Chevron Left
Вернуться к Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,511

О курсе

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Лучшие рецензии

ES

4 мая 2022 г.

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

VS

22 июня 2020 г.

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 615 отзывов о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

автор: Benji L

21 мая 2021 г.

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING poetry course, I have learned so much and gained a new lifelong hobby. My writing is so much stronger already, THANK YOU to Douglas Kearney and everyone who helped make this class happen.

автор: Silvana v

11 янв. 2018 г.

IT was a great experience!!! great teacher! I was very happy about this course. I learned a lot. everything was new for me. My native language is spanish. and I was able to understand clearly the exercises.

автор: Hilary T

26 авг. 2016 г.

I enjoyed this course so much i wish it didn't have to end.

The peer review experience in this course is completely fun and enriching.

Even if you think you'd be terrible at writing poetry, just give it a go!

автор: Richard C

3 авг. 2016 г.

Excellent course. The performance of the presenter may seem over the top at first but they actually enhance the impact of the lesson later on. The enthusiasm is genuine and not faked and I enjoyed his te

автор: Sharon L

13 июня 2016 г.

I enjoyed the course thoroughly. Although the basics were a review for me, the section on revision (vs editing) was extremely helpful. I also appreciated how enthusiastic and engaging the instructor was.

автор: Stacey E

3 сент. 2020 г.

The overall experience was great. I learned a lot from the videos which were engaging. The peer feedback process was rewarding. I enjoyed hearing perspectives on my poems from people all over the world.

автор: Jane G

5 мая 2022 г.

Loved this course! It was exciting to learn many aspects about poetry, and now I can confidently say that I am a better poet! I'm definitely going to use some of the theories Douglas Kearney mentioned!

автор: Judih W

18 сент. 2021 г.

Wonderful Professor and really cool survey of styles, rhythms and rhymes. I enjoyed it immensely. I especially loved meeting new poets that I might never have run across without this course! Thank you.

автор: Erin S

5 мая 2022 г.

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

автор: Timothy M

30 авг. 2021 г.

​Very in-depth analyses of beautiful, professional poems really showed me how it's done. Funny professor, many tips and tricks for my own works, and great practice exercises for applying lessons!

автор: Mitchell C

14 мая 2022 г.

This course does a good job in covering the basics andpresenting you with interesting prompts. The workshop aspect really allows you to receive feedback which can be difficult to find elsewhere.

автор: Lisa C

26 мая 2021 г.

A brilliant course with an enthusiastic tutor! I found the peer rating system difficult to use, but it would be worth signing up just for the videos, so I haven't taken off any stars for that...

автор: Gwyneth T

11 авг. 2020 г.

You said: “ It isn’t easy.”

But it’s possible.

You gave us steps to climb on.

We stepped lively.

There were hands along the way.

To add encouragement.

We just now might be poets.

At least better ones!

автор: Katie M

24 июня 2020 г.

Very useful for beginners as well as seasoned poets! Peer reviewers are thorough and usually very helpful. This course has definitely guided me in the direction of pursuing poetry academically.

автор: Aditya M

21 мая 2020 г.

Greate course! Learnt a lot about Poetry Writing - the structure, the important type of words, personifications and type of poems etc. Will implement all of this in my writing moving forward.

автор: jane r k

22 авг. 2016 г.

Wonderful, learning about writing poetry here is IT! I will always use this to go forward and once in a while come back to freshen up. Thank you, there's nothing else out there like this class!

автор: Devon B

5 мая 2020 г.

This course was so fun. I was beyond anxious to start as I am fairly new to poetry and poem writing, but this course forced me out of my shell in a truly good way. I tip my hat to the teacher!

автор: Shaza K

13 авг. 2022 г.

I just submitted my final workshop assignment.

I absolutley loved this course. It was somthing that I didint give up on though I moved the dates to complete the course about 3 x.

Thank you.

автор: Jacque R

12 окт. 2020 г.

best class. the information was presented in a dynamic and clear way. Made learning enjoyable, and the difficult parts challenging. would love to take more classes from this instructor.

автор: Melanie B

26 февр. 2021 г.

Captivating, engaging and thoroughly enjoyable course! I've always adored poetry and this course enhanced my ability to express myself accurately (and in a variety of ways) ten thumbs up!

автор: King C M D

20 июля 2020 г.

I learned a lot from this workshop. It's very straightforward and easy to learn and I produced better poems that are far more better from the poems that I've written for the past 3 years.

автор: Matteo T

4 нояб. 2016 г.

I'd like to thank M. Douglas Kearney, Calarts and Coursera for this course. I learned a lot about poetry with the help of M. Kearney whose explantions were really clear and entertaining!

автор: Swati B

8 янв. 2020 г.

Excellent course !! Previously I had never read or appreciated poetry much. This course has been an eye opener. The course is very well structure! And I learnt a lot from my peers too!

автор: Steven B

8 окт. 2015 г.

I enjoyed the class. The small corny bits in the videos made me feel at home, while the informative parts were very easy for me to understand. I'll likely revisit the class again later.

автор: Melle S

2 нояб. 2019 г.

I loved this course. It has expanded my vision for my own writing. I found it helpful to receive feedback from my peers. I now can go back to previous works and revise with confidence.