Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 9,795
Рецензии: 2,545

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JP
5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AL
21 авг. 2020 г.

A comprehensive course that covers major aspects of query building and retrieval in a management system. The topics were delivered well and the materials/assignments were relevant for skill-building.

Фильтр по:

1851–1875 из 2,532 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: Rafael E

24 июня 2020 г.

The contents are very accessible and well done, as well the support tool for exercise is great!

However, you should consider to improve the final assignment questions. They are not clear and the database needs a code book with the metadata. It was tough to get the meaning of each field and tables.

автор: Marco S

16 февр. 2018 г.

As introduction to SQL , I have found it very useful and well structered in order to get a better a grasp on the topic. The only thing I will improve is the part concerning self joins which by the examples shown in the videos I didn't get all. Maybe add more examples.

To sum up, very good course.

автор: Jim F

23 сент. 2018 г.

Great place to start if you have absolutely no SQL experience. Videos are well paced and thorough. The final project could use some cleanup--as indicated by the forums full of people asking the same questions. I'd take another in the series if it started around the level of windowing functions.

автор: Mukhammad E

13 апр. 2020 г.

How can i say about this course. Overall, course isn't bad, neutral. Tutor's pronunciation and English is so good and accurate and she always try to explain the course in detail. Disadvantage of this course, it is so theoretical and doesn't have many practical explaining during the lesson.

автор: Marko M

4 сент. 2019 г.

Course gives very good info for beginners. I just wish there were more exercises between lessons. I felt overwhelmed by all the informations that I had to memorise before doing test at the end of each week. I think having more tests in between lessons would help me better memorise things.

автор: Yang G

8 окт. 2018 г.

The course is very good for a sql starter to get to know the coding world. I would recommend any starter in our company to take this course. However the final assignment is a bit confusing and peer grading created a lot of stress... that's the only reason for the 4 score instead of 5...

автор: Nimeriya

15 апр. 2021 г.

It was my first course in SQL and I liked it. In general, that's a good course with a lot of practice. Some things were tough and it would be better to cover them by more examples. Anyway, the course helped me to learn SQL and I'm going to explore the data world with my new knowledge.

автор: Catherine T

27 мая 2020 г.

I like the overall look, feel, and organization of the course. It was well paced and simple to understand. I struggled at times with coding questions as some are very ambiguous and there isn't always an easy way to find guidance in the forums. Overall, though, I was very pleased.

автор: Kausik D

1 мая 2018 г.

Overall a good course for the starters in SQL in Dtaa Science filed, however I felt it could be some more hands-on oriented with some more examples, and it was mainly of lecture contents, rather things could be shown visually for a better understanding. Thank You for the videos.

автор: Sabarish A

31 мар. 2020 г.

Would have loved to see more live videos of how to do stuff. There could have also been an SQL initial setup tutorials in the system which would have been more beneficial on how to setup a relational database. But, I was able to learn the basics of SQL and how it works overall.

автор: Ivan K

4 сент. 2020 г.

Buen curso que permite aprender SQL de forma rápida y eficaz cuando buscas mejorar tu CV y obtener habilidades necesarias para el sector de análisis de datos. La última prueba es un poco compleja...¡dedicale tiempo! No te copies de los github que puedas encontrar en la web ;-)

автор: Mehul U

2 авг. 2020 г.

Very good course for beginners to start and specially for people without any programming background. The assignment provided at the end of every module give a very good exercise for practice. Only thing is some real life examples could also have been included in the lectures.

автор: Pong C X

6 мар. 2021 г.

Questions in the final assignment are rather ambiguous. More can be done to make the questions more specific and easier to interpret. Examples presented in the course were also very sparse and basic. However the syllabus covered the basics to get you started on learning SQL.

автор: Dimitra M

4 дек. 2020 г.

This is a very good and useful course to take if you work or want to work with SQL. It provides a very wide ranged knowledge on SQL. One recommendation from me is that it could be a slightly more hand-on in SQLite along with the videos so that sudents can play with the code.

автор: SHALINI G

19 июня 2018 г.

I really appreciate the way SQL is taught in this course. The only limitation is that if the coding given by the student does not match the coding in the answer , then it is displayed as incorrect. However the coding might be technically right and generate the same output.

автор: Parth S

16 июня 2019 г.

The amount of content that is covered in this course is very comprehensive. The videos are precise and very useful. The practice tests and weekly assignments are very helpful. The peer review assignment was very poorly worded and ambiguous. Other than that good job guys !

автор: N K P N

10 июля 2020 г.

Please add a video in the course for instruction on installing any SQL Studio to computer. More practice exercises are needed in the course itself. Some of the videos in 3rd and 4th week were were hard to understand without proper examples. Overall a good course. Thanks!

автор: Juan S M Q

11 мая 2020 г.

For some people don't care about assignments, so they don't take the time to review the work of other properly. Two of three take time and they reviews my work and the last didn't care about and he gave me a bad score! It is not fare! I took the right time to do it well

автор: Danli Y

24 авг. 2020 г.

This course is a perfect start for those who have no basis for SQL to learn basic statements and possible applications. However, the lecture videos are too short and do not provide enough examples. I have to spend much more time googling before doing any assignments.

автор: Burak K

12 авг. 2020 г.

I think the course is well designed for intorduction to sql language for data science. One more thing about the course is that I cannot open and use the sqlite. If there is a bit more information about the usage of sqlite, it will be great. Thanks for this course !

автор: Yousra R

24 сент. 2020 г.

Good lecture very helpful as for people who are new to SQL. The only thing that I would recommend is to give more explanations in quizzes. I wasted two days asking for help for the support just because i thought there was an error in the settings of the website

автор: Verónica N C

1 нояб. 2020 г.

The content was excellent. I learned a lot but I would like to share that in my experience it took more time than estimated, especially to complete the final project.

It should present a better time estimation in order to support users in managing their time.

автор: Artur T

9 авг. 2020 г.

Very good practical exercises, while the lectures are worse. Lecturer mostly reads text written on slides, therefore learner need additionally to read some information online with more examples to have more clear picture and be ready for practical assignment.

автор: Saisha M

18 мая 2019 г.

I personally found the course really helpful. I recently started working on SAS and this SQL course came in handy. I'm planning on taking a course on SAS now. I'd recommend this course to anyone who wants to get started with SQL, it's a pretty basic course.

автор: Julia G

5 мая 2020 г.

The material in the course was good and very useful, clearly structured. The only comment I would give that I didnt like the way material was presented, you could feel that it was read not told and presenter was inexperienced with reading from the screen.