Chevron Left
Вернуться к Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,407
Рецензии: 576

О курсе

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Лучшие рецензии

SM
11 июня 2020 г.

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

VS
22 июня 2020 г.

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 576 отзывов о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

автор: Karuna s

25 янв. 2021 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course.. By end of course I feel much more confident in writing and up skilled..I have gained more knowledge regarding poetry writing..

автор: Catherine D

5 июля 2017 г.

I've really enjoyed exploring poetry during this course! Ilso feel more confident about the basic terminology of poetry and how to read poems better! Thank you!

автор: Warren D L

8 нояб. 2019 г.

This course did a wonderful job of introducing me to the basics of poetry. I feel that I have a much better understanding as to how a poem should be structured

автор: Shan F

18 июня 2021 г.

I enjoyed the teaching style of Douglas Kearney which was quite new to me and I think the course offered a lot of information in a short duration. Thank you.

автор: Don P

13 сент. 2015 г.

Next best thing to a face-to-face seminar: write a new poem to a prompt from Kearns, listen to your classmates' reviews of your poem; revise, revise, revise.

автор: Herman A

21 мая 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course. The instructor is engaging and makes learning poetry, something which I used to find foreign and daunting, fun and accessible.

автор: Andreas P

19 нояб. 2020 г.

A very interesting course which makes you understand more about poetry.

Also, a lot of new vocabulary to learn especially for non-native English speakers.

автор: Srushty S

26 мая 2020 г.

This course had opened many ways for me to look at poems and writings more profoundly. Thank you so much sir and the team from enhancing and helping us. ❤

автор: Manisha S

19 нояб. 2020 г.

Great course, awesome instructor. Learned a lots of poetry techniques. Recommended to everyone who is interested or want to sharpen their poetry writing.

автор: Linda T

28 июля 2020 г.

I took this course to help me do better at writing stories and crafting language. I feel that the lessons and exercises in this course really helped me.

автор: Muhammad K

23 июля 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course it was a great experience with poetry. I already used to write poems but this course gave me a better sense about the poetry.

автор: Balaji V

18 апр. 2019 г.

Such an eye opener course.

Beautifully presented.

The whole course was a poetry by itself :)

Thank you Doug - California Institute of the Arts - Coursera

автор: Isabelle D

15 февр. 2021 г.

Really straight-forward but surprisingly thorough introduction to poetry analysis and creation. I'm also a fan of corny jokes, so all-in-all a success.

автор: Chamila J Z

18 февр. 2018 г.

This is a great and useful course to learn about poetry. Professor Dough taught very precisely and clearly. Enjoyed it and learned many things from it.

автор: Ishan A S

18 авг. 2017 г.

Well the method of teaching is best in any of the moocs ever. He is a ventriloquist and when you listen to him its not like studying but entertainment.

автор: Cecilia A

23 июня 2021 г.

Doug was a great teacher. He was funny, and used things like objects and imagery to help me understand the course content better. I loved this course.

автор: Ekta T

21 июня 2020 г.

The best poetry course I could have asked for, clear and crisp lessons. You can apply what you have learnt. And amazing community and teacher Douglas

автор: Brittany E

18 мая 2020 г.

Excellent class! It's helping me to become a better writer! The professor was very energetic and enthusiastic about the material. I truly enjoyed it!

автор: Pam O

14 мар. 2018 г.

Fantastic! I am so grateful that I received the fundamentals of creating poetry from this class! The instructor was very knowledgeable and funny...

автор: Jesse W

28 февр. 2016 г.

This was a great course with some really fun, interesting, and useful strategies for both improving your own poetry, as well as appreciating others.

автор: Akshat K

10 февр. 2016 г.

Wow! This course just keeps blowing my mind away. There is so much to learn and so many opportunities to help you improve your writing. Thanks Doug!

автор: Joyce S

12 мар. 2020 г.

Excellent poetry examples and prompts-- and fun! I am amazed how such a large workshop can have a personal touch. Thank you for this helpful class!

автор: Aude L

18 окт. 2019 г.

Very well structured - engaging videos - good feedbacks to build on - everyone is really passionate about poetry in this course, it is contagious!!

автор: Mariah E W

12 сент. 2015 г.

This course was a lot of fun. Great for beginners, yet fun and interesting and a way to kickstart people who may not have written poetry in awhile.

автор: Ana R

22 мая 2021 г.

I truly enjoyed this course. It was fun, and still filled with useful information that guided students to the best outcome possible. Great course!