Chevron Left
Вернуться к Conflict Resolution Skills

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Conflict Resolution Skills от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Ирвайне

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 882

О курсе

Resolving conflict in a positive manner is a skill that can be developed and practiced. Being heard can be one of the most important goals of someone engaged in conflict. Knowing how to listen and deploy appropriate communication tactics is determinative of whether a conflict will have a positive or negative resolution. Examine listening skills, appropriate and strategic verbal and non-verbal communication skills, and how to assemble a conflict management plan likely to yield positive resolutions. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Use active listening skills when dealing with conflict 2. Choose appropriate communication tactics when dealing with conflict 3. Create a usable plan for managing conflict...

Лучшие рецензии

SG

19 апр. 2020 г.

All the concepts of active listening skills, communication, approaches to resolve conflicts and arriving at a collaborative solution explained very well with personal examples and interviews.

VC

29 апр. 2020 г.

Design of the course is excellent with videos, book reviews, case studies and interviews with field experts. I love this course and enjoyed a lot and I learned so many concepts.

Фильтр по:

201–219 из 219 отзывов о курсе Conflict Resolution Skills

автор: John A

26 мая 2022 г.

I​n the help section I read I could be be put in touch with the instructor of the course. I would very much like to talk to her concerning how students are doing from nothing to less than the requirements for assignments and how to resolve this issue. As an example for the grading I have to give a learner 15 points just for submitting "something" because the college level of an "assignment" is not defined. They can just put a title on the page and get 15 points for that grading criteria.

T​he online info I found to meet the criteria for a college level assignment states the below:

"​College professors expect the students to meet the set minimum college definition assignment guidelines in terms of format, style and clarity. Unlike in high school where inexperience is usually ignored, college professors usually reject poorly done assignments, or resort to failing the students who present unsatisfactory work entirely. "

I​ read it at https://assignmentdefinition.blogspot.com/2012/11/writing-college-definition-assignment.html

M​ost the assignments I do peer reviews on do not even meet the requirements of the stated questions for the assignment. There is ways to help prevent students from passing one another by clearly defining the requirements to be met in the grading. I would like to share my opinion on how this maybe done.

F​or another example below is an assignment I did a peer review on for the second class of the Conflict Management Specialization certification. It is for the class called Conflict Resolution Skills. It is the second assignment and worth 80% of the grade. This is the effort the person put forth and NOT the first I seen such work.

LAST ASSIGMENT, CECILIA DEY, MAY 26, 2022

Please read the scenario below and answer all the questions.

Scenario: Susan, a recruiting manager, asks Beth, one of her employees and an experienced recruiter, to begin the process of opening a new position at their company.

Beth calls Susan and tells her that she will not open the position, since she doesn’t feel it’s her responsibility. Susan tells Beth that she can assign this task to any of the 17 recruiters on the team. Beth continues to voice her unwillingness to do what’s asked of her.

-What steps or techniques would you use to get the participants from position to interest? Consider the facts of the conflict and be specific.

Susan gives the assignmet to Beth without asking her if she has time to begin the process or another pending issue to do the job.  Susan didn´t give enough information to Beth, Susan thinks Beth is the best recruiter for this assigment but she does not say anything to Beth, just she can give the assigment to any other of the group.  Again, Susan is making a mistake.  Communication conflics

Susan is the Recruiting Manager and has 16 others recruiters to do the assigment.  Susan could give the assigment to another professional of the group, so it is not necessary to push Beth for this assigment.

On the other hand, Beth told Susan that she feels it is not her responsabilitiy.  It means that Beth does not have clear her job description or, she does not have one.

Susan realized she has not been clear with Beth.  Invite Beth to a private conversation to ask why she doesnt want to accept the assigment.  Beth told Susan he has been working more hours a day for two weeks, due to the the big Project for a mining Co. And others recruiters dont show any commitment whith theirs Jobs. 

Then Susan, apologize for the situation unclear and tells Beth that she Will ask to another recruiter for this assigment, Now, Susan Will be more careful  before give a task to a member of the group.  Susan understood Beth did not have enough time and it was not fair to have another assigment.   Susan move from competition (power) to collaboration

Susan make an appointment with Rose and Julia and Will ask them who of both can take this responsability. Julia accepted the challenge happily.

Asked Beth to help her to review the last candidates at the final of that process.  Beth accept kindly and asked Susan to give her the exact day and time to write the meeting on her agenda.

Describe and provide examples of the role each individual played and identify their responsibilities in the conflict?

Both, Susan and Beth were not clear in their position.  Susan just asked to Beth without asking if she has enough time or others issues to complete, and Beth answered she feels it is not this responsibility.  Both made a mistake. 

What concepts would you apply to ensure a collaborative environment?

I asked myself why Susan wanted to give Beth the assigment considering that she has a big team to complete the process.

There are a big team and Susan counted with others members to solve the request. The conflict was created due to lack of clear communication.

Susan needs to understand that a clear communication is the more effective tool to ensure a collaborative environment.

T​hat is the full submission and easy to see NOTHING from the class was applied. Yet I still had to give her 15 points for submitting that junk because of the lack of clarity of an "assignment". I see this very detramental to UCI and the value of the certificates to employers. Not to mention the creditability of the instructor. The content presented by her was great and I have thus far learned a lot but this area of assignmenst and grading for them must provide more clarification so the certifications have value. I would very much like an opportunity to discuss this so feel free to contact me. Thank you for your time and consideration!

автор: Linda K

18 янв. 2016 г.

The course was very simplistic and more targeted to a new manager or a student who has never taken a conflict resolution course. I only found the interviews with Karen and Joseph to be of interest. The instructor's teaching style is too monotone - I didn't get a sense of her real world experience coming through. No sense of her brand.

автор: Varvara T L

26 мая 2020 г.

Great course with very useful material.

The assessments are marked by peers only, so no matter how well you do, if your peer decides to give you a bad grade you will get less than you deserve. The assignments are not reviewed by an experienced professor.

автор: Christian B

14 авг. 2019 г.

The course material its self is fine, if not useful. The major hurdle of the course was waiting for other individuals to submit coursework since peer-review is required for completion of the course.

автор: Mohemmad R

20 окт. 2015 г.

This a basic course and covers the Collaborative style in some depth. The case studies are the clinchers. I would have loved to have more on the other styles as well.

автор: Dr. S M

11 июня 2020 г.

Good course. But hardly any peer to review and took longer than all other courses i have done in coursera

автор: Muhammad I R

12 дек. 2019 г.

A complete waste of time. I even reviewed 49 peer assignments and got my things worst late.

автор: Mike L

30 авг. 2016 г.

Good, basic information on conflict resolution. Interviews were very valuable.

автор: Cheri P

11 мая 2018 г.

Helpful resources are included.

автор: Esmaeel A

26 дек. 2019 г.

Nice course, good case studies

автор: TIMPANO G

31 авг. 2021 г.

Too much repetitive contents

автор: Warren

9 мая 2016 г.

Simple and easy to follow

автор: Andrea P

6 окт. 2019 г.

there is no discussion forum where asking mates for reviews or anu other kind of clarification.

This caused several issues to me, first of all waiting much more time for receiving reviews about my assigments and paying longer the subscription. I hope the forum could be implemented, as it is a common and standard tool in many other specialization course. Also, I owuld like to see much more documentation available for each course in order to deepen these specific matters.

автор: Adrian F L

31 мар. 2021 г.

I expected more from this course. I think is too high level.

автор: Brittney Y

5 февр. 2021 г.

I would not recommend this course. The content in this course does not go deep enough to learn anything. I have never taken a Coursera course where videos were less than 2 minutes long (with a 10 second intro!) and said so little. I took this course because I wanted to learn *how* to facilitate conflict resolution. But instead of teaching me how, this course just glossed over concepts. For example, the first module said to use active listening, but never explained what that is or how to do it. The third module said to list solutions that could come to a compromise, but did not make any suggestions for practical techniques to reach those compromises. The content in this course was frustratingly unhelpful.

автор: mitra m

7 июня 2020 г.

It is really unfair which i couldnt sign up my assessment on audit version.

Due to sanctions i can not transfer money to out side Iran.

Other courses let us to finish the course and i think this is what we call audit version.

But this course did not let me finish it. I case i want to finish i must to buy the certificate.

автор: Stephen R

4 окт. 2015 г.

The course material is interesting (3/5) but the assignments rely heavily on reviewing the work of other students which severely detracts from the course. If I wished to grade other people's coursework, I would have pursued a career in academia instead of becoming a research scientist.

автор: Beatriz B

7 мая 2018 г.

u suk

автор: Dr. D S

25 авг. 2017 г.

W