Chevron Left
Вернуться к Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way от партнера Мюнхенский университет Людвига-Максимилиана (LMU)

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 561
Рецензии: 221

О курсе

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Лучшие рецензии

LF
27 янв. 2021 г.

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

SS
15 янв. 2021 г.

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 223 отзывов о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

автор: Gerard O R

3 мая 2021 г.

Superb ... Many thanks

автор: Lezli R

23 окт. 2020 г.

Very interesting

автор: Jorge P F

24 сент. 2020 г.

wonderful course

автор: Sola A

5 мая 2020 г.

Need I say more!

автор: Инна В

18 янв. 2018 г.

Excellent course

автор: jorge c

16 февр. 2021 г.

Muito Relevante

автор: Баклашкин В В

1 февр. 2021 г.

Было интересно.

автор: Blanca C A

8 апр. 2019 г.

EXCELENTE CURSO

автор: Alison G

11 окт. 2018 г.

amazing course!

автор: Simone S d S

14 янв. 2018 г.

Wonderfulll!!!!

автор: Samuel G

18 июня 2020 г.

Great course!

автор: Anselmo C

29 мая 2021 г.

Best course!

автор: Mohannad A

13 февр. 2021 г.

Great course

автор: Mauricio Q

9 мая 2020 г.

Excellent!!!

автор: Michael S

21 нояб. 2019 г.

Learned alot

автор: Jean R

4 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent.

автор: miri m

25 янв. 2021 г.

Excelente

автор: Ale V

23 сент. 2020 г.

Excelente

автор: Inam A

20 сент. 2020 г.

Great!!!

автор: mansi g

20 дек. 2018 г.

its easy

автор: Julie B

13 апр. 2019 г.

T

автор: David H F

19 апр. 2021 г.

I enjoyed this course very much. Professor Radner is engaging and clearly knows her subject spectacularly well. I consider this very much a whetting of appetite: a good deal of additional independent external work would be required to firmly solidify the chronology and the relationship of the neo-assyrian empire to the rest of its time and place. The material culture and the "personalty" of Assyria in the 9th-7th c. period were very clearly conveyed (including the point that we know about the upper classes, not the majority of the populace.) I was delighted with little details like the rafts of wineskins floating down the Tigris, or the differences between Assyrian and Babylonian orthography partly due to the different ways the styli were held. I was disappointed with the "ask the experts" videos. Several of the scholars and archaeologists gave hints of being much more interesting people than they gave the superficial impressions of being, and I would have liked to have heard much more from them about the technical nature of their work, and of their opinions. Two specific examples, Mark Altaweel hinting at the political, linguistic and cultural effects of the Assyrian "population management" policies; and Poppy Tushingham mentioning that our lack of veneration for the heritage of the Assyrian Empire, less familiar and to us than the Roman and British Empires, gives us scope to concentrate on the real nature of Empire, which is the enrichment of an oligarchic class. In the context of Ashurbanipal's library a nice point was made comparing the Assyrian to the Roman Empire: two states oriented to warfare and excelling at organization, logistics, building and siege warfare, both drawing on older neighboring cultures for their literature and cultural roots. I also think more could have been done with the "Playmobil" segments: that was a charming idea for presenting the "annals" aspect. I'd have liked more, but I'd also rather wished that the figures might have been dressed in national costume, to make it easier to keep track of multiple nations, rather than in a mix of historical European dress. Those suggestions aside, the course was beautifully done, entertaining, informative, and leaving me wanting more!

автор: Ajay S

26 апр. 2018 г.

I have absolutely enjoyed this course on Ancient Assyrian Empire. The lessons were rich in content, its' presentation of a very high order. Professor Karen Radner is objective, scholarly, and cheerfully unbiased in evaluating one of the most influential civilisations in Human History. The supplementary material to the lectures and question-answer videos, had the learner wishing for more. But to anyone interested in Ancient world and its most dramatic age, I enthusiastically recommend it as a 'Must Do' course.

Ajay Sinha.

автор: Lowell N

15 мар. 2021 г.

I enjoyed learning about a part of history I knew nothing about. The history is a bit dry at times but they used lots of different methods of instruction to keep it interesting. I especially enjoyed the white-board history lessons! I would have liked to learn more about the archeological basis of the history that was presented, this was occasionally referred to but would have liked to have understood more how the have built the historical picture.