Chevron Left
Вернуться к Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way от партнера Мюнхенский университет Людвига-Максимилиана (LMU)

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 450
Рецензии: 171

О курсе

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Лучшие рецензии

SS
15 янв. 2021 г.

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

NW
25 нояб. 2018 г.

So Far I am Loving this Course, So much Info,\n\nI have always wanted to do a course on the Assyrian Empire.\n\nFab way of learning too, with tests at each stage rather than a mighty one at the end.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 172 отзывов о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

автор: Virginia M

14 мая 2019 г.

An excellent course. Congratulations to Professor Radner and her excellent staff. They all made our learning both profitable and thoroughly enjoyable. That you all!

автор: José M P Z

5 июня 2020 г.

Splendid introductory course. I have enjoyed and learned a lot. It has motivated me to continue researching and studying about the Assyrian Empire. Congratulations.

автор: Jummai

4 янв. 2020 г.

Interesting, entertaining course that has increased my interest in history especially the empires that arose around the world after the fall of the Assyrian Empire.

автор: Eduardo L P

27 дек. 2019 г.

Really enjoyed it - excelent format with lectures and a series of "asides" that provide context and texture.

Hope to see one course on the ancient mesopotamian city!

автор: Andrew S

15 авг. 2020 г.

Honestly the best online course I've taken so far. The variety of formats used for the videos was very effective and engaging. Great professor also. Thank you!

автор: Byron N

18 июня 2020 г.

Thanks to Dr. Radner who has put together an amazing course on the Neo-Assyrian Empire. Her enthusiasm is contagious . I feel I learned a lot in the course.

автор: Miloš B

11 мар. 2019 г.

This course was so much fun. Thanks to all the good people that made it possible for us to not only attend but also enjoy it. Prof. Karen is a real treasure.

автор: David I

17 июля 2020 г.

An amazing course that provides a broad overview of an empire but also intimate detail of everyday life of the ancient Assyrian people. Highly recommended!

автор: Sompairac T

12 июля 2020 г.

Very interesting giving a full picture of a civilization that is not very well known and which invented basic concepts that survived till now.

автор: Fan C

5 дек. 2018 г.

I have watched the module 1, and I have gotten an impressive view to the Assyrian Empire through Professor Karan and her wonderful lectures

автор: Zachary P S

30 нояб. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed how the course material was layered adding to the understanding and knowledge retention of the topics and concepts.

автор: Rob M

14 мая 2018 г.

An excellent course. If you have an interest in the Ancient World, politics or sociology, then this is a definite course for you.

автор: Keith P

24 июля 2020 г.

The breadth of the course and the presentation made this a fascinating introduction to a subject that I knew nothing about.

автор: Jen P

6 нояб. 2019 г.

Really good structure with some testing quizzes; excellent lecturers; interesting material well-explained and presented.

автор: JOHN Q

15 янв. 2018 г.

Fascinating course. Thanks so much for all the folks who worked to organize and present this material! Dr Quincy

автор: Richie H

27 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent course with a variety of presentation methods as well as addition readings and listenings to engage with.

автор: Nadeen A A

3 нояб. 2020 г.

Exquisite! Lovely course that made me want to delve even deeper into the world of the ancient empires of the past!

автор: Esperanza R M

20 окт. 2020 г.

I really LOVE how professor Radner teaches. I have learned a lot with this course, and also in a enterteining way!

автор: Benedict S

29 апр. 2020 г.

Sehr informativ und obwohl ich doch schon einige Bücher über Assyrien gelesen habe, war auch einiges Neues dabei!

автор: Brian W

10 мая 2020 г.

Really enjoyed learning about the Assyrian Empire. A very good course, well structured and delivered. Thank you.

автор: Julie B

28 сент. 2020 г.

Excellent course - enjoyable and very informative presentation of interesting and complex information.

автор: Andrea B

10 нояб. 2020 г.

A great introduction to the Assyrians, their history, and their impact on the course of civilisation.

автор: Nadia

19 мая 2020 г.

Perfect course, rich material, lots of informations but very clearly transmitted. Couldn't be better.

автор: Pradeepa M M

3 мая 2020 г.

Amazing lecturer!! she is so detailed and this is an amazing introduction to the Assyrian Empire!

автор: Lea H

10 нояб. 2020 г.

it was so perfect thanks a lot i loved every moment and esp enjoyed the ask the experts segments