Chevron Left
Вернуться к Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way от партнера Мюнхенский университет Людвига-Максимилиана (LMU)

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 452
Рецензии: 171

О курсе

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Лучшие рецензии

SS
15 янв. 2021 г.

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

IX
14 мая 2018 г.

This is such an amazing course! Prof.Radner has done an excellent job at presenting topics and organizing materials. Highly recommend this course to anyone who's interested in ancient civilizations.

Фильтр по:

151–174 из 174 отзывов о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

автор: Jean R

4 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent.

автор: María M

21 янв. 2021 г.

Excelente

автор: Ale V

23 сент. 2020 г.

Excelente

автор: Inam A

20 сент. 2020 г.

Great!!!

автор: mansi g

20 дек. 2018 г.

its easy

автор: Jorge A d S C

11 июля 2018 г.

Exelente

автор: Julie B

13 апр. 2019 г.

T

автор: ajay s

26 апр. 2018 г.

I have absolutely enjoyed this course on Ancient Assyrian Empire. The lessons were rich in content, its' presentation of a very high order. Professor Karen Radner is objective, scholarly, and cheerfully unbiased in evaluating one of the most influential civilisations in Human History. The supplementary material to the lectures and question-answer videos, had the learner wishing for more. But to anyone interested in Ancient world and its most dramatic age, I enthusiastically recommend it as a 'Must Do' course.

Ajay Sinha.

автор: Hamdanil R

22 апр. 2018 г.

Very enjoyable course and I learned a lot. When people talk about an ancient empire that runs efficiently many would think about Rome, but it's cool to know that there's an earlier empire in a different part of the world that's no less awesome. Professor Radner is very knowledgeable and the scope of the materials are very intersting.

автор: Thomas d S

3 мая 2020 г.

Brilliant course. Was sold on it by the fish coat dudes. While Assyrian mythology is somewhat imported from Babylon I would still be interested in an expanded section of deities. That and more expert opinions--it was very neat to hear not only about Assyria but also the variety of academic viewpoints analyzing it.

автор: Syed H A

19 дек. 2018 г.

I think this course is very well designed for the beginners in assyriology. Karen Radner & others have been excellent in their delivery of all important aspects of the Assyrian empire - from religion to culture, family to army and from internal & external influencers of this empire!

автор: char m

18 мая 2020 г.

Karen is very knowledgeable, and mostly engaging. At first, I thought the student question and answer was not valuable, but I was wrong! Some of the most interesting tidbits came here. The experts section was not useful. Have one speak on his area of expertise.

автор: Ken L

2 сент. 2020 г.

The course was relatively short and succinct. It answered a number of questions, and opened up some new areas of interest. Well done. Thank you.

автор: Ed T

21 июля 2020 г.

Its been very helpful in trying to understand a little more of other kingdoms outside of Egypt, Greece, Turkey and Rome

автор: Varun N

26 мая 2020 г.

Had heard very little of this great civilization; the course gave a superb insight into it

автор: Joy S

11 апр. 2018 г.

super interesting. I would give it a 5 stars except it has peer review in the final week

автор: J B

26 сент. 2020 г.

Exactly what I needed: A quick insight into the Assyrians. Thank you so much.

автор: Herud

5 февр. 2019 г.

Not enough material about the military history of the empire.

автор: José B

14 нояб. 2020 г.

Esta bien bueno en general. Me gustaría mas apoyo visual

автор: John C

27 окт. 2020 г.

very interesting, history is so cool.

автор: UBAYDUR R R

4 июня 2020 г.

very tremendous and flexible course.

автор: fernando g u

15 июня 2020 г.

Interesante curso.

автор: Carlos H

9 авг. 2020 г.

Not Certified.