Chevron Left
Вернуться к Classical Sociological Theory

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Classical Sociological Theory от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 2,300
Рецензии: 646

О курсе

This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) will offer the participants an introduction into the most important classical sociological readings between the 18th and 20th century. Highly influential social science scholars, such as Karl Marx, Max Weber and Emile Durkheim, will be discussed during 8 sessions. Combined with small tests, based on the video’s and recommended readings, the participants will be encouraged to dive deeply into the complex texts and get familiar with classical sociological concepts that are still very relevant today....

Лучшие рецензии

SS
6 янв. 2019 г.

Simple,neat and interesting way of explaining the content. Didn't get bored. Good refreshment if you already know the stuff and good introduction if you are new to sociology. Professor is really nice.

DT
28 окт. 2018 г.

This is a course which helps you understand the origin of Sociology. The content of this course includes all the sociologists who played a great role, also the lectures are delivered in a superb way.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 639 отзывов о курсе Classical Sociological Theory

автор: Eleni K

5 авг. 2021 г.

The professor is passionate about the subject and has an excellent grasp of the topic as well as a real talent for teaching. The way he explained the complicated theories and made them look so easy to learn and remember is just unbelievable. Also, the tests made so much sense -instead of being there just to justify the certificate, they actually help memorize the most important points and review what was taught. They are not difficult if you actually watched the videos, but they do take some thought (more than many of my University's exams, I may add). Overall an amazing course, I'll gladly be revisiting the videos regularly when in need of a clear and coherent phrasing of fundamental sociological concepts.

автор: dermot m

16 сент. 2020 г.

Excellent material and survey, gave me important markers around which to organize. Some readings were heavy going of course but the Calhoun spurce was good, the “alternatives” online not so much, but not bad for free. The last questions in the exam referred to my Calhoun bookand i am Pretty sure i had the right edition, 3rd edition 2012, but the author, Elias i think it was, did not appear there. I did find the important article from a journal online through a university library subscription. It was one on effect of civilizing orocess on aggression as a character or personality trait.

автор: Borremans J

13 авг. 2019 г.

I envy the students of the University of Amsterdam who had the privilege to learn from such an excellent professor, scholar . I admire the commitment , enthusiasm , scientific rigor and emotional commitment that Professor van Heerikhuizen demonstrated in teaching this course and giving it a soul and a very human dimension. The only negative point I have to make is that the good professor is a cat person and I a most clearly am a dog person.

A challenging extremely interesting course taught by an extremely talented teacher and scholar. Sincere thanks and please continue the good work.

автор: Firdaus K

15 апр. 2020 г.

Prof. Bart van Heerikhuizen was brilliant!!!!!! I loved the course, his line - up of Classical Sociologists and the reading material. But most of all Prof. Heerikhuizen's style of engaging the learner with not just the theory, but trivia about the thinkers, his own experiences and the specific comments to underline key ideas - all these aspects made the course intriguing, enjoyable, memorable & useful. I am so glad that I have finally begun my journey to learn Sociology. I would love to take every single course by Prof. Heerikhuizen in Sociology available on Coursera.

автор: Alba C R

24 мар. 2019 г.

I loved it! I've studied some of the authors during University but I forgot a little bit about them. This course helped me refresh my memory and introduced me to the other authors.

But actually what I enjoyed the most was the Professor. He explains everything in a way everyone can understand and one can see the love and passion he feels for his career. He is such a good teacher. The way he explains sociology makes everyone want to keep learning about it! I would have loved to have him during my University degree.

Thank you so much, it's been a pleasure!

автор: Antonia T B

30 мая 2018 г.

An EXCELLENT course. Professor Bart van Heerikhuizen is an incredible teacher. His lectures are exciting, interesting, well presented, and engaging. I love the fact that he quotes in the original French some times. The videos are short and very clear and the quizzes are great (interesting but easy). The course explores the ideologies and thoughts of different thinkers: Mandeville, Smith, Comte, Tocqueville, Marx, Durkheim, Weber, and Elias. A wonderful course. Really. Thanks a lot and many greetings from Madrid / Antonia Tejeda Barros

автор: Aisha A K V

7 июня 2020 г.

Prof. Bart Van Heerikhuizen's classes were really in-depth and I could get quite a good overview about all the classical sociologists and their major works. As he took us ahead with class, I gained a better comprehensive understanding of the readings. I feel the course fulfilled attained it's aim of making the students prepared to learn and read the the classical sociological texts. This course overall was an insightful and thought provoking journey for me, as well it laid my foundations of understanding Classical Sociology.

автор: Prabhjyot S

10 янв. 2019 г.

I just want to say that the course was overall very good and thank you very much the team from Amsterdam university for making sociology an MOOC and present in such a beautiful way.

My feedback is that the sociological theories that we have taught here if somehow get connected with the problems and management system of the contemporary society than the students get develop a lens through which it can easily perceive and understand the society in a more sociological way.

Thank again team Coursera and University of Amsterdam.

автор: Myanah S

3 янв. 2021 г.

I thought this was a brilliant course. I liked the straightforward short lecture format, with the occasional assessment popping up to make sure you were awake.

As a former student of Norbert Elias in the early 60's, before his major works were published in English, I found that module particularly fascinating. As undergraduates we recognised his genius and compassion, but were totally unaware of the level of his scholarship. This course has enabled me to put him in the context where he rightly belongs.

автор: Elizabeth S

8 июля 2020 г.

I am so grateful for this course! The lecturer is very passionate, and presents the topics in a very accessible, but interesting style. The course is well organized, so the concepts build on one another well. For me, this course was a great refresher as I have studied most of these theorists many years ago. It would also serve as an excellent first taste of the discipline for beginners. I highly recommend this course, and I am very hopeful there will be a second MOOC, as suggested in the last lecture.

автор: Ece N

7 мар. 2021 г.

It was a wonderful period of time that I spent listening to Professor Bart van Heerikhuizen. I found it useful for my other studies in humanities. It certainly helped me very much and I think it was not confusing at all, on the contrary it was mostly very enjoyable. I'd recommend that you take notes and keep a little notebook or word doc. on your computer. It worked really well for me both while learning and while repeating as well. Thanks very much. I'd certainly enroll if this had a sequel course.

автор: Sanjeet A

16 дек. 2016 г.

Excellent course with a well-balanced approach of the classical sociologists' fundamental ideas. Self-driven research is required if you wish to explore the topics presented to a deep degree but this course provides a great starting platform. In particular, Dr. Bat van Heerikhuizen was incredible. His passion for the subject is very evident and his teaching style is clear, well-focused, and personable. I highly recommend this MOOC for anyone remotely interested in an introduction to sociology.

автор: Travis S

16 февр. 2019 г.

This course was an excellent introduction to Classical Sociology, I learned a significant amount and greatly enjoyed it. Dr. Heerikhuizen was very effective in highlighting the key points and explaining them in an understandable fashion. The assigned readings provided good primers on the path to achieving the goal of the course, which is to be able to read the classical texts independently. I highly recommend this course for anyone looking to begin or expand their knowledge of sociology.

автор: María G

14 янв. 2016 г.

This course is the absolute best I have taken on Coursera. The teacher is very engaging, explains with ease is a very friendly professor that guides you effectively as if you weren't taking this class online. It is elegantly designed with in-video questions and helpful quizzes that are short and on-point. I liked the over-all design, it touches in the most important thinkers of Sociology but also focuses on aspects that aren't always taught in Sociology classes. A great course!

автор: Sergio S

30 нояб. 2020 г.

Really good course. This was my first approach with sociology and one of the reasons why I've decided to study this career and leave the one I'm currently studying. All the lectures of the different thinkers were fascinating, at the same time the ideas were easy to grasp thanks to the explanation of Professor Heerikhuizen, this also made the recommended readings easier to read.

In general aspects, I would highly recommend this course for anyone interested in social sciences.

автор: Natasha B

3 июня 2020 г.

An exceptional overview of classical sociological theory and an exceptional professor. Finishing this course in a week marked by civil unrest in the United States brought greater understanding to my surrounding world, and, in turn, a degree of solace that can be summed up in one of our professor's final comments: "Maybe one day we may better understand those figurational processes and learn how to steer them in such a way that it will lead to less human suffering."

автор: Chin L Y

19 июля 2017 г.

A very intriguing course that looks into the thinking of the great thinkers who had thought much more about how our modern society works. It is, as if, they had used a long binoculars that could help them see the future from the past. I am not merely saying they are predictive in their thinking, in fact, I am saying their theories or observations had actually been so relevant even in today's context. I was never interested in sociology but this course changed me.

автор: Anoushka B

3 авг. 2020 г.

Amazing course, I learned so much! The videos were super fun and informational, I really enjoyed the way the professor intertwined his own experiences and reflections into his teachings. The readings were also a great addition to the videos. (However, they definitely take longer than the approximated time of "10 minutes"!). Overall an enriching experience. Very accessible and easy to navigate the way everything was laid out. Glad I did it! Thank you very much!

автор: Martaliu

18 июня 2020 г.

This is the best Sociology Theory course I've ever had. I am a postgraduate Sociology student. I am a fan of Pro. Bart van Heerikhuizen's way of teaching, every section of this course is so amazing and attractive that I can't lose my attention on it. From his fantastic diluciation on those great classical sociologists' experience on their historical work, I gained more passion and interest on my sociological study which I was really appreciated for.

автор: ANDRE T

20 апр. 2018 г.

This course was everything I expected. It could not be more deep considering the media and the course's duration, but even though it was very explanatory of the classical authors in Sociology. I learned a lot. The instructor is terrific. And the quizzes are not absurdly obvious as they are many times here nor they are difficult even considering someone whose first language is not English. Looking forward for the course in contemporary sociologists

автор: saba

27 мар. 2017 г.

I should say this is one of the best cours in this subject that i have ever seen . i am sociology student in MA and indeed i have spent a different classes in such this subjects, so it is normal to recognize all of this theory , but this kind of method in explaining and the way is selected by this skilled professor is really nice , at the end i should say he really know her audiences and their question too .

thanks your team and website so much

автор: kathryn

18 окт. 2015 г.

Great course. Not only is the topic interesting and the lectures informative and clear, but the lecturer is thoroughly engaged, obviously loves the subject and his enthusiasm is infectious. Really well put together by the team at University of Amsterdam. I found the readings interesting and the regular tests were challenging. I feel like this stretched my brain, in a good way. Can we follow on course about the modern greats of sociology? Please?!

автор: Angela R

18 мая 2021 г.

A highly engaging summary of the great sociological thinkers of the classical era. I took this course to better understand the theoretical roots of statistics I regularly work with. This course exceeded my expectations, not only was the subject matter covered, it felt as comfortable and relaxed as a conversation with the professor in his study. Thank you University of Amsterdam for creating this course, I hope you will continue to make more.

автор: Disha D

15 июля 2020 г.

The course proved to be very beneficial for me. I learnt in details and concise manner about all the Classical Sociologists and also internalized ways to compare their thinking with my own understanding towards the society . It really enlightened me and fulfilled all of my informational needs.

Special thanks to the COORDINATOR# Bart van Heerikhuizen.. Sir, I feel really privileged to attend your course and gain immense knowledge through it.

автор: Tamara

26 апр. 2021 г.

I loved this Mooc! The examples and lectures stress the main theories of each author. The professor is so kind! I love the readings!

The only thing is that the book from Calhoun exists only as printed material, so I had no access to it during these weeks and had to rely on the alternative material and other sources :)

The Ritzer book is very helpful! And I really recommend YouTube as a tool for extra material.

I am very grateful! :)