Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to HTML5

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to HTML5 от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 14,459
Рецензии: 3,825

О курсе

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Лучшие рецензии

NP

May 19, 2020

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

SP

Apr 16, 2020

This course was very interesting and helpful in the initialization of web development also the course instructor is very good she delivers her knowledge up to maximum possibilities and also motivates.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 3,788 отзывов о курсе Introduction to HTML5

автор: Naushina K

Sep 21, 2019

After trying many paid and free platorms /sites I have found this one to be one of the best in terms of learning the subject matter from a complete beginners perspective. The instructor was clear, articulate, cognizant of the issues and thoughts that may be running through the head of a newbie like me, and most imortantly, passionate! I also liked how I was pointed towards different resources which I can continue to go back to, to refresh and build upon what has been learnt. Looking forward to learning more.

автор: Alaina S

Apr 29, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the content shared within this course. I do feel as though I have a basic understanding of HTML5. I also became familiar with resources that I will always be able to utilize should I have questions or need to review in the upcoming weeks as I continue learning. I am proud of my first “ugly” web page and look forward to incorporating CSS to liven my work. There were also great takeaways regarding various accessibility features. I look forward to beginning my next course with Coursera.

автор: Sean H

Jul 01, 2016

Great first course for anyone - even those without any coding background. This is truly HTML for people who are 100% new to web design, so if you already know the basics, then you might want to play the videos on fast and take notes for anything that sounds new - then move onto the CSS course for styling. If you know nothing, absorb as much as you can and practice, practice, practice. This instructor is excellent at providing detail and ample resources to get your journey as web designer started!

автор: Mary Y

Apr 20, 2020

This was a great course! Prior to taking this course, I was petrified of coding. However in order to expand my experiences as a graphic designer, it makes sense to at least dip my big toe in the coding pond. Professor van Lent's video lectures are easy to comprehend and follow. She also encourages trial, error and failure as part of learning, and expects new students to do so. That teaching style provides a relaxed feeling and helps alleviate the anxieties of learning to code. Thanks Professor!

автор: Kim S J

Apr 14, 2020

Great course for an absolute beginner wanting to learn about HTML. Even for someone who is somewhat familiar with HTML like me, it is still very useful to start from the very beginning. Colleen's emphasis on designing a webpage that is valid on many browsers and accessible to a wide range of audience is very good. Overall, I enjoyed taking this course and looking forward to learning about the next one in the Web Design Specialisation. Thanks very much to Colleen and the teaching staff.

автор: ABDUSSAMED S

Sep 01, 2019

The course was beyond my expectations. Even if the videos belong to 2016 they are still doing a great job.

First of all lecturer is really supportive, transparent and has a sense of humor. <Especially sense of humor is a really great asset for a lecturer :)>

She condems "helicopter parenting" but she is doing "helicopter lecturing". (I am using this term in a positive way of course!) As if she is watching you, she warns about all the mistakes you will make. Take your precautions and enjoy.

автор: Jun Y

May 14, 2016

I have been in the web dev field for almost a year. The intro says that this course is not for beginners, but I still took it, since I want to learn HTML systematically. My original plan was to skim through most contents and focuses on those I don't know before. This course goes beyond by expectation and is very useful to me. I feel getting systematic knowledge from it.

In addition to the course content, the professor conducts the lecturers in a very clear way. I like her teaching style.

автор: Ricardo P

Nov 12, 2019

The best part of the course is all the resources they provide throughout.

It doesn't matter if you learn better from a teacher or from reading a well-written textbook with examples because they provide both options.

The teachers are likable, thorough and knowledgeable.

The quizzes end exams are perfect. You do have to read and pay attention to the lectures but the quizzes are not designed to make it impossible for you.

I would definitely recommend it for a total beginner like I WAS.

автор: Megan C

Sep 15, 2016

I would highly recommend this particular intro into HTML course as the instructor is especially thorough in walking you through the "rules" so-to-speak. I've taken several MOOCs, as I'm studying to be a Front End Developer. The UofM tutorial is by far the best I've completed, as she "filled in the gaps" others failed to cover. I've since enrolled in their CSS & JS courses; the CSS (I'm finding) is produced similarly and has already been an worthwhile investment of my valuable time.

автор: dee-hu

Sep 13, 2019

I really appreciate Dr. Colleen spends lots of time introducing the foundations of how the web works, how code works in a certain way. I did other courses before, lots of them only focus on teaching you writing something seems work, but at the end of the day, I still didn't understand why and got stuck on writing my own code. This course is different, it teaches you the fundamental things, that even web technology or language changes, you will still understand the core.

автор: Beatrice B

Feb 18, 2016

Thanks so much! A great course and a fantastic teacher! :)

Before this course I was a total beginner and now I know the basics of html5. I can write a working code and know what to do with it.

It starts with an overview on the history of the Internet and its developments, until html5. Explains how to create a basic webpage, writing a HTML code. And it ends explaining how to eventually send the page to the web. In a very easy, interesting, efficient and understandable way.

автор: Ashwin P N

May 08, 2020

I knew about HTML since my schooling but never knew meaning behind those tags and wondered why are there so many tags if one can use the other which looks similar.

By learning this course i was able to understand Semantics i.e. where exactly each tag is to be used and why it is so important to use them as intended. I whole heartedly thank Madam Colleen van Lent of University of Michigan for providing the best learning experience online.

Best Regards,

Ashwin P Nair

India

автор: Gina C

Mar 09, 2020

I recommend this course as a beginner in web developer/designer!

The course contains materials that help you understand and use HTML5. I think it was a good course to get to know what HTML5 and coding is. I really liked the lecture since the professor tried to explain it in an easy way. It took me exactly 2-4 hours/week, so I think it's a reasonable amount of time to begin!

If you're hesitating because you don't have any background or afraid to start, I'd say go ahead!

автор: Toni F

Jun 14, 2018

If your starting from the ground up, this is a very good course to learn proper HTML5.Being an IT pro for many years (Sr. Systems Engineer), there were a few parts which I had to fast-forward, but that's not a problem for me.I had the chance to re-learn my old HTML skills the HTML5 way.Coleen does a good job to make the course feel light, easy and achievable.I will do other, related courses, that will build on top of this one.It took me there evenings to run through.

автор: Shah M H R F

Sep 19, 2018

Firstly, I would like to thank Professor Colleen van Lent for being such an amazing mentor. She covered all the necessary topics related to HTML5 in the best possible way. Its only because of her that I was able to host my first ever website and understood the difference between various tags. The course also helped me understand that we need to use only the required tags and elements while designing a page and keeping in mind the rules of syntax and semantics.

автор: Eranga L D S

Sep 29, 2016

The course was very nicely organized for absolute beginners. I had done Web Development a long time back and was completely new to HTML5. Listening to the Video lectures and referring the suggested textbook "Missing Link An Introduction to Web Development and Programming" was very helpful. The quizzes were tricky. I recommend this course to anyone who is completely new to web development and who likes to learn the concepts and best practices in coding.

автор: k m w

Jul 18, 2016

I have taken HTML throughout the years with the goal of learning design and finally putting my own stamp on work I have been asked to do. I always left frustrated and doubting whether I would ever be able to do it. This has given me back some confidence that it is possible to learn. the instructor comes off friendly, clear and supportive. The materials really have me doing and seeing where my mistakes are and I really like that.

Thanks!

автор: Kathryn D

Nov 14, 2015

This course is exactly as advertised, a stand alone course in a series of courses that introduces web design to the novice, non-computer science major. This course introduces the processes that are the foundation for well designed, accessible websites. This course is exactly what I was looking for. I leave this course the foundational understandings and skills to explore the HTML on webpages that I like and to practice coding on my own.

автор: Marina M

Dec 30, 2017

Thank you! It was a clear explanation. Especially i liked the part where you explained how to create a html file in the folder step by step. (open this, save it like that and etc.) and the part about how to make my file work in the internet for everybody's seeing. And actually i still struggle with making my connections work in WinSCP. I'd like you to put more stress to that, because it's not always going smoothly. Thank you again!

автор: Salma M R E

Nov 10, 2018

Before I joined this course, I tried some online courses but could not complete them because the subjects were boring and sometimes the explanation was not clear. I would like to say this is my first course to join and complete, because the way of the explanation was very clear, as the course contained a lot of very good information, If you are looking to start your journey in web-developer trust me you are at the right place

автор: Luznery d C V M

Nov 15, 2015

I was always waiting for a course like this. I was a student without knowledge of HTML after completing the course I have reached the basic level of knowledge in HTML5 and now I have the opportunity to improve my learning and increase my level. I love HTML5.

Thanks to Colleen van Lent and the University of Michigan to create the Specialized Program - Web Design for Everyone and especially to Coursera for making this happen.

автор: Marie M

May 28, 2018

Excellent! I've taken a handful of HTML5 courses on Udemy but I learned so much more from this course. The Instructor speaks clearly, and the course is informative, detailed, and easy to follow. She is well organized and manages to cover all that one needs in reasonable time. This course helped bring me up to speed on some more modern techniques and I used it to great success in redoing some of my old sites. Thanks!

автор: Reshmika S N

May 08, 2020

Absolutely loved this course! The course instructor started from the very basics and taught us everything from how a webpage works to how to create and put up our own webpages on the internet for everyone to see. A lot of focus was put on accessibility. This course really dives into how we can make our web page accessible to more and more people. This is a great course if you want an introduction to the world of HTML5.

автор: Muhammad H

Mar 28, 2020

This course is really informative and interesting. You will get to know the core principles of web development and html5. You will know the websites, and tools to validate your code and making sure that it is accessible to everyone even disabled persons like hearing, vision, and arms.

Mam has a great sense of humor and a brilliant methodology of conveying the message. I really love this course and recommend it to all.

автор: 任恒之

Apr 15, 2016

Just finished the final quiz! Feeling so great!

I really love this course cause I've learned a lot about HTML. Also, the Instructor put a lot of emphasis on accessibility, which I think is really important.

One thing a little bit frustrating, though, the codes in the quizzes look like mess when viewed on my phone and it really gave me a lot of trouble. Perhaps this courser would offer better support for mobile phones?