Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 10,051
Рецензии: 2,605

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JP
5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AT
17 нояб. 2020 г.

Well it was a short course, the assignments are a little bit repetitive (mostly in the last). The course reviews every 'practical' aspects of SQL, how to assemble the bricks while writing queries,...

Фильтр по:

1976–2000 из 2,621 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: 孫司祿

6 июля 2021 г.

The final project was way harder than the materials taught in classes, It would be better if they teach more before letting us handle such challenging task. Still the course was great, and I learned a lot.

автор: Naomi N

14 июня 2019 г.

The course content itself was awesome! Be ready for some technical glitches though. As long as you pay close attention to the forum, you should be fine. Overall, I would definitely recommend this course.

автор: Maria A E

9 сент. 2020 г.

I think the peer review exercise is a great way to test your learned skills. The lectures are easy to understand but I think it would be better if you added more info about the structure of ER diagrams.

автор: Andrés F D C

1 сент. 2020 г.

As an introductory course is well designed and well explained. The supplement lectures were of great help. Maybe a little introduction to Analytical Functions should help to make it completely awesome!

автор: bhupinder m

21 июня 2020 г.

Overall the content is good and the tutor is also good in the explanation the codes and concepts.

One suggestion there should be a more practical example and as well as how to run a query on a dataset.

автор: Aaron H

12 мар. 2019 г.

Although several concepts are not explained very clearly and a number of assessment questions are unclearly worded, this course is otherwise an excellent introduction to understanding and applying SQL.

автор: Eduard S

15 апр. 2021 г.

I liked most of the course, but in week 4 it felt rushed. The code shown in the slides wasn't formatted consistently all the time.

But all in all thanks for the education. I would recommend the course.

автор: Neha G

28 авг. 2020 г.

The course is nice but I suppose the PowerPoint presentation that accompanies it could use some effects to show us the clauses one by one, as they are spoke. That would make understanding them easier.

автор: Samuel M

16 мар. 2020 г.

Good course for beginners.

- classes are fine

- quizzes evaluate quite well your understanding I think

- the final assessment contains plenty of VERY ambiguous questions and I think it should be reworked

автор: Manan V

20 июля 2020 г.

Please Included examples while the instructor is teaching in the video lectures. The instructor is very talented in teaching but due to lack of examples in the video it downgrades the overall course.

автор: Lenard E O

12 сент. 2018 г.

Did not need to be a peer review assessment, most of the tests lacked creativity and could be automated. The peer review component should just apply to the creative components that can be expanded.

автор: Felipe A

14 сент. 2020 г.

The contents and explanations on the course are good, even for people with no previews coding experience (like me)... Would be great to have a better structured way of work for the final excercise

автор: Leonor G

10 апр. 2018 г.

Great course for beginners, very clear and instructor share useful tips. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because I think there could be more material related to date and time functions.

автор: Bruno G

10 нояб. 2019 г.

Videos are a bit lengthy course could be shorter by 10-20% from a time perspective with the content staying the same. Overall good course for anyone that need to learn or to refresh their skills.

автор: Adarsh P M

24 сент. 2020 г.

Presentation was Nice, But Skipped few basic concepts in the beginning like types of DBMS and how why we use RDBMS in particular.

Also could have explained better on few topics in Week 4 sessions

автор: Patricia D

22 июня 2020 г.

It's so pitying that we can send more than one time our end test. That decreases the quality and credibility of the end certification.

But the course is very well done: nice teacher and content!

автор: Edmund D

26 июня 2019 г.

Nice that it doesn't expect us to know SQL and programming well. But not nearly enough exercises to understand how to do the queries well. I am feeling lost on the practice tests especially.

автор: Aditya S

14 мая 2020 г.

A well-structured course for those who are eager to gain knowledge about SQL.

The activity, test, and the mentor are very good and the best part is they showcase a bit of industry knowledge.

автор: Rodrigo M S T

20 мар. 2021 г.

Great course for begginers!

-Simple explanations and good examples;

-No need to install anything;

-I would say that some questions are unclear.

Overall, great introduction to SQL. Thank you!

автор: Gianina G

14 мая 2020 г.

Great course, with well explained notion, well documented. The only thing I could add is that some exercises could be updated. Creates confusion when trying to solve.

Great presentation.

автор: Yaroslav C

23 окт. 2020 г.

Honestly it's not obvious why it is called sql for DATA SCIENCE.

In my opinion it's just SQL Basics.

It's pity that there weren't window functions.

But generally the course is good enough.

автор: Ray K

2 июня 2018 г.

great beginner class and also teaches critical logic thinking, which is what most business want out of Analysis type of jobs or Data Science in general, something useful and actionable.

автор: Patrick H

20 мая 2020 г.

There were a handful of errors in the video lecture's text on screen and lecturing. Some parts were hard to follow because of that. Otherwise the assignments and material was helpful!

автор: Ishwari L

26 мар. 2018 г.

Great course work! Loved the pace of the course and the examples. The instructors speech was pleasing and easy to understand. Would have loved more difficult SQL queries for practice.

автор: amr a a e

26 окт. 2018 г.

Thank you to everyone who is in charge of this course. But the training platform is not good and does not support all orders sql and there must be training after each lesson. Thanks