Chevron Left
Вернуться к Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) от партнера Университет штата Мичиган

4.4
Оценки: 423
Рецензии: 160

О курсе

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

Лучшие рецензии

AA

Jun 14, 2016

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

JF

Sep 28, 2016

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 157 отзывов о курсе Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

автор: Dimitri

Nov 19, 2018

Excellent course. The lectures are very short and to the point but they provide enough for you to start doing the most important thing of all - getting an idea down to paper and writing and writing and writing. The course does require a significant investment of time and energy - but if you provide that, you are the ultimate beneficiary as this is very much learning by doing. The peer feedback system provides and interesting opportunity to see what other members of the class are doing but unfortunately most peers do not provide much quality feedback on the work you submit. Having said that, I requested feedback from one of the course mentors and I was blown away by the depth and quality of the feedback that he provided on my final submission. This was my first Coursera course and I feel very happy with the final outcome.

автор: Allison M

Nov 22, 2018

I had a wonderful time completing this course. This was my first time writing a script and I learned so much along the process, especially by getting reviews from my peers. Having assignments week by week also made it better since I was committed to finish before due date. However, there were occasions when I couldn't finish on time so I resubmitted and then waited to be graded. I feel incredibly happy to have learned so many important aspects about writing a script and even happier to be a writer.

автор: Diane B

Aug 14, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the challenge of expanding my world through this Scriptwriting course. It's opened my mind in so many ways to creative aspects I never knew I had: dialogue and storytelling. I found the images and story an ever-expanding adventure that was somehow concocted from within my own imagination.

As a nonfiction writer of reference material, copy and poetry, I appreciated some of the very insightful feedback from both classmates and mentors that I received in exploring this new writing genre. I was excited to 'meet' my characters and could clearly see different people I've known in each of them.

автор: Erin S

Nov 01, 2017

This course is great! I've been wanting to write a web series, and this class taught me how to make it happen. I learned how to create the overarching plan (called a bible) for the first season of the show, and I learned how to write scripts. I finished the class with a plan in hand and scripts for the first three episodes. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to create a TV or web series.

автор: Alesha R A

Feb 24, 2016

I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his on compelling story teller, he give you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE!

автор: Margot R M

Jun 09, 2016

Eventually I got my head around it. It was a challenging but I was concerned about being told to 'just do it' when I had no idea what I was just to do. I think the beginning was a little confusing, and also reading others scripts when there was no background to understand where it was going.

автор: Satyapriya K

Apr 19, 2018

Amazing course. Detailed explanations foe every task. A community that reviewed and scrutinized your work. At the end of the course I have a chiseled three act pilot and season outline

автор: Leon E C

Mar 17, 2016

One of the best courses I have ever taken. When I first started this course, I began with a passion and throughout each week, it was starting to become a reality. Thank you David Wheeler.

автор: Deleted A

Sep 02, 2017

Great course

автор: Afnan L

Dec 30, 2017

This course had me write my first completed pilot episode. I enjoyed the process of being critical about my writing. I would have loved if the instructor provided some theory into the course as well. It seemed more like a workshop than an academic course. Being able to speak "expert" lingo and jargon helps in getting ahead in the industry.

автор: Nathaniel K

Feb 22, 2018

I loved this course. It walked me through Screenwriting step by step. It was almost like I was tricked into writing my first script. My only tip is don't be afraid to write something bad, finishing a crappy script is way more fun a beneficial than only starting a perfect script.

автор: Prashant K

Apr 04, 2018

This course helped me a lot. Anyone who want to start writing a script will get benefit form this course. For long I had thought of writing and developed few ideas for movie or web-series but all of those remain in my mind, I never wrote them down. This course helped me to prepare frame work for the script and break it down into Acts. There is still a lot to learn but this course gave the required impetus to begin. One area where this course need an improvement is peer-review, we get the grade but we don't get to know where to improve and what was strength of our script, giving feedback should be made compulsion in peer-review.

автор: Ricardo P

Mar 09, 2017

Inspiring, direct, practical and very well structured.

автор: Fonda J

Nov 15, 2016

This was a great course for anyone who has ever wanted to try their hand at script writing. I am brand new to script writing and I applied every lesson I learned in this course and did some research on my own to develop my pilot. You will feel accomplished once you complete this class, it is worth it!

автор: Marianne E

Mar 07, 2018

I really appreciated the open structure of this course - there's no dogma around how scripts should be written, (other than the formatting thing - and quite right too!), and I saw my peers, and my own writing grow in originality and quality as the course progressed. I think it takes a bit longer than advertised to write the actual piece, but the vidoe's had the advantage of being both astonishingly brief, and very rich in insight and knowledge. Huae thanks to my mentor Jan Zurcher, who provided extremely high-quality feedback.

автор: Rain R

Mar 03, 2018

I learned a lot. Would recommend this course as a refresher or for serious beginners!

Thanks Coursera.

автор: lisa r

Mar 29, 2016

I have found this course to be well planned out, easy to follow and very informative. I have been considering scriptwriting for some time and even bought books on how to get started but this course has been much more effective than any book. This course has given me the tools and the know-how of what is required to write a script.

I am in my last week at the moment and the confidence and skills this project-centered course has given me are immeasurable.

автор: Deleted A

Jun 20, 2017

No plans to be a script writer but now have an appreciation of those so engaged. A very demanding profession with creativity on a deadline. Not for me, but respect for those so engaged. Additionally, able to watch and appreciate the structure of content ... definitely enhanced viewing and reading .. forsooth.

автор: Teresa E

May 05, 2018

This course is very fast paced and challenging but I really loved it. It doesn't leave enough time for self doubt and really forces you to actually do some writing. I would recommend this course for first time writers but also for more experienced writers who need a deadline and a structure to get them to write and to finish something. Love the course!

автор: L. A S

Aug 06, 2016

Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series is a very challenging course. However, if you goal is to write a TV Pilot, this is

автор: Sara A F

Jul 25, 2016

I loved this course, it was eye opening for me. I've always loved writing but I've never studied it. taking this course helped me explore my writing more.

I totally recommend it to anyone!

автор: SHIVA K P V V

Sep 30, 2016

Quite exciting from the first video lesson itself. Great motivation and guidance.

автор: Liam G

Aug 06, 2016

Straight to the point. The way any writing course should be. Brilliant.

автор: Vishal S

Jun 24, 2016

Fantastic course!