Chevron Left
Вернуться к Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,411
Рецензии: 576

О курсе

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Лучшие рецензии

SM
11 июня 2020 г.

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

VS
22 июня 2020 г.

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

Фильтр по:

201–225 из 576 отзывов о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

автор: Ashish K

2 дек. 2021 г.

It is a very good course and the workshop thing is very beneficial as it gives you real reviews from your peers. You get to know the strong and loose points of your work.

автор: Rajni M

16 нояб. 2020 г.

Exceptional Course ! Much gratitude to Doug who is a great teacher. The peers enriched the experience too. My pandemic hobby turned out to be a great learning experience.

автор: Michelle C C

4 янв. 2019 г.

This course has so much substance in it, very engaging and lively. I loved the way Doug teaches and passes across lessons! Perhaps I should come take a course at CALARTS.

автор: Karen J

13 янв. 2017 г.

A very easy yet enlightening course.. Doug is a great professor..funny too! Assignments were very easy and fun to do.. got a lot to learn in a short time... Great course!

автор: Dan B

17 нояб. 2015 г.

This was an excellent course. The material was relevant, the assignments were meaningful, and the instructor was effective and motivating. I highly recommend this course.

автор: Elisabeth S

30 дек. 2020 г.

Brilliant course! Although it is short and manageable, I feel like I learned a lot. And I feel so much better in general for having deepened my relationship with poetry!

автор: Jesus J L

15 дек. 2016 г.

This course was very helpful to me in understanding poetry a little better. The professor was very engaging and I hope he will teach another poetry course in the future.

автор: nandiya n

30 апр. 2021 г.

Appreciated the opportunity to take the course. TOTAL. ENJOYMENT.

Wish it were longer -- this is just a wee taste and now am mightily hankering for more.

More please ...

автор: Hannah G

4 мар. 2021 г.

I really enjoyed this course all the way through. I learned a lot and will continue to keep challenging myself to write poetry, using what I’ve learned here. Thank you!

автор: Jayashri R S

15 мар. 2019 г.

Thank you for introducing me to poetry that I was never aware of before.I thank the mentor and my peers for their constant virtual support.Looking forward to learn more

автор: Rebecca K

22 нояб. 2021 г.

Douglas Kearney has so much class, great style and really served up the perfect introduction (although with more depth than a typical intro class) to poetry. Loved it!

автор: Jennifer G

20 июня 2020 г.

This poetry workshop really has helped me expanded my poetry skills! Definitely would recommend this course if you’re a beginner or interested more in learning Poetry!

автор: Cynthia C

7 мая 2016 г.

Thus far, this has been the most enjoyable course that I've taken in Coursera. Thanks, Mr. Kearney and CalArts. I hope you can make Sharpened Visions Parts 2 and 3 :)

автор: Rashi R S

10 июня 2020 г.

In this course, I learnt a lot about poetry and I got to work with many others who were just as keen about it. Moreover, Professor Doug is the coolest professor ever!

автор: LeAnn S

7 мая 2020 г.

I was very disappointed to receive an 87.5 on my revised last poem. It was partially because I a native English speaker did not understand my images or colloquiums.🙁

автор: Julie B

30 нояб. 2016 г.

I love poetry but I have to admit that this wasn't my cup of tea so to speak. This was a different kind of poetry and the instructor was kind of odd...in a good way.

автор: roz h

5 июля 2017 г.

I found this course fun, practical and very, very useful. The peer process was excellent and Douglas was thoroughly entertaining and engaging. Highly recommended.

автор: Emily K

1 июня 2021 г.

I enjoyed the diversity of poets included, as well as the excellent writing prompts. I learned some new vocabulary, and I feel my understanding of poetry improved.

автор: Leeland J

8 окт. 2019 г.

The instructor in very engaging. I am learning poetry to have a stronger understanding of voice and style, and I believe I will get infinity more from this course.

автор: Zubair F A

1 янв. 2019 г.

This was a brilliant course. I audited the course with interest, and completed it. It acquainted me with essentials of writing and understanding poetry. Brilliant!

автор: Arielle M

19 мая 2020 г.

Such an enjoyable course! Doug is a very enthusiastic professor, and there wasn't a single module or exercise that felt unnecessary or redundant. I learned a lot!

автор: Jenny R A

23 авг. 2015 г.

I am loving this course. It opens new stanzas in my psyche! Opens me up to the rhythms of poetry all around. What a great fun and enlightening experience. Thanks!

автор: Cliff T

16 нояб. 2020 г.

Engaging, fun and thoughtful. The assignments opened my eyes to bits of creativity I didn't know I had and challenged me to work harder to strengthen my poetry.

автор: Shane A

20 мар. 2019 г.

Great skill-sharpener for practicing poets and literature teachers. Doug is a very engaging teacher. His selection of poems is thought-provoking and informative.

автор: Reshmisadhana

26 мая 2021 г.

I loved the course and the mentor was absolutely brilliant. Not a single session was boring. it was all packed with lots of guidelines for improving my writing.