Chevron Left
Вернуться к Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way от партнера Мюнхенский университет Людвига-Максимилиана (LMU)

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 561
Рецензии: 221

О курсе

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Лучшие рецензии

LF
27 янв. 2021 г.

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

SS
15 янв. 2021 г.

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 223 отзывов о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

автор: James H

22 авг. 2020 г.

Amazingly well-produced course, using different techniques of presenting the information, to give a fascinating introduction to the Neo-Assyrian empire, its politics and daily life. The enthusiasm of the speakers is infectious, and the regular tests make sure that you can consolidate knowledge before moving on to the next section.

автор: Zeta

6 нояб. 2020 г.

This course is incredible! Thank you all so much for this opportunity. Prof. Karen Radner is so knowledgeable and inspiring and the different teaching techniques used, are extremely fun. It is a very well written short introduction to Assyrian History and it covers a variety of topics. I highly recommend it to everyone!

автор: Maria E H

12 июля 2020 г.

This is a great course! If anyone is planning on taking it I do recommend that you read a quick overall history of Assyria and Mesopotamia. This will provide you with the context you need to truly evaluate the information covered in this course and to make it more enjoyable. The professor is truly knowledgeable.

автор: T T

18 мар. 2018 г.

Neo Assyrian history made engaging and accessible! The combination of different learning methods (lectures, armchair 'chats', ask the experts, supplementary reading and resources) helped in creating a rounded, memorable learning experience. So looking forward to more from Karen Radner, Denise Bolton and team!

автор: bill w

25 авг. 2019 г.

I loved this course. I found Professor Dr. Karen Radner extremely knowledgeable, and easy to listen to and follow. My only regret was that the course was so short. I would like (and willingly pay for) a full semester course that covered the Kings, their palaces and their campaigns in more detail.

Bill Whelan

автор: Kate J

18 сент. 2020 г.

I have taken numerous Coursera classes and this was the best. Karen Radner is an excellent presenter. The format using a combination of lecture, discussions illustrations, and meet the expert questions was highly effective. I especially liked the quizzes {20 in all} as it reinforced learning. Thank you

автор: Robin T B

25 янв. 2021 г.

Lots of detail and variety of presentation methods, very interesting introduction to the Assyrian world. I could have done without the interviews with various experts on light hearted topics, I didn't find it interesting or of any historical learning use. Thanks for a good thorough study for beginners.

автор: Mara

29 июля 2020 г.

I've taken so many courses on ancient cultures, and this outranks them all! I love that this course doesn't just focus on "who did what and when", it dives deep into the cultural aspect instead and gives you a good understanding of what life may have been like for the Assyrians. I highly recommend it!

автор: Claudia H

30 мар. 2021 г.

This was a really interesting course. I had some knowledge about the Assyrians, but I was able to find out much more in-depth information. The course had a good structure, with excellent topics guiding you through the history of the great empire that once was. Absolutely great! Many thanks

автор: Bruna F

7 сент. 2020 г.

How much I enjoyed this course! Great teaching techniques, an astonishing professor, and a passionate team to make such a incredible MOOC. I love history but I confess I didn't know much about the Assyrian Empire, so this is a very welcomed and important course! Thank you to all involved!

автор: Ava

1 окт. 2019 г.

Professor Radner is fueled by passion and it truly shows in every single lecture. Her energy alone excited me for each new lesson! I took the class due to history being one of my weaker subject areas, and upon completing this course I have found a new interest and appreciation for it!

автор: Isidora D

11 авг. 2020 г.

Interesting course, it gives a lots of details and fun way of presenting historical events. The only thing that it missed was maybe a bit more about other powers in region and larger picture of Assyria. I know it takes time, but it could be given as short info with timeline.

автор: Pamela M

8 февр. 2021 г.

Thank you so muchh Professor Radner. I've gained so much knowledge about the Assyrian empire. This was the first online course and the instructor Dr. Karen Radner explained every detail in a calming, an easing manner. Thank you yet again for this magnifique course!

автор: Robert S H

20 июля 2020 г.

Thank you for a great course. Very professionally done with so much care and thought. I appreciated the challenge of the quizzes, while never feeling overwhelmed by the material. I hope there will be a Part 2 about the Art and Culture of Assyria.

автор: Jouldes M D

8 окт. 2020 г.

A very insteresting way to teach about ancient Assyrians and their empire, with different visual resources (I loved the playmobils!), special participations ("Ask the specialists" videos), the talk sessions and the amazing and objective lectures.

автор: Tammy G

24 апр. 2020 г.

I enjoyed the journey with Prof. Radner. I was inspired, entertained, and really fascinated. My knowledge was practically zero on the subject at the start of the course. I wish we could continue. There was never a dull moment. Thank you so much!

автор: Leon O

30 янв. 2021 г.

Really good course, with an interesting subject. However, the best part to me was the various ways in which the content was shared- I really liked the "talk to the exports" section. Especially the fact that some were in the field while talking.

автор: Andjelovic M

16 мая 2020 г.

The best online history course so far! The teacher is excellent and very inspiring person. I'm history teacher and this course inspired me to further explore this topic, to find other books and videos about history of Assyria and Mesopotamia.

автор: Marion K

24 янв. 2019 г.

Very interesting course, complete new material for me, I really enjoyed the script and art and will visit the British Museum as soon as possible to see the sculptures by myself. My dream: join an excavation in that area. Thank you so much.

автор: Tony a E L

12 мая 2021 г.

Dr. Radner's lectures and video presentations were excellent. The different formats kept the subject most interesting. Perhaps a few more views of the actual sites of Nineveh and Kalhu, for example, as they are today could be added.

автор: marri_alexander@yahoo.com

27 сент. 2020 г.

Brilliantly done! My first love is Ancient Egypt and so i followed the course done by Penn university. This, however, is far more interesting and captivating! So thank you. Now i have another Ancient Civilization to fall in love with!

автор: Susan V

8 авг. 2020 г.

This is an excellent course well-presented. There is a wide range of method and media is used. Prof Radner is clearly very knowledgeable: the ideal lecturer. I learned so much more about the Assyrians than dates and conquests.

автор: Peter M

8 мар. 2021 г.

This was an amazing, engaging course. It provided me with unexpected insights on the operations of an ancient empire that will inform the manner in which i organize my own affairs for the foreseeable future. Highly recommend!

автор: Frank J

29 мар. 2018 г.

An excellent, well presented and researched course which only makes us anticipate keenly further related courses on Babylonia and Mesopotamia. Something on Ancient Hittite and Persian civiisations would also be very welcome.

автор: Kevin G

20 июня 2021 г.

This was one of the best online courses I have done. The style and pace was great and the quizes checked I had understood the lectures. All online courses should be as good as this . Thank you. I feel I have learnt so much.