challenging course, the assignments are more about practising using parallel programming, would be better to design an assignment to implement the parallel programming.

автор: Luca D S

Dec 01, 2017

The course got me a bit lost on the most theoretical parts about folding, because the explanations and the whole concept take a while to arrive to a completion, being quite complicated. I had to re-run over those a few times. Nevertheless, all the comparison between aggregators and lego blocks help quite a lot