Chevron Left
Вернуться к Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way от партнера Мюнхенский университет Людвига-Максимилиана (LMU)

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 448
Рецензии: 170

О курсе

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Лучшие рецензии

NW
25 нояб. 2018 г.

So Far I am Loving this Course, So much Info,\n\nI have always wanted to do a course on the Assyrian Empire.\n\nFab way of learning too, with tests at each stage rather than a mighty one at the end.

IX
14 мая 2018 г.

This is such an amazing course! Prof.Radner has done an excellent job at presenting topics and organizing materials. Highly recommend this course to anyone who's interested in ancient civilizations.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 170 отзывов о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

автор: Tammy G

24 апр. 2020 г.

I enjoyed the journey with Prof. Radner. I was inspired, entertained, and really fascinated. My knowledge was practically zero on the subject at the start of the course. I wish we could continue. There was never a dull moment. Thank you so much!

автор: Andjelovic M

16 мая 2020 г.

The best online history course so far! The teacher is excellent and very inspiring person. I'm history teacher and this course inspired me to further explore this topic, to find other books and videos about history of Assyria and Mesopotamia.

автор: Marion K

24 янв. 2019 г.

Very interesting course, complete new material for me, I really enjoyed the script and art and will visit the British Museum as soon as possible to see the sculptures by myself. My dream: join an excavation in that area. Thank you so much.

автор: marri_alexander@yahoo.com

27 сент. 2020 г.

Brilliantly done! My first love is Ancient Egypt and so i followed the course done by Penn university. This, however, is far more interesting and captivating! So thank you. Now i have another Ancient Civilization to fall in love with!

автор: Susan V

8 авг. 2020 г.

This is an excellent course well-presented. There is a wide range of method and media is used. Prof Radner is clearly very knowledgeable: the ideal lecturer. I learned so much more about the Assyrians than dates and conquests.

автор: Peter M

11 нояб. 2019 г.

This was an amazing, engaging course. It provided me with unexpected insights on the operations of an ancient empire that will inform the manner in which i organize my own affairs for the foreseeable future. Highly recommend!

автор: Frank J

29 мар. 2018 г.

An excellent, well presented and researched course which only makes us anticipate keenly further related courses on Babylonia and Mesopotamia. Something on Ancient Hittite and Persian civiisations would also be very welcome.

автор: Montserrat A V

23 окт. 2018 г.

i wish to thank to Prof. Dir. Karen Radner all the work and knowledge shared through the course. Has been original, funny and so interesting. i probably i will see again many videos to memorize some things.

Thank you!

автор: ELLEN C

12 мар. 2019 г.

I throughly enjoyed this class. Ms. Radner was interesting, funny, informative and down to earth. Loved the artistic presentations she did. I would definitely take another of her classes. She made the class!

автор: Glen M

3 июня 2018 г.

Karen Radner's lectures and the "Talking about ..." discussions were very interesting, but I especially liked the cartoon character drawings used to describe the events that happened in the Assyrian empire.

автор: Anthony C E

10 июля 2020 г.

I have previously completed courses on the Ancient Near East, but this course filled in quite a few gaps.

I really enjoyed the presentation, and I found Karen's teaching both accessible and interesting.

автор: Emma B

29 июля 2020 г.

Well-balanced, well-paced, good clear explanations, questions that test relevant knowledge - really enjoyed it, congratulations to all those involved, and particularly Prof Radner for great good humour

автор: Iris X

15 мая 2018 г.

This is such an amazing course! Prof.Radner has done an excellent job at presenting topics and organizing materials. Highly recommend this course to anyone who's interested in ancient civilizations.

автор: Tasneem H A

21 сент. 2020 г.

I love learning about the empires and the people of the past. It gives an idea of how much progression and achievement have been acquired by these ancient ancestors to make our lives what they are.

автор: Naomi W

26 нояб. 2018 г.

So Far I am Loving this Course, So much Info,

I have always wanted to do a course on the Assyrian Empire.

Fab way of learning too, with tests at each stage rather than a mighty one at the end.

автор: Nikola W

17 февр. 2020 г.

Nice introduction to the Assyrian history. Due to different types of videos (interviews and lectures), quizes, and an interesting selection of topics, the course offers fun while learning.

автор: Mardohar B B S

22 июня 2020 г.

Other courses on ancient history sometimes stay as mere chronicles and not a message. This course is different. It gives a strong emphasis on how ancient ideas are never ancient at all.

автор: aigars i

15 дек. 2020 г.

It was a brilliant way if having a course. I've enjoyed every piece of it as it's way more interestingly and intuitively set up than many similar courses on the ancient world.

автор: Des C

26 июня 2020 г.

As others have written a very good course good set of lecturers. One of the more informative and well presented of the courses on offer here and a good start to farther study.

автор: Emilio L A

22 февр. 2020 г.

Excellent course! Congratulations for your lectures, Mrs. Radner. Have you thought of doing another course about the extraordinary Assyrian art? I would be very interested!

автор: John D

8 июля 2018 г.

Professor Radner, her staff, and the expert faculty that she had speak provided an amazing journey into a long gone government, society, and culture and made it seem alive.

автор: Vicente A A

19 мар. 2020 г.

Interesting, relevant, well organised, smartly discussed and thoroughly enjoyed. I feel that I have learned quite a few things and moreover, that I want to learn more.

автор: Hardeman B

9 окт. 2018 г.

A great course that I enjoyed ! It expanded my knowledge of Assyrian history and allowed me to develop a interest for ancient Assyrian history. I highly recommend it!

автор: Virginia M

14 мая 2019 г.

An excellent course. Congratulations to Professor Radner and her excellent staff. They all made our learning both profitable and thoroughly enjoyable. That you all!

автор: José M P Z

5 июня 2020 г.

Splendid introductory course. I have enjoyed and learned a lot. It has motivated me to continue researching and studying about the Assyrian Empire. Congratulations.