Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to HTML5

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to HTML5 от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.7
stars
Оценки: 9,448
Рецензии: 2,309

О курсе

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Лучшие рецензии

AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

CR

Jan 31, 2016

Exceptional course, taught by a friendly, talented teacher. Perfect introduction to HTML. While the course seems to be still under development (there is the odd typo or the like) it's a great start.

Фильтр по:

126–150 из 2,263 отзывов о курсе Introduction to HTML5

автор: Michael R

Oct 04, 2015

This 'intro' course has an excellent instructor. I have used html on and off for awhile,

but the differences in HTML5 and explanation of the reasons why and the semantics

made it very valuable.

The grading was frustrating, but attention to detail IS a component of programming.

Very helpful course.

автор: Jonathan J B

Jun 30, 2017

Very good beginners course. Would have liked a little more information on how to layout a web page with the new HTML5 tags <section> <article> <aside>, etc., however, the focus was on basic page structure and writing not only good HTML code, but also semantically correct and accessible code.

автор: Mahmoud M M E

Sep 17, 2019

i have learned a lot during this course, this course provides you with the fundamentals of being a web developer and there is no wonder about how important this course is, special thanks to the instructor who showed a great skill in illustrating the course material and good luck to everyone.

автор: Sandra S

Jan 10, 2016

I have had some experience using HTML before, but needed a refresher on HTML5 and accessibility. This was a great way to brush up my skills, get a reminder of the basics and build a better foundation for creating accessible websites. I think it would be great for a complete beginner as well.

автор: Liu W

Dec 20, 2019

Another incredible course I have on Coursera!! So clear and so user-friendly from a new-hand like me. I have absolutely no knowledge in HTML and find this course so great!!

BTW, teacher, you don't talk fast.

My love University of Michigan is growing as there are so many great teachers there!!

автор: Burcu H T

Jul 08, 2019

It is so easy and understandable course for the people, who want to be a Web Developer and begin everything from scratch. Great Lecturer, her Pronunciation is so good especially for the people like me who are not a native speaker and can sometimes difficulties to have with understanding.

автор: Greg F

Jul 05, 2018

Great intro to web design and HTML5. Along with the basics of the HTML5 language, the course nicely covers code editing tools, validators, accessibility, and web hosting. Colleen van Lent is a very engaging instructor and really knows how to present the material at an introductory level.

автор: Ana C P

Mar 25, 2018

This was a really great course! Colleen's teaching style is amazing, she helps you understand all the concepts and makes you feel comfortable with your mistakes throughout the learning process, whilst also showing you how to correct them. Will be completing more of her courses for sure.

автор: Rubaet B Q

Oct 14, 2019

Having great experience..It is very helpful course for beginners. The instructor (colleen) is brilliant. She helps every step and makes this course learn easy for me. How she teaching this course its just absolutely brilliant. I enjoyed everything this course. Thanks for your efforts.

автор: Arianna R

Dec 30, 2016

Really well explained, and the instructor is so encouraging - even in her videos. You can also tell that she's really passionate about what she does, and is also so clearly a lovely person. You'll definitely walk away feeling more confident to code. I was surprised how much I picked up.

автор: Deleted A

Dec 04, 2019

This is a great introductory course to the web design and development. I recommend it for anyone who wants to start a career in web design or web development. Also, HTML5 is a great skill to learn in our modern tech world, so it's highly recommended for anyone interested in technology.

автор: Sofiia P

Aug 10, 2016

It's really good for beginners! I didn't believe that at the beginning, because i was really new and it was hard for me to understand some things at first time. But if you don't give up, you will succeed! Lectures are simple and easy for understanding. I strongly recommend this course.

автор: Edith S

May 14, 2016

Even though I would have liked something more hands-on (this subject matter doesn't come naturally to me), I was able to complete the course and obtain a certificate. I appreciate all the efforts that went into this online course and recommend it to other computer programming newbies.

автор: Albert M

Oct 15, 2019

I am an experienced developer but even with 4 years or so of solid HTML writing, this class taught many important lessons in accessibility which I had not known about or had forgotten. Some useful know hows that I needed a refresher on and some new best practices. Thank you Colleen

автор: Janna H

Dec 22, 2017

I love that this class is taught with a focus on Accessibility and also that it is taught in a way that makes a learner feel comfortable making mistakes and learning from them. I learned a lot, right up through through the final quiz. And I knew nothing about HTML at the beginning.

автор: Adam D

Mar 01, 2018

Wonderful course. A great introduction to coding in HTML. As a programmer I thought in knew it all. But this course showed me how to write code and create a website that more accessible to all users on the web. As a result creating accessible web content is my new mission in life.

автор: Assadullah S

Nov 28, 2019

The best level of teaching, content, material. I really appreciate how the course instructor provides additional supplement resources for us to grow and embrace the magic in our field. It gives me immense pleasure to say that I've learned more than my expectations in this course.

автор: Aurélie

Oct 27, 2016

It is a very interesting course, easy to access even if you have absolutely no basis in HTML.

The teacher explains things very well and the lectures are very progressive without getting boring !

I highly recommend any person who wants to learn basic HTML 5 code to join this course

автор: Bryan B

Jun 14, 2018

This course was very informative and approachable. I know there's a lot of time spent on "double checking code" but it might help to have a "practice quiz" before the final quiz that deals solely with double checking the slightly more complex code that the final exam features.

автор: Kathryn G

Jan 07, 2018

Excellent instructor! The presentation was clear. The pace of the work was good. I like the way she wasn't afraid to make mistakes, and encouraged students to continually try and explore. That is the nature, and the spirit, of of the internet, and computer science in general!

автор: Bas v G

Jan 06, 2019

As an experienced back-end programmer I still enjoyed this course and got out of it what I needed. Although really aimed at beginners, it does still provide the necessary content and more (such as a focus on accessibility). Colleen is very easy to listen to and explains well.

автор: Mujeeb A F

Jan 07, 2016

This course was really good and it taught me some of the basic stuff that other beginner tutorials often overlook. One such thing was web hosting. Many HTML tutorials teach us how to make web pages, but not how to host those web pages.

Great Effort! Thank You for teaching us!

автор: Lanval M

Mar 03, 2016

I really liked this introduction to HTML5, it was accessible, fun and the teacher added very interesting side topics (on accessibility, web history, etc.). If you take this course seriously, you will have strong basis in HTML5 and will be able to create your own web pages.

автор: Nicholas M

Nov 06, 2016

I got more out of this course than I expected to and it was effective in introducing me into the basics of HTML5. Our instructor, Colleen van Lent did a fantastic job of explaining the content and encouraging the class to study and practice individually and collectively.

автор: Piyush R

Oct 25, 2015

Its an excellent course who want to start learning web design in depth. I already knew few things about the HTML language but this course made me realise the importance of different semantic tags and how to use use them efficiently to make our website more accessible.