Chevron Left
Вернуться к Анализ финансовой отчетности

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Анализ финансовой отчетности от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.5
Оценки: 1,950
Рецензии: 339

О курсе

Accounting Analytics explores how financial statement data and non-financial metrics can be linked to financial performance.  In this course, taught by Wharton’s acclaimed accounting professors, you’ll learn how data is used to assess what drives financial performance and to forecast future financial scenarios. While many accounting and financial organizations deliver data, accounting analytics deploys that data to deliver insight, and this course will explore the many areas in which accounting data provides insight into other business areas including consumer behavior predictions, corporate strategy, risk management, optimization, and more. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how financial data and non-financial data interact to forecast events, optimize operations, and determine strategy. This course has been designed to help you make better business decisions about the emerging roles of accounting analytics, so that you can apply what you’ve learned to make your own business decisions and create strategy using financial data. ...

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Jun 12, 2018

One of the most practical courses I have taken in Coursera. Highly recommended for professionals in Business, Strategy, and Finance & Accounting departments, as well as stock market investors.

PB

Feb 05, 2016

The course makes accounting interesting and especially the examples are very illustrative. Virtual students bring some fun. The 4th week is however really integrated in the course structure.

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 332 отзывов о курсе Анализ финансовой отчетности

автор: Wayne C

Sep 23, 2019

Best learning experience on Coursera! I love Professor Bushee!

автор: Jigisha T

Dec 15, 2018

Week 1-3 are excellent. I found Week 4 to be too theoretical.

автор: Raghav S

Apr 07, 2019

Very interestingly taught, with active effort put in by the tutors. Good style of teaching that keeps things interesting. 4 stars since the last week felt under-done and repetitive within itself.

автор: Kevin S L

Apr 15, 2019

Realized there are some nuances that I need to go back and acquaint myself with

автор: 刘峰

Mar 18, 2019

I am very grateful to the two professors for their wonderful lectures. They have a humorous explanation on such a profound course, and finally instilled the essence of business analysis in accounting. Thanks again to the two professors!

автор: Hamed A S

Feb 14, 2019

You can get a bit lost. The lectures are fun, but the material is difficult

автор: Nicholas D

Sep 20, 2018

Very informative. Looks at the accounting side of business from several angles that I never imagined

автор: LARE Y D

May 05, 2016

Thanks to the Professor Brian Bushee for the good explanations. I learned a lot. I find the module 4 so difficult for me. The Prof Christopher Ittner is speaking like CNN journalist and not easy for a non native US or English speaker like me to follow.

автор: GOPI T K

Feb 10, 2016

good

автор: daoudi h

Feb 17, 2016

the Best cour and the Best site

tanks

автор: Bryan H

Apr 21, 2018

A good review of financial ratio, how to apply them and statistics to analyze financial statements in industry groups. The most notable contribution was linking non-financial metrics to financial performance. Something that is done frequently by successful organizations.

автор: Torrey C

May 07, 2018

Pretty tough for the first two sections if you, like me, don't know anything about the basics of accounting or financial statements, but still doable. If you have the time, I do recommend taking an accounting overview first to ground you in basic concepts.

Second two sessions are great for folks like me who already work in what they call "big data" analytics.

автор: Tina C

Feb 22, 2016

Bushee was fantastic! Ittner was fine, but not as entertaining as Bushee.

автор: Michael D

Jul 20, 2016

I have many hours of undergraduate accounting and finance course work under my belt and this class gives you a tremendous overview of financial statement analysis. The only disadvantage is that the professor creates the workbooks for you and you only have to answer conceptual questions. While this would be great for some, I was hoping for some more hands on work to practice.

автор: Sai G S

Mar 30, 2017

Providing what are the insight we need to look before investing in a company and how interpret the balance sheet and found the

автор: Abhishek P

Jul 16, 2017

Very powerful course. Complete package of new concept in a new way.

автор: Andrew V

Apr 14, 2016

Very good course well presented especially as the topic can be fairly complex.

автор: Venu R

Jan 29, 2016

Good course if you are a beginner. Analytics is only 1 module (#3) and it is a good one.

автор: Adrian L

Mar 02, 2016

Content very clear and explained by the professors.

автор: Nazatul A B A R

Jan 21, 2017

It's a very good course.

автор: Bruno G

Apr 30, 2017

week 1 and 2 were kind of boring, but maybe necessary; weeks 3 and 4 were more interesting from a business point of view (i'm not so much interested in accounting as in business decisions).

the virtual class of professor Bushee was quite funny :)

автор: Amit B

Feb 07, 2016

This was a good course, no doubt about it. But i felt, that the subject needed more depth that the course framework allowed. I would have liked if it had a part 2 for this course for people who wanted to go little more hands-on in this subject.

автор: Pedro H d M H

May 05, 2016

The course and the instructor are great, but a missed some referenced material.

автор: Anil M

Nov 07, 2016

Very informative and interactive. I like the style of Professor Bushee's classroom teaching

автор: Jan Z

Jan 05, 2016

This is my feedback as a Beta-Tester for the course:

Week 1

I thought that the videos were clear, well organized and flowed well from topic to topic. There was a clear logic as the professor developed the various ratios.

What was missing for me was some in-line quizzes. Not the “tell me what I just told you type” but rather ones that make you think. So, for example, in the final video for Week 1, the optional video, instead of just suggesting that the students “play” with the spreadsheet, I think it would be better to give them an actual task or two… “change the assumption about X to <this value>. What is the impact on the Y ratio? Why?” I liked that he showed what numbers needed to be changed to make the share valuation closer to $55. But rather than just telling us the answer, this would be another opportunity to have the students stop the video and go try it themselves. With a specific task, it is likely that more students will go and work with the spreadsheet. This is where the real learning takes place.

One of the things that I really liked about the design of prior courses by Professor Bushee was the fact that he had examples throughout the videos that had you apply the information right away. But, perhaps this is just me. I know that I learn a lot better by doing rather than just watching the videos and going “yeah… that makes sense. I understand…” I also recognize that some students, in past courses, have probably said they don’t find the in-line quizzes valuable. But, is that a reflection of the value of in-line quizzes as a whole or just in-line quizzes that simply require “parroting” something said in the video.

I’m sure that the professor can come up with lots of examples. In Week 1 Video 1 the in-line quiz might provide some numbers for De-levered Net Income, Sales, Average Total Assets and Average Shareholder’s Equity and asking for the results of each of the ratios in the Dupont Analysis. And maybe a “think about what this means” type question that is not necessarily “marked” but for which an answer is provided in the video. Alternatively, he could have the students change some specific things in the Woof Junction spreadsheet and indicate what impact that has on the ratios and why.

Week 1 Video 2 offers lots of similar opportunities with the Profitability and Turnover Ratios. Perhaps requiring the students to work backwards from a specific ratio to determine gross profit would be effective. Or, perhaps a question that relates strategy specifically to the ratios. For example, what would happen to the Gross Margin if Woof introduced a credit card and days receivable increased to 31.6 in 2015? Just something to engage people with the materials.

All of the videos offer similar opportunities and I think having specific problems or questions will enhance the learning experience rather than just suggesting that they “go look at the spreadsheet”. The audience for these courses tends to be quite a bit different from your average upper tier university student and probably needs a bit more “hand holding” and “direction” in order to be successful.

Also, if Professor Bushee expects students will watch the optional videos anyway, why make them optional? In the case of the Valuation Video, despite some of the mathematics being a little “scary” for some students, I think that the information there is really useful and helps to solidify an understanding of the spreadsheet.

I’m wondering if an in-quiz question would be helpful. Perhaps it might provide a new set of financials for Woof Junction and ask for ratio calculation and what that means in terms of their position in the marketplace or something similar. Just some practice questions to get people working with the information.

Same comments basically apply for the remainder of the weeks. I think that it would help the students to have some in-line quizzes – this not only breaks up the longer videos and helps to keep students focused but also provides a reinforcement of key concepts.

I really liked the quiz for Week 1 even though I struggled with the questions where there are multiple correct responses. The quiz effectively reinforces the information covered very well and requires one to think about what was covered in the lectures.

You may want to remind students that the questions may change from quiz to quiz. In many of these on-demand courses, the quiz questions do not change and students may be in the habit of not rereading the questions they have gotten correct on previous attempts.

Week 2 – Revenue After Cash Collection at 7:39 – talking about Days Unearned Revenue and mentions that an “increase means slower future recognition”. A bit more explanation around what that means would be useful.

Week 3 – no particular additional comments on the lectures other than some in-line questions might be good.. I found Benford’s Law really interesting.

Week 4. It would be really nice to have something to break up the lectures – some in-line quiz questions might help. This would also help to reinforce the material.

Week 4 quiz Question 9 -, the double negative wording of the question and the correct response may cause confusion for students – particularly for those for whom English is not their native language.

Overall Comments

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot. I was wondering whether it would be possible to provide a summary document with all the key information from each week related to the ratio calculations and the key things to look for related to those ratios. I know that the ratios are provided in the spreadsheet but it might be good to have a written summary with some supplemental information about how to use the ratios.

I think in-line quizzes or practice questions would be helpful for students – perhaps ones that asked students to do specific things in the spreadsheet and come back with an answer. They don’t need to be long or complicated – just something that gets people into the spreadsheets and working with them early. You may want to do something stronger to encourage them to “play” with the spreadsheet. Many will feel reluctant to change the numbers in the spreadsheet for fear of “messing” it up. Perhaps a reminder that they can change whatever they want because if they mess something up they can always download it again. Or they can save a copy and play in that leaving the original untouched.

It also might be a good idea to have a “playground” sheet where there is a simple set of Financial Statements and the students can try changing things in the financial statements and see the impact on the key ratios without having to move from one spreadsheet to another – so, a combination of the Original tab and the first two columns of the Ratios tab. You might even want to have two columns for the ratios – one for the ratios with the original numbers that does not change (fixed values) and one for the changed numbers, so students can see the effect of the changes easily.

In terms of the spreadsheets, I thought that the Original, the Ratios and the CommonSize tabs were fairly straight forward and relatively easy to understand. That may not be the case for people less familiar with MS-EXCEL but I don’t know what the target audience is for this course so the students may all be proficient with the tool. On the Valuation tab, I was wondering if the numbers in Row 41 should be highlighted in some way to emphasize that they are Years. That is not clear on first glance.

There are a lot of mistakes in the subtitles. I pointed out many of these by flagging the specific videos where they occurred.

Thank you for the opportunity to participate in the beta-test of this course. I hope that my comments are helpful and that I have not missed too much that causes students issues as the course goes live.