Chevron Left
Вернуться к Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,508

О курсе

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Лучшие рецензии

ES

4 мая 2022 г.

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

VS

22 июня 2020 г.

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 615 отзывов о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

автор: Hannah G

4 мар. 2021 г.

I really enjoyed this course all the way through. I learned a lot and will continue to keep challenging myself to write poetry, using what I’ve learned here. Thank you!

автор: Jayashri R S

15 мар. 2019 г.

Thank you for introducing me to poetry that I was never aware of before.I thank the mentor and my peers for their constant virtual support.Looking forward to learn more

автор: Rebecca R

22 нояб. 2021 г.

Douglas Kearney has so much class, great style and really served up the perfect introduction (although with more depth than a typical intro class) to poetry. Loved it!

автор: Jennifer G

20 июня 2020 г.

This poetry workshop really has helped me expanded my poetry skills! Definitely would recommend this course if you’re a beginner or interested more in learning Poetry!

автор: Cynthia C

7 мая 2016 г.

Thus far, this has been the most enjoyable course that I've taken in Coursera. Thanks, Mr. Kearney and CalArts. I hope you can make Sharpened Visions Parts 2 and 3 :)

автор: Rashi R S

10 июня 2020 г.

In this course, I learnt a lot about poetry and I got to work with many others who were just as keen about it. Moreover, Professor Doug is the coolest professor ever!

автор: Mark S

7 мая 2020 г.

I was very disappointed to receive an 87.5 on my revised last poem. It was partially because I a native English speaker did not understand my images or colloquiums.🙁

автор: Julie B

30 нояб. 2016 г.

I love poetry but I have to admit that this wasn't my cup of tea so to speak. This was a different kind of poetry and the instructor was kind of odd...in a good way.

автор: roz h

5 июля 2017 г.

I found this course fun, practical and very, very useful. The peer process was excellent and Douglas was thoroughly entertaining and engaging. Highly recommended.

автор: Emily K

1 июня 2021 г.

I enjoyed the diversity of poets included, as well as the excellent writing prompts. I learned some new vocabulary, and I feel my understanding of poetry improved.

автор: Leeland J

8 окт. 2019 г.

The instructor in very engaging. I am learning poetry to have a stronger understanding of voice and style, and I believe I will get infinity more from this course.

автор: Zubair F A

1 янв. 2019 г.

This was a brilliant course. I audited the course with interest, and completed it. It acquainted me with essentials of writing and understanding poetry. Brilliant!

автор: Arielle M

19 мая 2020 г.

Such an enjoyable course! Doug is a very enthusiastic professor, and there wasn't a single module or exercise that felt unnecessary or redundant. I learned a lot!

автор: Jenny R A

23 авг. 2015 г.

I am loving this course. It opens new stanzas in my psyche! Opens me up to the rhythms of poetry all around. What a great fun and enlightening experience. Thanks!

автор: Cliff T

16 нояб. 2020 г.

Engaging, fun and thoughtful. The assignments opened my eyes to bits of creativity I didn't know I had and challenged me to work harder to strengthen my poetry.

автор: Shane A

20 мар. 2019 г.

Great skill-sharpener for practicing poets and literature teachers. Doug is a very engaging teacher. His selection of poems is thought-provoking and informative.

автор: John E

7 февр. 2022 г.

Great course! The instructor is a genius and special thanks to K. Roberts and all peers who took their time to read through my works. Thanks for your feedbacks.

автор: Reshmisadhana

26 мая 2021 г.

I loved the course and the mentor was absolutely brilliant. Not a single session was boring. it was all packed with lots of guidelines for improving my writing.

автор: Karuna s

25 янв. 2021 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course.. By end of course I feel much more confident in writing and up skilled..I have gained more knowledge regarding poetry writing..

автор: Catherine D

5 июля 2017 г.

I've really enjoyed exploring poetry during this course! Ilso feel more confident about the basic terminology of poetry and how to read poems better! Thank you!

автор: Warren D L

8 нояб. 2019 г.

This course did a wonderful job of introducing me to the basics of poetry. I feel that I have a much better understanding as to how a poem should be structured

автор: Shan F

18 июня 2021 г.

I enjoyed the teaching style of Douglas Kearney which was quite new to me and I think the course offered a lot of information in a short duration. Thank you.

автор: Don P

13 сент. 2015 г.

Next best thing to a face-to-face seminar: write a new poem to a prompt from Kearns, listen to your classmates' reviews of your poem; revise, revise, revise.

автор: Herman A

21 мая 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course. The instructor is engaging and makes learning poetry, something which I used to find foreign and daunting, fun and accessible.

автор: Andreas P

19 нояб. 2020 г.

A very interesting course which makes you understand more about poetry.

Also, a lot of new vocabulary to learn especially for non-native English speakers.