Chevron Left
Вернуться к Matrix Algebra for Engineers

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Matrix Algebra for Engineers от партнера Гонконгский университет науки и технологий

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 2,954
Рецензии: 757

О курсе

This course is all about matrices, and concisely covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. The mathematics in this course is presented at the level of an advanced high school student, but typically students should take this course after completing a university-level single variable calculus course. There are no derivatives or integrals in this course, but students are expected to have attained a sufficient level of mathematical maturity. Nevertheless, anyone who wants to learn the basics of matrix algebra is welcome to join. The course contains 38 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve after each lecture. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of four weeks in the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/matrix-algebra-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/IZcyZHomFQc...

Лучшие рецензии

JR
4 авг. 2021 г.

This is a carefully sequenced, content-rich introduction to Matrices; beware skimming over details: eg. the use of matrix formalism to solve the least squares problem is little short of magic.

RH
6 нояб. 2018 г.

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 755 отзывов о курсе Matrix Algebra for Engineers

автор: Roman B

18 февр. 2021 г.

Fantastic course to quickly get operational with key concepts of matrix algebra. Thanks a lot Jeff, great material! Great practical quizzes that help solidify the concepts, perfect proportion of practical tasks to the given videos! Will definitely recommend the course to my friends and looking forward to complete vector calculus and numerical methods by Jeff!

автор: Hugo T W S

8 авг. 2021 г.

The course was generally easy to follow and the professor really made great length and effort to explain matrices and the it's application. Despite being having no prior knowledge of matrix algebra I was able to understand and practice the examples and questions provided throughout the course. This has immensely helped in my learning of the topic! Thank you.

автор: Ken L

9 мар. 2021 г.

Excellent course very clearly taught and it is great to have the solutions available to the practice quizes - it is the equivalent of having someone to talk to about a difficult problem to solve and improves learning. Most errors I made were slips, the solutions give confidence when I realise I have the right method and just need to make a small correction.

автор: Aldrich W

13 мар. 2021 г.

Professor Chasnov is great at explaining these mathematical concepts and his examples are so clear to help understand the theoretical parts. The use of light board in the video making also makes his teaching much more efficient and understandable. I highly recommend his course to people who have an interest in matrix algebra or linear algebra!

автор: Kalpana G

5 окт. 2020 г.

This is such a great course. I have learned a lot. Course is excellent. Exercises are very good for practice and for clearing concepts. Exams covered all topics properly. Thanks for making such a wonderful course. Highly recommended. Clear and concise. Just the right amount delivered in a lucid, clear style. Look out for Jeff's other courses.

автор: Dr. N D

31 мая 2020 г.

The professor Jeffrey R. Chasnov is very nice in teaching. He provided the best examples and applications for the concepts. He has nicely designed course with proper distribution of practice examples. He has explained the methods in easiest possible way and also taken the examples in the same way. Thank you professor Jeffrey R. Chasnov.

автор: Joshua N T

29 дек. 2020 г.

Great course handled by a great professor. I enjoyed the lecture videos, liked the reading tasks and quizzes too. Together these (lecture videos, reading tasks and quizzes) helped me a lot. I have learnt several applications of matrices which are fundamental in the engineering field. I would recommend engineers to take up this course

автор: KShah

4 янв. 2021 г.

Great course and an awesome Professor! I learned a lot from Prof Chasnov's teaching that he presented in easily digestible chunks. He has done a great job in preparing material for the course that includes practice questions and quizzes on each section and topics. Thank you Prof Chasnov and the course staff for the enlightment!!

автор: Blas G

6 сент. 2020 г.

Amazing course taught by a professor who was genuinely interested in explaining the material. Loved the teaching technique, and the whole structure of the course. I highly recommend this course to anybody looking to sharpen up their matrix algebra skills. I took it as a refresher before staring my MSc in Mechanical Engineering

автор: Dhanada M

1 апр. 2019 г.

It was a wonderful course and helped me great deal to refresh my fundamental ideas about Vector Algebra. The course is very well designed and paced very well with interesting practice quizzes. I thoroughly enjoyed taking the course and would strongly recommend it for both new and advanced learners of the subject. Thank you.

автор: Brian P

14 апр. 2021 г.

Very useful overview of matrix algebra -- I learned this 15 years ago in undergrad, and wanted to brush up on the concepts in preparation for some additional engineering studies. I think this was well worth the time spent to brush up on the skills and be reminded of many of the important operations/functions.

Thank you!

автор: Melody M

15 июля 2021 г.

Another great course from Jeff! The material was occasionally challenging, but paced well. The problem solutions were very helpful. A couple of the example problems were re-used a few too many times--some diversity in the problem sets would improve the course greatly. But overall, very much work the time and effort.

автор: Bruno D P

7 апр. 2021 г.

The course was particularly clear and synthetic, but a little short. A chapter dedicated to QR and SVD decompositions, widely used techniques , would have been welcome. I would also have liked a chapter on linear transformations and their links with matrices in order to have a more global vision of linear algebra.

автор: Edgar G

27 мая 2021 г.

A very concise overview of the most important components of matrix algebra for engineers from all disciplines. Prof. Chasnov has a knack to explain the most abstract concepts in a way easy to follow. I like that the course focuses in the main concepts of Linear Algebra, instead of the usual filler found in books.

автор: Lars O

15 сент. 2020 г.

Professor Chasnov is an excellent teacher. His lectures are clear and concise and all examples and problems are very helpful. I look forward to taking his vector calculus course and I would like to see him put together a complex variables analysis course for us. I'm sure it would be a comparably excellent course.

автор: Timur C

4 июня 2020 г.

I took this course as a refresher for my final year. Linear algebra wasn't my favorite subject in my freshman year since it involved a lot of tedious calculation but this course was light on me. Concept-oriented lessons with simple problems and challenging but not over the top quizzes. Thank you Prof. Chasnov !

автор: Chaitali S

27 мая 2020 г.

This is an excellent course for engineers to begin with fundamental matrix algebra. The practice questions are an excellent addition to improve the understanding of the course. The 'chalk and board' method makes it easy to understand the progression of thought and makes the teaching move at a comfortable pace.

автор: Lorenz M M A

27 янв. 2021 г.

this site really helped me because online learning Is very difficult for me because I am the type of person that likes to take my class face to face. the interaction is good it is like I am in a real class. there are confusing parts but I manage to get it right after because the lesson is very interesting.

автор: Wai Y K

19 дек. 2020 г.

A great course for undergraduate students who are about to learn matrix for the first time. The instructor points out some applications of matrix and must-known properties for matrix algebra which are going to be a basic foundation for science in the field of computer science, machine learning and AI.

автор: Stanislaw S

4 апр. 2020 г.

Hi Prof. Chasnov, I am a retired engineer and it was my great pleasure to follow your course. Although I did not do any tests I tried to understand the material you taught. I must say I liked enormously the way you teach, very clear and understandable.

I wish you all the best,

Stanislaw Swiatkowski

автор: Dr. A K

18 мая 2020 г.

I want say about you Prof Jeffrey . You are great teacher and i really learned a lot from you. I also want say thanks to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. If you have more courses then i want to learn from you in your other courses.

Again thanks alot

Best Regards

Dr. Adnan Khan

автор: BALINGIT, J F (

23 мар. 2020 г.

This online platform learning makes me learn the lessons easily. I can easily review again if I make mistakes/ got the wrong answer to the test. But the most exciting part is the moment that the instructor wrote. I love how dedicated he is, and that clear board makes me want it too. Thank you!

автор: beryl s

7 сент. 2019 г.

As a college math teacher, it was refreshing and a challenge at times. I was able to re-watch parts of the videos to get the notes that I missed writing. Since I didn't have access to the solutions to the problems, I had to check all of my answers to make sure that my results were correct.

автор: Abigael M

30 окт. 2020 г.

There are a lot of things I learned in this course. I am familiar with the topics but I found myself in awe because I didn't know that I can understand how the formulas I've been memorizing this whole time are from!! Thank you Sir Jeff for this wonderful lecture! Really great presentation.