Chevron Left
Вернуться к Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,506

О курсе

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Лучшие рецензии

ES

4 мая 2022 г.

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

SM

11 июня 2020 г.

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 614 отзывов о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

автор: Geoffrey G

5 мая 2020 г.

I am but four weeks into this course and I love it, What appears to be simple guidance turns out to be quite powerful, and the Professor is excellent in general, and very, very good with this medium. The prompts are fabulous and surprising - not just simple phrases, but based in building capabilities with poetic forms. Even metaphors and similes, for example, mean more in the context he creates for the learner. I will revisit this review when I am done.

автор: Kelli L R

26 апр. 2021 г.

Especially enjoyed the part that stressed revision, in which Mr. Kearney talked about the importance of letting the poem take you where it wants to go and the value of freeing yourself from the constraints of where you think the poem should go. He also gave some techniques for listening to and looking at where your poem is heading.

I enjoyed the readings as well, especially the poem by Harryette Mullen. The prompts were helpful in backup up the lessons.

автор: Patrick C

3 янв. 2019 г.

Great experience. The course was very well done from a technical and systems perspective. The online experience and tools worked really well, easy to understand and use. The instructions for using the tools were clear, especially the workshop and assignments portion. The instructor, Doug Kearney, was effective, funny and very on-point. Overall, five starts. I look forward to doing another one. Oh yeah, my poetry improved as a result!

автор: MUNIRA

20 июля 2021 г.

It was an incredibly insightful experience. I have been writing poems for as long as I can remember, but through this workshop, I learned about the intricacies of poetry in-depth. I stepped out of my comfort zone and wrote in styles I had never explored before. A big thank you to Douglas Kearney for this course and his creative and engaging teaching style. I can't wait to use the learnings from this course to enhance my work going forward.

автор: Matthew Y

27 мая 2020 г.

As someone who is has no experience in creative writing classes, this course was an excellent introduction to writing poetry. While it was accessible to a beginner, I could see more advanced students of poetry being able to benefit from the course as well. This is because the prompts and assignments allow you to work at your own levels of experience and are very user friendly in that regard. I could not recommend this course highly enough!

автор: Ana P K C F

19 дек. 2019 г.

This has been one of my favorite courses so far. Douglas Kearney is such an amazing professor. He explains the subjects in a fun but yet deep way. It has been an honor to get to now more about poetry alongside his teachings, the works of the amazing American writers mentioned in this course and, of course, through my colleagues' works. I hope I can join future courses taught by Mr. Kearney, online or better yet in person at CalArts.

автор: Anna M

14 мар. 2016 г.

This is a great course with lots of information about the tools you need when crafting great poetry. I love the weekly writing prompts; they were very helpful in getting me back into the rhythm of writing. The discussion board was also a nice play to hang out and exchange thoughts about poetry and to give and receive critique from my peers. I recommend this course to anyone, at any level, who is interested in writing poetry.

автор: Sarah T

24 июля 2020 г.

This instructor really brought his A game when it came to being engaging in the video segments. I usually get bored with the video modules in these course, but not here! The assignments were fun and inspiring. Sharpened Visions is an outstanding "get your feet wet" opportunity for those who consider themselves non-writers (like me) and I would imagine to be a useful exercise for actual writers of all stripes -- poets or not.

автор: Marissa C

17 авг. 2017 г.

This professor is very lively and makes the learning entertaining. I can understand vocabulary words much easier the way Mr. Kearney presents them. Thus far, his writing prompts have been quite unique and very fun to do. This is a challenge for me personally as I am not well-versed in writing or understanding poetry but I have a great feeling I will have a much better grasp of it by the time I fully complete the course.

автор: Diane V

21 июля 2016 г.

I really loved this course! I have always loved reading poetry and have tried my hand at it periodically over many years. I learned a lot , wrote some poems that I like, and most of all enjoyed the teacher so very much. He made it so much fun, that I found myself laughing out loud several times. The workshop idea was also good, and I learned from reading the others' poems. Thank you for this course. !

автор: David P

14 июня 2022 г.

This course simply Hit The Spot! Thank you. It was extremely well presented. Entertaining and informative. For me, it struck the right balance in terms of the amount of content. It was well structured and in appropriate bite-sized sessions. I found the process reinforcing and positive. It left me wanting more - and this is a compliment, not a criticism. The course will urge me to continue and to progress.

автор: Rowan L

11 июня 2016 г.

Fantastic course. I'm not very good at actually completing MOOCs (something about not having to answer to anyone, I suspect!) but the reviewing of classmates' work was done nicely, enough pressure to mean the assignments actually got done, without requiring an unreasonable amount of time. Douglas is a fantastic teacher and really inspiring; the course has revitalised my writing in just the way I needed!

автор: Shaima

8 окт. 2020 г.

It has really been such a pleasure to learn from Douglas. I enjoyed the course thoroughly. The peer-reviewing process was also great. I always looked forward to reviewing my peers work, and have often been awed by the works they did. It has also been a great pleasure to receive constructive feedback and appreciations form the others. I hope there'll be more courses launched under Douglas and CALARTS.

автор: Nivey R

29 июня 2021 г.

​Douglas has a great way of explaining poems and poetic techniques as they effectively stick to my memory. He is here to tell that literature and poetry is enjoyable and fun at times, and I am so glad I enrolled into this course as it helped me learn a number of new ways to experiment and pen down my thoughts! This is one course I would definitely recommend to anyone who is interested in writing.

автор: Kevin J

30 янв. 2016 г.

I really enjoyed the course. I always wanted to do a course in poetry, but this is my first opportunity to do so. The course was well put together, the information explanations and the lecturers method of delivery kept you awake and attentive. He was quite dramatic but it was essential and effective. Thanks for putting it together, I learned alot and feel more confident about my poetry writing.

автор: Katy S

8 авг. 2016 г.

This is one of the most enjoyable classes I've taken on Coursera, and it's all Douglas Kearney's fault. *grins* From day one, he has made this class fun, challenging and ever-interesting, and I feel like he has helped me get back into writing poetry. I would most certainly take more of his classes on here, and if I ever went to California for school, I would love to be in his classes.

автор: Karly G

15 янв. 2017 г.

I loved the way our awesome, fun prof. Kearney spoke animatedly but slowly enough to keep students both entertained and on pace. This course was a wonderful balance of ease and challenge, and I am leaving it with a few good poems, a better understanding of techniques and tools, new skills, and a reinvigorated love and interest in poetry. Much thanks to Douglas, CalArts and Coursera.

автор: Cecília B

13 июля 2022 г.

I loved it! I don't remember EVER having such a good time writing prompts in my life. The classes are great, especially for people whose mother language is not english, so I could gert familiar with all the poetic terms and how they can apply in a language other than my own. Such a wonderful experience! I came out a better poet and writer than when I first started, that's for sure!

автор: Iman L

21 мая 2020 г.

Incredibly useful introductory poetry course. The pace is great, allowing to start slow and then pushing you a little harder towards the middle-end. Doug is an excellent video tutor, his performance really adds depth to what you're learning on at every turn. Thanks! I now feel a lot more confident to carry on learning and writing. Ah, and the shared tools, websites, etc. are ace.

автор: JoAnne S

8 мар. 2022 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! Thanks to the Professor for presenting the content in such an instructive, and, yes, entertaining manner. I enjoyed all of the assignments. I so much appreciated the opportunity for peer reviews. With support from my peers and an opportunity for critical reflection, I was able to see some real self-growth in my writings. Thank you so much!

автор: Barun K S

1 июля 2017 г.

This six weeks of exciting journey is a must for anyone interested in poetry. Here, I learned about the intricate details of poems, such as sounds, forms, and rhythms. However, the real reward was the feedback from mentors and other fellow poets, which helped me look at my writings from a new angle. Besides, hardly anyone delivers lectures as passionately as Prof. Kearney!

автор: Vincent F A G

18 сент. 2017 г.

The course offered a wonderful chance to concentrate on the nuts and bolts basic to the art of poetry, such as rhythm and rhyme. Beyond that I found the chance to gain some feedback and interact with other writers a real boon. The professor is clever and provides graphic lectures and assignments that make the class something to which I looked with anticipation each week.

автор: James M

7 нояб. 2021 г.

I​ wish I could give this course 6 stars, or maybe 100. The instructor was so engaging and covered complex topics that could help all levels of writers. The mentors were quick to respond and offer valuable advice. And the community that participated in the workshop were kind and insightful, prompted by the guidance from the instructor. A very valuable course for me.

автор: Danielle P

20 дек. 2017 г.

I really enjoyed this course. Prof. Kearney is great. He is extremely knowledgeable and explains things in such a clear, entertaining way. I also enjoyed the poems he chose to illustrate different topics. The course was very accessible and not too difficult or time-consuming, but I still learned a lot and found the writing prompts helpful. Thank you, Professor Kearney!

автор: Cheryl L

28 авг. 2020 г.

This was an excellent course. I enjoyed the videos and the assignments. The course was well paced and easy to follow. Thank you so much Prof. Kearney, for giving me the opportunity to learn from your expertise. I'm going to try writing different forms of poetry and not be satisfied that my poem is finished until I have REVISED it. Thank you again.

Cheryl Licata