Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to HTML5

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to HTML5 от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.7
stars
Оценки: 9,448
Рецензии: 2,309

О курсе

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Лучшие рецензии

AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

CR

Jan 31, 2016

Exceptional course, taught by a friendly, talented teacher. Perfect introduction to HTML. While the course seems to be still under development (there is the odd typo or the like) it's a great start.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 2,263 отзывов о курсе Introduction to HTML5

автор: Barbara B

Nov 18, 2018

I've taken numerous HTML courses through the Internet. They were all free, so I can't complain, but I have to say that I learned so much more from this course. For example, I finally mastered the difference between coding the image (img) and link (href) tags - something I've been struggling with for a long time. I couldn't write either tag on my own; I had to copy and paste from someplace else and then tweak it to fit. I now can write it on my own because I understand the parts - something that wasn't clear before. Colleen makes the basics very clear in a way that you can really understand. I am so grateful for this class and so excited to code! I feel much more confident about my HTML skills, and that's a great feeling!! Thank you!!

автор: Heather J

May 27, 2019

I've really enjoyed this course. It was a completely new thing for me to try and the lectures and quizzes were all very accessible. Colleen has been a great and very pleasant teacher and I would certainly like to do more.

The only thing stopping me from doing the CSS course is time, because it is so important to be able to spend time experimenting with what you've learnt. This is something that I've struggled with, but I'm hoping that in the near future, I will find time to dedicate to another course.

I look at the web in a different way now, and the people behind it - the history and ethos of the industry, I found particularly interesting.

Thank you for creating such an accessible and thorough introductory course.

автор: Thoa T

May 26, 2016

Very helpful for absolutely beginners. The content is well-organized and materials are carefully picked to provide concise, easy-to-read information for learners. Lectures are clear, well-presented, just-right informative; accompanied by the great public speaking skill of the instructor, they are hence not intimidating or boring at all. Another plus point is the instructor constantly urging learners to go beyond "the passing point" and learn more on their own, which is a very key mindset to keep up with the fast, ever-changing landscape of Information Technologies. Don't feel lost or scared, since she'll provide you with great resources for further learning and references!

автор: Daniel R

Jan 18, 2016

I definitely Recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn about the basics of web design, HTML5, and coding. The way this course is setup is perfect for beginners with its extremely helpful and insightful readings along with the course lecture video s. The professor has really done an amazing job of teaching and engaging students through the videos while also giving helpful resources and tips for students to venture on their own and investigate the topics further. I highly recommend to follow along, especially with the coding, when the professor suggest it. It will really help out in the long run and help you become familiar with the process.

автор: Heather S

Dec 28, 2015

Challenging at some points, but if you push through it is well worth the hard work and effort. Dr. van Lent seems very passionate about the topic and it shows through in the lecture and assignment videos. Even if you're already familiar with HTML4.01, this course is worth taking to quickly brush up on the changes in HTML5, as well as learning accessibility features for users who may have one or more disabilities. I learned so much in this course even though I already knew the basics of coding and HTML4.01 Strict. This course got me interested in learning more about UMich's programs and enrolling in more courses with Dr. van Lent. Highly recommend!

автор: Holly S

Feb 26, 2018

The instructor is fantastic. Her videos are very easy to watch (never painfully awkward or difficult to understand), and I appreciated how personable she was for a computer science MOOC teacher. She's great at covering this material for those who have absolutely no experience with HTML. I've been working with HTML for about a year, now, but since I am self-taught, starting at square one was helpful because I learned a lot of little details I'd missed before, and I was able to connect the dots on "why" we were doing things in a certain way. My overall understanding of and confidence with HTML was definitely increased by this course.

автор: Beatriz C

Aug 27, 2016

I have little to no background in programming. After this course, I feel confident in proper designing a basic web page. I never thought too much about how web pages look, now I have an appreciation for the skills and thought that go into designing a page. Dr. Colleen van Lent is a wonderful professor, explains even the most complex topic in a way that I could understand knowing nothing about html5. I felt motivated to start coding. I thought about how accesible pages need to be, and how to incorporate this into my code.

If you don't know anything about programming or are interested in web design, this course is for you.

автор: Pauline

Oct 05, 2017

Although I had already some html-knowledge from other courses, I enjoyed the repetition of the basics and I learned many necessary subjects for the first time (accessibility, how to put your websites online, the most frequent mistakes and how to solve them, the interesting history of html etc.).

The lecturer made a great selection of topics that give you a quick but good basic to start exploring the possibilities of html5. She taught it in a very accessible way, but it was mostly her humorous and energetic personality that kept me highly motivated throughout the course.

Many thanks to the developers of this course!

автор: Monique O V

Nov 27, 2019

Colleen van Lent is an excellent teacher. Professors of all stripes, particularly those in STEM domains would do well to adopt her teaching style.

She explains concepts clearly and succinctly, and she does it without reading from a script like so many teachers on Coursera do. She speaks naturally and has a sense of humor. Her teaching style is that of a real human being sitting beside you, showing you how things work. After taking this class, I'm absolutely confident of my ability to write correct HTML5 code that is semantically correct and accessible to those with impairments or disabilities.

автор: Nkemdilim C

Jan 04, 2018

This course was amazing! Back in undergraduate, I struggled through the programming prerequisite in my Psychology program. Had to take it 3 times and hated it by the end. This course sparked a whole new interest and passion for programming that I never believed I could have. I thought, I'm not smart enough or technical enough for programming...until now. This course gave me the foundational skills I need, as well as the confidence to pursue web development (and possible app development) as a career. Thank you van Lent for presenting this material in such an approachable and incremental manner!

автор: Zawar W

Aug 13, 2017

I am a CS undergrad, in my first year i know a lot about programming but i was uncomfortable with even trying to make a web page that will be made how i choose it to be. With this course, i not only learned how to add content of my choice, but also adding video and audio to the page and images too! The thing that differs this course from online pages is that this course emphasizes on accessibility, i believe that is something that creates a line between those who learn by adding colors and seeing the output and one who dissects the core foundation of the product. I'm glad i took this course.

автор: Liran M

Jan 24, 2016

The good: This course really shows how to code in the 'right' way both syntax and semantics, so the theory is covered better than in other courses. There are good explanations on how to host your site, whch is not less important than learning coding.

The bad: More examples and practice are needed, it's hard to get everything so quickly. I had some initial background so i handeld that ok, but for total newbies it might be too frustrating. The final assignment should be changed imo to peer review, the quiz is not the right way to do it imo.

Thanks, learned alot.

автор: Juliana S R

Jul 24, 2016

This course is not about learning more, but learning better. And this will definitely leave you knowing more and better at the same time. Amazing introductory course. Straight to the point, teaches you valuable practices and guidelines to write HTML5 that not only works, but works correctly and is accessible for everyone. I recomend it not only for HTML beginners, but for anyone who likes to learn effectively.

Thank you and congratulations to the amazing Lecturer of this course and anyone that has helped putting this course together.

автор: Samuel A

Jul 11, 2017

Very easy to follow the video guides and assignment instructions. The professor is very clear in her explanations. In fact, I found her candidness when making mistakes one of the most helpful aspects of this learning experience. While I had a background in basic HTML before taking this course, I feel like all of the content that was covered in the lessons reinforced my knowledge and I now feel more confident in my ability to look at other webpages (with the browser inspect tool) and actually understand how the page is organized.

автор: John P

May 24, 2016

An excellent course by a Computer Scientist (PhD)! The course was very well presented, at a steady pace and in a lovely, clear voice (pity some courses online aren't so professionally clear).

The assessments, and especially the final one, ensure that one focuses and aims for perfect, syntactic and semantic code - which is what all developers should be striving for now. I'm very pleased that I achieved 100%! Great job, **Colleen Van Lent** ... now I'm interested in the second course in the series, "Introduction to CSS3".

автор: Emily L

Feb 22, 2016

The course is clear and well-paced for someone who is beginner like me. The instructor was great. Even if you've worked with earlier versions of HTML, this is a good update to HTML5 and how to code cleanly, with good syntax. The coding along lessons are both fun and challenging, so download Sublime or a text editor right away and try things out in your first lesson if you want to get the most out of it. Overall, this was a really good course. I am excited to continue taking the rest of the Web Design certificate .

автор: Matthew C M

Nov 04, 2019

This course was incredible! I had the most fun learning and competing with myself to make the deadlines. The information and level of the course is exactly what I was looking for. With this information I believe it will be possible for me to continue learning about html without other courses even though I'm really looking forward to completing the 'web design for everybody' specialization as well as other specializations ( In particular courses on computer programming and other web design specializations ).

автор: Naushina K

Sep 21, 2019

After trying many paid and free platorms /sites I have found this one to be one of the best in terms of learning the subject matter from a complete beginners perspective. The instructor was clear, articulate, cognizant of the issues and thoughts that may be running through the head of a newbie like me, and most imortantly, passionate! I also liked how I was pointed towards different resources which I can continue to go back to, to refresh and build upon what has been learnt. Looking forward to learning more.

автор: Sean H

Jul 01, 2016

Great first course for anyone - even those without any coding background. This is truly HTML for people who are 100% new to web design, so if you already know the basics, then you might want to play the videos on fast and take notes for anything that sounds new - then move onto the CSS course for styling. If you know nothing, absorb as much as you can and practice, practice, practice. This instructor is excellent at providing detail and ample resources to get your journey as web designer started!

автор: ABDUSSAMED S

Sep 01, 2019

The course was beyond my expectations. Even if the videos belong to 2016 they are still doing a great job.

First of all lecturer is really supportive, transparent and has a sense of humor. <Especially sense of humor is a really great asset for a lecturer :)>

She condems "helicopter parenting" but she is doing "helicopter lecturing". (I am using this term in a positive way of course!) As if she is watching you, she warns about all the mistakes you will make. Take your precautions and enjoy.

автор: Jun Y

May 14, 2016

I have been in the web dev field for almost a year. The intro says that this course is not for beginners, but I still took it, since I want to learn HTML systematically. My original plan was to skim through most contents and focuses on those I don't know before. This course goes beyond by expectation and is very useful to me. I feel getting systematic knowledge from it.

In addition to the course content, the professor conducts the lecturers in a very clear way. I like her teaching style.

автор: Ricardo P

Nov 12, 2019

The best part of the course is all the resources they provide throughout.

It doesn't matter if you learn better from a teacher or from reading a well-written textbook with examples because they provide both options.

The teachers are likable, thorough and knowledgeable.

The quizzes end exams are perfect. You do have to read and pay attention to the lectures but the quizzes are not designed to make it impossible for you.

I would definitely recommend it for a total beginner like I WAS.

автор: Megan C

Sep 15, 2016

I would highly recommend this particular intro into HTML course as the instructor is especially thorough in walking you through the "rules" so-to-speak. I've taken several MOOCs, as I'm studying to be a Front End Developer. The UofM tutorial is by far the best I've completed, as she "filled in the gaps" others failed to cover. I've since enrolled in their CSS & JS courses; the CSS (I'm finding) is produced similarly and has already been an worthwhile investment of my valuable time.

автор: dee-hu

Sep 13, 2019

I really appreciate Dr. Colleen spends lots of time introducing the foundations of how the web works, how code works in a certain way. I did other courses before, lots of them only focus on teaching you writing something seems work, but at the end of the day, I still didn't understand why and got stuck on writing my own code. This course is different, it teaches you the fundamental things, that even web technology or language changes, you will still understand the core.

автор: Beatrice B

Feb 18, 2016

Thanks so much! A great course and a fantastic teacher! :)

Before this course I was a total beginner and now I know the basics of html5. I can write a working code and know what to do with it.

It starts with an overview on the history of the Internet and its developments, until html5. Explains how to create a basic webpage, writing a HTML code. And it ends explaining how to eventually send the page to the web. In a very easy, interesting, efficient and understandable way.