Chevron Left
Вернуться к Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,411
Рецензии: 576

О курсе

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Лучшие рецензии

VS
22 июня 2020 г.

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

SM
11 июня 2020 г.

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

Фильтр по:

251–275 из 576 отзывов о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

автор: Elizabeth S

12 февр. 2020 г.

I found the week on revision especially useful. I've saved the prompts on rhyme and rhythm that I didn't do because they look like good exercises.

автор: Vladimir M

15 июля 2020 г.

Loved it! great prompts, collaborations and very clear information. Also, I really appreciate the links to other information, websites and poems

автор: Shani C

14 апр. 2017 г.

I originally took this course at Coppin State University in 2001. I missed a week and decided to withdraw. Glad I decided to retake this course.

автор: Allysson F

6 янв. 2017 г.

The instructor is engaging and obviously loves poetry. This was such a fun class, I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to learn about poetry.

автор: Ibrahim U

13 июля 2020 г.

A great introduction to get you into reading and writing poetry. It also helps find your way of entertainment in poetry with very good prompts

автор: Luiza B

22 июня 2020 г.

The instructor makes the course flow easily and in a fun and engaging way. I discovered abilities I did not dream I had. Very nice experience.

автор: Deleted A

29 апр. 2020 г.

Wonderful course! Absolutely enjoyed it, and I learned so much about poetry, things I knew but did not know how to use it. Thank you so much!

автор: billye r

1 авг. 2017 г.

This review is about the course I'm taking. Poetry brings such great things to me. And best of all, poetry brings out the best in me as well.

автор: janet w

1 янв. 2016 г.

Everything I could have wanted and more, deep gratitude to Douglas Kearney and Coursera. I felt very welcome and nurtured. 5 stars at least

автор: Deleted A

30 мая 2020 г.

The course is superb but the explosive personality of the tutor may be charming to some, but it was a bit too much and way cacophonic for me

автор: Lynn A

25 окт. 2020 г.

This was a great refresher course. I knew a lot of the information, but the challenges were a great opportunity to try new forms of poetry.

автор: Arnel A P

22 июля 2020 г.

Very inspiring and also very education. Instructor is engaging and selection of sample poetry is diverse. I learned a lot from this course.

автор: Deanna B

1 июня 2020 г.

Great workshop for anyone that is trying to get into the basic understanding of Poetry. Definitely improved my skills as a poet and writer.

автор: Alicia E R D

1 мая 2021 г.

Aprendí muchísimo más el enfoque poético que solo escribir por escribir. Recomendado! Excelente que este tipo de cursos estén en Coursera.

автор: Alexis T

12 окт. 2015 г.

A wonderful opportunity to learn about poetry and to participate in peer reviews of poetry. One of my favorite Coursera courses/workshops!

автор: Nina B

3 сент. 2015 г.

Doug is so entertaining. I would probably take any course if he taught it but he made this poetry workshop live for me. I'm better for it.

автор: Tenzin C

3 июня 2020 г.

I took this course with my two kids. We learned a lot about Poetry.

The instructor is fun and upbeat. He made learning very interesting.

автор: Alicia C

19 нояб. 2018 г.

Loved it! Great teaching, well paced, can't get enough of the transcripts with the videos. Very fun and really pushed me in my craft.

автор: Maria I M G

27 нояб. 2017 г.

I have learned a lot from this course. Thank you . I wish we could have an advanced level of the workshop. I would definitely take it!

автор: Stephanie P

4 июня 2016 г.

This course was excellent! It really helped me on my journey in poetry appreciation and writing. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

автор: Sheryl L

12 авг. 2021 г.

Excellent, thought-provoking class. Thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a great deal about poetry. I definitely recommend this course.

автор: luciana a a

10 окт. 2020 г.

Inspiring and very handy tools are proposed to help us write and review our poetry. Loved the videos, our lecturer and the exercises.

автор: Francisco O

21 июля 2020 г.

Excellent program. Wonderfully and entertainingly presented. Plenty of information with use of examples. Much use of peer assessment.

автор: Sahil J

19 апр. 2020 г.

Engaging, low-commitment, and genuinely rewarding. An amazing learning experience for neophytes, dabblers, and practiced poets alike.

автор: G M L 2

24 дек. 2020 г.

This course got me writing poems again after a long time. It helped me refine my writing and the prompts were very though-provoking.