Chevron Left
Вернуться к Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 7,170
Рецензии: 1,474

О курсе

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Лучшие рецензии

AC

Nov 03, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

AS

Jun 12, 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

Фильтр по:

1001–1025 из 1,440 отзывов о курсе Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

автор: Ha P T

Jun 15, 2018

This course is great on introducing the basic of business metrics that apply for business. But I think this fundamental knowledge is not quite enough to help me identify real-world business problems and provide solutions with detail analysis on my own. It would be much better if the course dives deeper in the business side with a real challenge project. To be honest, I also like Duke University and I'm grateful for the team's hard work.

автор: jack z

Mar 07, 2020

I think the course is useful in evaluating the organization's metrics, the instructor also introduced the trend and different roles in modern and big data company. But this course doesn't involve any excel or SQL function, so I marked it as 3 stars mainly because I would like to study some technical skill from the course. But anyway, this is a course worth to learn, especially for the big picture of the business metrics for data.

автор: Ancil E

Sep 06, 2020

Excellent course for beginners. The course gave me a holistic idea of what is required of you to become a business analyst. And at an initial level, this course has given me proficiency over the various metric being used to analysis businesses. However, the only con I found was a lot of week 3 content seem irrelevant, maybe a proper bridge as to why am I learning that weeks content would help people take it up more efficiently.

автор: Srinivasan K

Jun 14, 2019

The best course for Business Analyst professionals and this course specifically emphasizing on the key elements of core metrics for any organization to succeed in the marketplace.

Great insights on how to derive insights from the data and how to deploy effective models to leverage the best information out of data.

Faculties knowledge is clearly evidenced through their delivery on selected topics.

Enriching learning experience...

автор: Karen H

Jan 22, 2016

Good introductory material. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 only because most of the material was not directly relevant to my business world (pharmaceutical development).

Anyone working in a financial environment or in web-based marketing will learn from the business metric examples given.

The investment portfolio metrics are useful for anyone who has personal investments, even if you are not involved in finance professionally.

автор: Asset O

Jun 03, 2017

Pretty good from a conventional point of view. Am looking forward to the next courses with hands on excel and mysql use. I would contest the value of profit metric as it is too broad and overlaps with the revenue. Have a look at the Theory of constraints for a refreshing non accounting (but reconcilable) view of T, I and OE as well as errors of omission and errors of commission (TDD, IDD) on the risk side

автор: Mark T E

Sep 08, 2020

The instructor was great. Although I passed the peer-reviewed section the first time, seeing that one reviewer gave me zero points for clearly correct answers was very disconcerting. If you got enough reviewers who don't understand the assignment, you could be in for some annoyance. I would prefer to be graded by a professor. I understand how that's not possible with so many students, though.

автор: J A M

Nov 07, 2015

Great course with lots of practical information regarding finding work actually using the material.

More actual case studies and less portfolio theory would have made the course a 5/5. Too much portfolio theory for a class on business analytics: Most people taking this class will never desire to work or have the opportunity to work for an investment bank, so I found it a bit irrelevant.

автор: Rajkumar A

Jan 05, 2017

The course is good way to start the Data Analytics. Everyone before venturing into Data Analytics with lot off doubts should attend this course and it will clear the doubts.

The teaching team should provide some downloadable slides of the text shown during the presentations. Coursera can recommend for slides similar to slides in Entrepreneurship Course provided by Wharton Online.

автор: Soni B

May 16, 2017

I provided my review in my final survey. I think the assessment needs to be more detailed, because when reading peer responses it seems that a lot of people didn't grasp the concepts very well. Nor knew how to structure a business proposal. Most answers were "technically" correct because the questions we were grading didn't ask for specifics.

автор: Justin M

Oct 31, 2015

Lots of great technical information that was accessible for me, a chemist, to understand and integrate. My main complaint is with the presentation. The speaker was so slow that I had to run all videos at 150% speed to keep from falling asleep. Though, since that was possible, it turns out his slow speaking wasn't really an inconvenience.

автор: Chris W

May 07, 2019

Good course, there have been some changes in the "market" and a few quick updates would be ideal. I do not see where the value is in learning investors and their math, not used in the final projects and not truly relevant to this general course, unless you are a finance, MBA or other such major or looking to take courses with this content.

автор: Tonita C

Oct 13, 2017

The course was full of key, relevant topics. The videos were well produced and included helpful examples to explain the material/concepts being taught. The only suggestion I have is to include more hands-on examples for students to work through, especially related to the calculation of the financial business metrics. Interesting course!

автор: Spriha R

Aug 11, 2020

Course material was concise and very relevant. The examples mentioned in the course were also very relevant. Really enjoyed the Eggar's coffee roast case study. Amazing professor! Would have loved to get access to some data in the graded assignment and actually solve for the problem. With that added, this course would become perfect!

автор: Tyler J C

Mar 03, 2016

This is a great course. Very helpful in understanding Business Metrics better and at helping create a foundation in big business and data. Some of the videos around the specific numbers were a little vague on what was an example and what was an actual metric. All things considered, still well worth the time, money and effort! :)

автор: Thomas W

Apr 20, 2016

This course provides an good introduction to common business metric. It provides real world and fiction example that help solidify the concepts being introduced. The lectures are easy to follow and quizzes help reinforce what student learn. The concept that I've learn will definitely help advance my career in business analysis.

автор: Autumn R G

Jan 18, 2016

This is a great course, and a wonderful introduction to the world of Business Metrics. I did wish it was more data driven (in that I really thought there would be more Excel work), but I'm glad that I took this course because despite the lack of data in numbers it has set me up to do well in the rest of this specialization.

автор: Jan C

Mar 22, 2020

I liked the course, especially the explanation of different business roles and the cash flow case study. That was amazing. My only objection would be thattThe topics covered are kind of not very interlinked (of course they relate to each other, but it seemed to me a bit too much of jumping from one topic to another).

автор: Breanna B

Dec 01, 2015

I enjoyed this course because it opened up a nice array of new concepts in a clear and understandable way. It's always refreshing to find a well-planned course on Coursera.

This is not to say that the course couldn't use a little bit of tweaking though. There are still a few areas where things could be made clearer.

автор: carl n

Aug 10, 2016

The metrics introduce is broad, but it helps you with the idea of how businesses function in this modern world. We were also introduced to theoretical business for which an attention to business metrics is important. It is good for those who have a technical quantitative background, but no business background.

автор: Ganesh N

Jul 26, 2020

A good practical insight into the domain of Business Analytics/Data Science. Dr. Egger's examples from the industry helped in getting a broader picture of how Business Metrics are used in the practical world. Thanks a lot. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a career in Business Analytics/Data Science.

автор: Kendyl J

Jun 08, 2020

It Is very helpful In covering business basics of data-driven companies. It Is easy to follow along for beginners with limited business knowledge. However, I think the equation portions of the course could be explained In better detail and with the lay-person In mind. Overall, helpful and basic knowledge.

автор: Stefan K

Dec 28, 2015

This course being an introductory to Specialization, doesn't stand so good alone. What I really liked were the real-world examples of companies. As introductory course it was fine, but id didn't contain practical assignments (as following in Specialization courses do). The structure of the course was ok.

автор: Yachao K

May 20, 2020

I pretty like this course and I think it starts my new world. I never enter this filed before, but I can still understand the professional term due to the clear explanation from the professor. I will appreciate if there is a comprehensive explanation about how those metrics link to the following courses

автор: Thomas S

Sep 27, 2018

I think it would be beneficial to students if there would have been more exercises focused around categorizing metrics. By the end of the course I was not entirely sure how to treat classic accounting metrics that intuitively seem traditional, but are in fact dynamic in certain business contexts.