Chevron Left
Вернуться к Matrix Algebra for Engineers

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Matrix Algebra for Engineers от партнера Гонконгский университет науки и технологий

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 2,951
Рецензии: 757

О курсе

This course is all about matrices, and concisely covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. The mathematics in this course is presented at the level of an advanced high school student, but typically students should take this course after completing a university-level single variable calculus course. There are no derivatives or integrals in this course, but students are expected to have attained a sufficient level of mathematical maturity. Nevertheless, anyone who wants to learn the basics of matrix algebra is welcome to join. The course contains 38 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve after each lecture. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of four weeks in the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/matrix-algebra-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/IZcyZHomFQc...

Лучшие рецензии

JR
4 авг. 2021 г.

This is a carefully sequenced, content-rich introduction to Matrices; beware skimming over details: eg. the use of matrix formalism to solve the least squares problem is little short of magic.

DL
30 апр. 2020 г.

Very in-depth class for matrix algebra. I am a biochemistry student and have learned this in the past but re-taking this online course again has revamped my learning for linear algebra.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 754 отзывов о курсе Matrix Algebra for Engineers

автор: Rigel K S

12 апр. 2021 г.

Thanks a lot for this this made me enough to learn something new as an engineering student of this course. I've been through a lot seems all of this will come to its place to be used someday in my future and last enough through my golden years. Wish my future children learn this so that they won't hesitate to fight along with others. Mathematics and another ideal for Engineers will be helped by this through a lot that hoping can be helpful in other as for the new features and future Engineers in this wide wide universe world to be explored.

автор: Katherine J B

17 сент. 2020 г.

An excellent course. Very well organized and the notes were quite helpful. There was just the right amount of abstraction and he never failed to relate it to more concrete concepts. This stretched my understanding of the topic. The instructor replied promptly to my questions with useful feedback. The 'Readings' were actually more like homework problems and served to reinforce the material studied. They were straightforward and not overwhelming, as they easily could have been. I look forward to taking another course from Jeff again.

автор: CARLOS R A H

12 мар. 2021 г.

Absolutely great course. This is the third course I complete from Prof. Chaznov and it was well worth it. Even though I had some previous knowledge of vector algebra and matrices, this course helped me strengthen everything I knew and also helped me to learn a lot, lot more, like the more abstract concepts such as vector spaces which I was not very familiar with, and also eivenvector and eigenvalues. The course is very challenging, tests make you think a lot but it's overall a very fun and pleasant experience.

автор: Victor M

16 мая 2021 г.

I've learnt so much in this course! Vector spaces and eigenvectors were rather difficult themes to learn. I still have a feeling that I can't see them in all perspectives. Some internal mechanics slips my mind. I'll need to study more learning materials describing the topics from different points of view and providing more examples. Anyway, it's a great course! And I'll come back to it to refresh my memory. Especially I liked the delivery on the video. It was real pleasure to listen to these explanations.

автор: Chris L

16 мая 2019 г.

This course gives a really good overview of matrix algebra. The practice problems and quizzes follow the lectures pretty closely and allowed me to directly apply the lecture topics. I'm using this course as a starting point for further linear algebra studies, and feel that this course has prepared me and has made me even more interested in the subject. This was a very enjoyable course for me. Professor Chasnov did an excellent job and I hope to take his other courses!

автор: Marlon B

10 июня 2021 г.

The course is well structured and the practice problems force you to engage in independent thinking and research. It gives you a great foundation on how to approach problems in Linear Algebra from a theoretical point of view. I learned a lot about how to think mathematical and formulate ideas and concepts in this course. I now feel a like I have a much better understanding of what matrices are and what can be done with them. I highly recommend this course!

автор: Mohamed Y A I A

4 июля 2021 г.

The course will take you from basics through more advanced matrix techniques. You should set a weekly target for you to be bale to finish on due time. Keep attention to the reading assignments and the practice quiz as it is a main part of the learning process. Dr. Jeff style in teaching is very focused and attractive; keep alert to his wording as some of the quiz solutions are spelled between his words. Thank you Dr. Jeff for your keen teaching.

автор: Allaev S

1 апр. 2021 г.

Some people learn matrices in 1 semester which is around half a year, but if you need to learn about matrices quick, and if you put enough effort and study 5-7 hours a day, here you can learn everything in 1 week ! Professor Chasnov explains difficult things very simply and after lesson you can try different kind of problems (both theoretical and practical) to remember it better. If you need to learn about matrices, this course is for you!

автор: KietQTHE163599

19 мая 2021 г.

This course is exceptional. Mr.Chasnov is simply phenomenal at what he does and it shows. He makes the best effort at de-abstracting the information, teaching it and demonstrating it. The man is passionate and i've learned more in this course in a little more than a week than I did a whole semester in university. This course really comes to show how powerful a tool Coursera could be and I would be forever grateful that it all started here.

автор: Dr M

2 июня 2020 г.

I would like to Thanks Jeffrey Chasnov for his valuable and informative short videos. I like the course structure as well. Topics like null space, row and column space is explained in a very interesting way. I would like to coursera for this wonderful initiative during the pandemic. But why this purchase certificate is coming as it's free for learners during the worldwide pandemic. Please provide the course completion certificate. Thanks

автор: Jesse M

7 сент. 2021 г.

I really enjoyed Jeff's course, I like how he gives really good explainations of the material with many examples. He also provides you free access to his textbook, which really help me review the material and allows you to learn how to approach problems after attempting them. Overall, Jeff is a really good professor and his course can really help you, wheither taking linear algebra or reviewing the fundamentals for engineering courses.

автор: Pui C W

18 мар. 2020 г.

This course help me to learn a lot of matrix knowledge. The matrix basic talk about some compare of matrix, inverse matric and transpose. Also, there is Gaussian elimination to solve the unknown varible in matrix. Some vector in the vector space are having connection each other. And finally, eigenvalues and eigenvectors can show me the laplace expansion caclulate the det(A), Leibniz formula caclulate and power of matrix.

автор: Yimin Z

8 апр. 2020 г.

Very well explained linear matrix algebra. Detailed procedure and hand by hand example. I took this course to pick up what I have learned before. The informative outline of this course not only helps me recall, but also reconstruct my system of matrix algebra. It could be better if more examples of matrix projection. I had a hard time and went through the materials again. Thanks again for providing this amazing course.

автор: Imonikhe D O

24 июня 2020 г.

This is the first time I have attended a class in this format, and wondered how effective it would be. It was very effective, and therefore I would definitely be interested in attending other classes in the same format. The instructor was very knowledgeable and provided a wealth of information about this course I am grateful for all i have learnt so far and i say a big thank you to the Instructor, God bless you Sir.

автор: H D

11 сент. 2020 г.

I'm an economist, not an engineer and I found this course very good. Bitesized videos and good accompanying materials make each lesson easily digestible, The videos are delivered very clearly and are focused on a clear learning outcome. The course omits the heavy proofs in linear algebra. I have read a couple of linear algebra text books and found this course helped to make everything clearer and more intuitive.

автор: Silas B d S

12 сент. 2020 г.

192/5000

Excellent course, excellent teacher with excellent material available for free. If you are a student of any engineering or computing, I sincerely advise you to take this course.

I can't believe it is already over. Thank you very much, prof. Chesnov. You may not know, but this course's made a very big impact in my academic life. Now, I'll take your other courses. Please, keep doing this great work!

автор: Aviva L

21 июня 2020 г.

This course is well designed, I enjoyed the first week's readiness a lot. It makes rethink some very important concepts in linear algebra without dig into a single question too deep as a pure math course. And I hope there will be more well-designed reading material to help to understand and practice all the contents especially in week 3,4 during which I almost begin to forget what I learned before.

автор: Joel C

28 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent course! I took this course because I was having trouble with my Linear Algebra course from University, it was exactly what I was looking for. My U teachers were so bad at teaching that I got stuck on all the abstract concepts, got so confused and started hating such a beautiful subject as Matrix Algebra. Thanks Jeff Chasnov!! Undoubtedly one of the best teachers I've ever had in my life.

автор: Yasoda S K

27 мая 2020 г.

Good course, which explains what are all methods Engineers need in detail. The course textbook provided is very useful throughout the course. The only problem with this course is mathematical way of handling i.e., Instructor doesn't discuss much of the intuition behind topics. I really enjoy the practice and graded exercises. Again thanks to the Instructor for providing excellent lecture notes.

автор: Grant C

30 мая 2020 г.

Loved Dr. Chasnov's lectures. Very well-organized, succinct and clear. The Lightboard is a marvelous tool -- I had never seen one of these used before. This brief course is a fun and painless review of the highlights of linear algebra. Once you complete it, I recommend you find a source of linear algebra practice problems and solutions to hone your skills, such as one of Schaum's Outlines.

автор: Stephen M

15 нояб. 2018 г.

Excellent course, thanks so much! Really like the fact that the videos were backed by a comprehensive set lecture notes with problems AND solutions, including some proofs. This made consuming the concepts much easier. All in all a lot to swallow in this course, but great to get acquainted again (20+ years) with this subject matter. You have an excellent manner of teaching, Jeff. Thank you!

автор: Alexa M

26 апр. 2020 г.

Really enjoyed prof Chasnov's enthusiasm. Videos + notes + practice questions really helped solidify the material. I've never taken linear algebra before so I found some topics more challenging than others but overall it was a really interesting and educating course. Would absolutely recommend to someone who needs linear algebra as a prerequisite or who is just interested in learning.

автор: David M B

2 июля 2020 г.

The course was informative and succinct. Jeff presents the material well with a clear path toward the concept in each module. There is exceptional use of lightboard without too much information per video. Exercises and quizzes test the material that is taught. The course teaches the general concepts and does not dwell too deep into theoretical or abstract ideas and proofs.

автор: Niomi A

31 июля 2020 г.

This course was excellent. Clearly explained and easy to follow. Relatively short videos with one idea in each, problems, and regular quizzes to check your progress. I was looking for a chance to review some of the mathematics that I completed a university many moons ago and this provided clear and easy to follow materials that should accessible to most. Great work!

автор: Duc V K T

30 дек. 2018 г.

This was an interesting course, and I learned a lot about matrix algebra. I also took another course of him, which is Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio. This is the second course of professor Jeffrey Chasnov that I took, and I really like both of his courses. I hope that professor Jeffrey Chasnov will create some more interesting math courses in the future.