Chevron Left
Вернуться к Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way от партнера Мюнхенский университет Людвига-Максимилиана (LMU)

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 561
Рецензии: 221

О курсе

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Лучшие рецензии

SS
15 янв. 2021 г.

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

LF
27 янв. 2021 г.

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

Фильтр по:

201–223 из 223 отзывов о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

автор: Hamdanil R

22 апр. 2018 г.

Very enjoyable course and I learned a lot. When people talk about an ancient empire that runs efficiently many would think about Rome, but it's cool to know that there's an earlier empire in a different part of the world that's no less awesome. Professor Radner is very knowledgeable and the scope of the materials are very intersting.

автор: Syed H A

19 дек. 2018 г.

I think this course is very well designed for the beginners in assyriology. Karen Radner & others have been excellent in their delivery of all important aspects of the Assyrian empire - from religion to culture, family to army and from internal & external influencers of this empire!

автор: Thomas d S

4 мая 2021 г.

Dank course. Loved the fish coat dudes. The expert opinions were also great--it was neat to hear from a variety of academics studying these topics. I would've liked to learn more about Assyrian deities and mythology though, even if lots of it was just copy pasted from Babylon.

автор: Christopher J M

6 февр. 2021 г.

It was a fun and interesting course. There were many tests and sometimes they have been a bit specific andI will not remember the details of names and dates right after taking them. So, even though the tests were good, they may have focused on themes a bit more than facts.

автор: char m

18 мая 2020 г.

Karen is very knowledgeable, and mostly engaging. At first, I thought the student question and answer was not valuable, but I was wrong! Some of the most interesting tidbits came here. The experts section was not useful. Have one speak on his area of expertise.

автор: Richard P S

14 февр. 2021 г.

The course was an interesting overview of a small but very important time and place history. I found the material interesting and the level of detail was what right for me.

автор: Niklas A

22 мар. 2021 г.

Very interesting, in particular getting an understanding of what society looked like and what people experienced as citizens of this early empire.

автор: Ken L

2 сент. 2020 г.

The course was relatively short and succinct. It answered a number of questions, and opened up some new areas of interest. Well done. Thank you.

автор: Edward O T

21 июля 2020 г.

Its been very helpful in trying to understand a little more of other kingdoms outside of Egypt, Greece, Turkey and Rome

автор: Masha G

6 февр. 2021 г.

I was inspired by the notion of "client-states" within Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way.

автор: Varun N

26 мая 2020 г.

Had heard very little of this great civilization; the course gave a superb insight into it

автор: Joy S

11 апр. 2018 г.

super interesting. I would give it a 5 stars except it has peer review in the final week

автор: J B

26 сент. 2020 г.

Exactly what I needed: A quick insight into the Assyrians. Thank you so much.

автор: Herud

5 февр. 2019 г.

Not enough material about the military history of the empire.

автор: JOSE T B M

14 нояб. 2020 г.

Esta bien bueno en general. Me gustaría mas apoyo visual

автор: John C

27 окт. 2020 г.

very interesting, history is so cool.

автор: UBAYDUR R R

4 июня 2020 г.

very tremendous and flexible course.

автор: Katharina R

11 мар. 2021 г.

I learned much about the Assyrian Empire which I did not know before or ever imagined. Instructor Karen Radner taught the content well and in depth. I recommend this course. The content gave me much insight on how Assyrian traditions were also kind of similar to those of neighboring empires in ancient times. I am, however, missing the course certificate: therefore only 3 stars

автор: Nathan S

29 янв. 2021 г.

a brief introduction to the Assyrian empire

The good

The videos are well done and there is nice variety of different lecture styles: Standard lectures about history, one-on-one interview formats about daily life, question-answer sessions with a wide variety of researchers and the very helpful Playmobil props acting out the complicated succession, rebellion, move the capitol, etc., dramas that come up in Assyrian history.

What could be better

There are no essays or writing assignments, just those multiple choice "video comprehension" quizzes.

There is relatively little reading material assigned, only a few web articles. No translations of primary documents were assigned.

We get to see some Assyrian art and artifacts, but not nearly as many as I had hoped.

It's too brief and doesn't cover connections with the larger world in much depth. For example, a learner new to the area might need some background differentiating nearby or preceding civilizations, such as the Hittites, Sumer, Akkadia, etc., and explaining that the Assyrian culture and language was not uniquely "Assyrian". Also, some further discussion of Assyria's relations with Egypt and the ancient Hebrews would be a nice connection to elaborate, since that's probably where most people in the West first hear about Assyria.

автор: Luis

4 окт. 2021 г.

E​l curso esta bien pero para los alumnos que no hablamos ingles , esta muy mal, las traducciones no son buenas , y sobre todo los cuestionarios es dificilisimo contestar si no esta bien traducido , hay que estar siempre pegado al traductor de google , o al que sea para poder contestar alguna pregunta . Deberian solucionar esto

автор: fernando g u

20 сент. 2021 г.

Interesante curso.

автор: Carlos H

9 авг. 2020 г.

Not Certified.