Chevron Left
Вернуться к Classical Sociological Theory

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Classical Sociological Theory от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 2,640

О курсе

This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) will offer the participants an introduction into the most important classical sociological readings between the 18th and 20th century. Highly influential social science scholars, such as Karl Marx, Max Weber and Emile Durkheim, will be discussed during 8 sessions. Combined with small tests, based on the video’s and recommended readings, the participants will be encouraged to dive deeply into the complex texts and get familiar with classical sociological concepts that are still very relevant today....

Лучшие рецензии

SS

6 янв. 2019 г.

Simple,neat and interesting way of explaining the content. Didn't get bored. Good refreshment if you already know the stuff and good introduction if you are new to sociology. Professor is really nice.

AL

2 апр. 2021 г.

- Excellent content organization.

- Very clear and entertaining teacher.

- Very relevant visual content.

- Very well structured theme.

- It awakens the interest to continue investigating.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 724 отзывов о курсе Classical Sociological Theory

автор: kathryn

18 окт. 2015 г.

Great course. Not only is the topic interesting and the lectures informative and clear, but the lecturer is thoroughly engaged, obviously loves the subject and his enthusiasm is infectious. Really well put together by the team at University of Amsterdam. I found the readings interesting and the regular tests were challenging. I feel like this stretched my brain, in a good way. Can we follow on course about the modern greats of sociology? Please?!

автор: Angela R

18 мая 2021 г.

A highly engaging summary of the great sociological thinkers of the classical era. I took this course to better understand the theoretical roots of statistics I regularly work with. This course exceeded my expectations, not only was the subject matter covered, it felt as comfortable and relaxed as a conversation with the professor in his study. Thank you University of Amsterdam for creating this course, I hope you will continue to make more.

автор: DISHA D

7 июля 2022 г.

The course proved to be very beneficial for me. I learnt in details and concise manner about all the Classical Sociologists and also internalized ways to compare their thinking with my own understanding towards the society . It really enlightened me and fulfilled all of my informational needs.

Special thanks to the COORDINATOR# Bart van Heerikhuizen.. Sir, I feel really privileged to attend your course and gain immense knowledge through it.

автор: Muhammad K

16 окт. 2022 г.

The course classical Sociological Theory a wounderful course. I think this course is usefull for teachers, students and general public equally. The course material vidoes, transcripts, quizes and final test are up to the mark. This course has enhanced my knowledge critically and analytically. Now, I am able to distinguish different sociological concepts. I now can campare the theories as provided by different classical sociologists.

автор: JeanLeeUCL

5 апр. 2022 г.

I have trememdous pleasure and excitement by taking this fantastic and passionate course of Sociology, a discipline I haven't study before. Indeedly, the sharpest minds and the brilliant insights are exposured in the course. As such, this course can serve as an friendly guideline to exploring the progress of human race. Whoever aspiring to understand the historical and modern society will find it illustrating by taking this course.

автор: Tamara

26 апр. 2021 г.

I loved this Mooc! The examples and lectures stress the main theories of each author. The professor is so kind! I love the readings!

The only thing is that the book from Calhoun exists only as printed material, so I had no access to it during these weeks and had to rely on the alternative material and other sources :)

The Ritzer book is very helpful! And I really recommend YouTube as a tool for extra material.

I am very grateful! :)

автор: Marcela P R G

29 сент. 2020 г.

For me, this course was an absolutely challenge, I speak spanish, so to understand everything in english was a little bit hard, but totally worth it. I learned so much these last 8 weeks, I recommend so much this course. I had so much fun learning and reading the texts. Thank you to all the persons involved in this amazing proyect, and over all, thank you so much, Bart, I'll never forget you and what you taught us.

Thank you.

автор: Leonard D

12 июня 2019 г.

Fascinating course that allows students interested in sociology to attain a strong foundation from which to continue their studies. It was wonderful to learn about the classic sociologists and their theories from a gentleman who is so clearly passionate about his field of study and eager to share his expansive knowledge of it with his successive generation(s). Highly recommended to anyone interested in the social sciences.

автор: Paul P

6 окт. 2015 г.

This course is a very interesting introduction to the Classical Sociological Theory. The main authors and their works are presented in a thematic and progressive way. The pedagogic skills of the teacher, based on his involvement and his enthusiasm, are astonishing. I hope to find nearly the course on 'Modern Sociological Theory' as the sequel of this one. Thank you very much to the team to this great work and best for all!

автор: Shehely A

4 сент. 2020 г.

It was very very interesting. As Bart van Heerikhuizen were saying he is missing the direct expression from the students or participants in his lecture, sometimes I also felt so during my study time in this course. I was deeply been attached with the different theory given by different sociologist. Sometimes I was wondered that some of the theories relate to our contemporary time, but they expalained it long long ago.

автор: Stephen D

31 окт. 2015 г.

Excellent overview on the major sociological thinkers from Adam Smith to Norbert Elias. A very good introduction to the subject. Beware though - the professor is an engaging teacher, but his quizzes are tough. You actually have to do some of the recommended readings to answer the questions - there are at least three questions in each quiz based on the writings of the sociologist who is the subject of the test.

автор: Jason S

31 янв. 2017 г.

This is one of the most fascinating classes that I have ever taken. The material itself is mind-blowing- it covers some of the most influential thinkers of the past few centuries. The professor of this class is what really made it special- he is an excellent teacher, full of great stories and examples. He truly knows both how to keep one's attention and also to deepen one's fascination with sociology. Thank you!

автор: Lidia A

22 апр. 2019 г.

An eye-opening course, that inspired me to read these great works and maybe study sociology. Professor Bart van Heerikhuizen makes of this course a truly enjoyable and accessible to everyone (with a good English level) experience - I looked forward to following the "Classical Sociological Theory" course every time I opened my computer. Special thanks for sharing this FREE course with such enthusiasm !

автор: Carlos G M

29 авг. 2021 г.

Amazing! Society is undoubtedly complex, but this course sheds light upon who we are and why we act as we do. Studying the most influential thinkers of classical sociology is eye-opening and your attitude towards social phenomena becomes more critical. The course also encourages you to read extracts from primary sources which are carefullly chosen. Definitely worthwhile!

автор: Hussain H

25 мар. 2019 г.

I am very glad to share my experience with fellows. This course have enabled me to understand the base of sociology what we called the roots of sociology. It is easy to read and write about theories but to understand its philosophical perspective is like a soul to the body of knowledge. Thankyou course era for enabling me to understand the depth of sociological theory.

автор: Mitch S D

18 янв. 2023 г.

This course provides a very insightful review of the classical sociological thinkers. The lecturer has depth in his analyses and discussions of the material and works through the ideas in a logical and integrative way. I am a postgrad sociology student, and the course has given me some ideas about figuratiional processes that I'm going to follow up. Thanks, great.

автор: Evelien B

7 мая 2020 г.

I loved the very in depth video's. The teacher was very knowledgeable and put his own experiences with for example Norbert Elias in his talk. The subject matter came to live.

The time for reading the texts is grossly underestimated. 10 minutes is way to short for texts by Durkheim our Weber. My estimation is 1 hour at least for a thorough reading of the texts.

автор: Yechen H

12 февр. 2020 г.

Great Course to learn Classical Sociological Theory, I took this course as an 'Introduction to Sociology'. The professor did a great job explain classical thinkers' thoughts and ideas. The readings are somewhat a little bit intense. But I feel I have learned a lot of new ideas that reflect on modern Chinese society. Thank you Professor Bart van Heerikhuizen!

автор: Esteban T

8 июля 2016 г.

Great course! I am just more curious about all the subjects studied by Sociology! I really look forward to start my undergraduate degree in Sociology in the city of Laredo, Texas! Greetings to everybody, I definitely recommend this course to anyone that has even the slightest interest in knowing about what Sociology is all about, this is the course you need!

автор: Shikhar P

7 мая 2020 г.

An amazing course, and recommended for everyone who is even slightly interested in this subject. I started reading the classical texts and i am able to understand them.

Thanks a lot professor, though i might not be able to thank you in person given my lower middle class background in India, i shall forever be indebted to you for making this great course.

автор: J H B v d M

27 апр. 2021 г.

I did enjoy this course. Clear explanation to the several scientist. I lerned a lot about the classical sociological theory. I hoped to copntinue this course with the modern sociological scientist. I can find this on Coursera, neither on the page of the University of Amsterdam. Thanks to the lecturer for these instructive weeks. Joke van der Meer

автор: Tanya B

13 янв. 2019 г.

I am nearly 70% through this course. I have developed a great interest in Sociology and also wanted to educate myself as to the ideas of Marx, Durkheim et al, just to broaden my general knowledge. I love the Professor who teaches this course - his passion for the subject is obvious and he makes it both clear and stimulating. Highly recommend.

автор: R. S A

22 сент. 2020 г.

I HAD LEARNED A ONE PART OF MY AMBITION SKILL.TO BE A BUREAUCRAT IT S A ESSENTIAL COURSE.I SEARCHED MANY PLATFORMS FOR THIS COURSE BUT I DIDNT GET CHANCE TO LEARN THAT COURSE BUT THANKS TO COURSERA HAD GIVEN OPPORTUNITY TO LEARN THE COURSE UNDER THE VERY KNOWLDEGABLE PROFFESOR AND IN THE PRESTIGEOUS INSTITUTION THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN FOR COURSERA

автор: Linda Y

5 янв. 2019 г.

The program really opened my eyes as my study and practice are within the organization development field. The large system perspectives are very good for me to understand some of the concepts and theories foundations applied in OD. I also admired and enjoyed the professor's way of delivery the speeches and the beautiful language he used.

автор: Emanuela R

18 февр. 2016 г.

I appreciated this course because I found in it something more than mere information, which one can easily find in Wikipedia, for example. There is love for the subject, relativization, historical contextualization, stimulation of a critical thinking, and an holistic view. All things that are rare in sociology, at least according to me.