Chevron Left
Вернуться к Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) от партнера Университет штата Мичиган

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 672

О курсе

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. Here is a link to a trailer for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/423035246/6b3c18c4c5 This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work. *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

Лучшие рецензии

AA

13 июня 2016 г.

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

MT

10 янв. 2017 г.

Amazing course. Without useless talking, we are immediately thrown into action, and start working immediately. This course helped me gain priceless empiric experience, and finally start writing.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 273 отзывов о курсе Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

автор: Ayomide L

15 мая 2021 г.

Excellent course. It has really brought out the script writer in me. The lecturing is simple and easy to grasp. I'm so glad I took the challenge and now I am certified. I feel so confident in my skills now. Thank you for this course!

автор: Irene G C

18 окт. 2020 г.

Thanks to this course I found out that I was capable of writing fiction and actually finishing it. :) I tried several times to write fiction before, but I never finish them. Will be pursuing the other screenwriting course. Thank you!

автор: Allei G

4 июня 2020 г.

The course gives enough time for students to finish their work. The videos are very helpful and I like that it's project-centered. Really pushed me to write and be creative! Would definitely take another course similar to this.

автор: Peter P

24 сент. 2016 г.

I enjoyed this class. It is very open and organic. Creativity is encouraged and very few restrictions and rules are imposed. I found the class to be well-taught and I looked forward to participating in every week of class.

автор: laila a

11 сент. 2019 г.

This is not a class where poetry is appreciated, it is also a continual pleasure to which one can return from time to time to enter an atmosphere of exchange, reflection and new discoveries. This course should never ends :)

автор: Latiecia P

31 мар. 2021 г.

I learnt alot from this course and I will be using the knowledge gained to create a master piece some day in the future. I would like to thank Professor David Wheeler and mentor Jan Zurcher for such an amazing experience.

автор: Mahima A

15 июля 2020 г.

Loved it! The only thing is I wasn't able to interact with my peers, but I've learnt a great deal and have ended up with a script in hand that I can now work with and hopefully put out there soon!

Thank you very much!!!

автор: arya k s

1 апр. 2018 г.

It's a very good course. If you want to write . Complete script this course will help you do it. It is very crisp and to the point. I would love to recommend this course to anyone interested in learning script writing.

автор: Dianna S

30 авг. 2021 г.

This course is useful & it really helped me make a pilot episode. I went form not knowing how to write ANYTHING in script writing format to being (somewhat) an expert on script writing. Many thanks to David Wheeler!

автор: Jose H

29 июня 2022 г.

Great course for the breakdown of storybuilding through synopses and outlines, a process that works to better inform and strengthen the narrative. Giving and receiving critiques were also helpful exercises. Kudos!

автор: Chandra B S

11 сент. 2020 г.

The assignments help a lot. This course is best for new writers. If you want to write something and want feedback, this is the course for you. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to start their writing career.

автор: Franka E E E

15 авг. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course and David Wheeler's style of explanation. The videos are really helpful. Also, the mentor - Jan Zurcher, is always there to address concerns and answer questions. Thank you !

автор: Amy A

14 июня 2016 г.

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

автор: Jeanne H F

28 сент. 2016 г.

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

автор: Maria T

10 янв. 2017 г.

Amazing course. Without useless talking, we are immediately thrown into action, and start working immediately. This course helped me gain priceless empiric experience, and finally start writing.

автор: Sofia S

24 июля 2021 г.

М​не понравилось, что материал подан без лишнего киношкольного шлака: боевой минимум информации + максимум практики. Хорошо подходит, чтобы упорядочить свои знания по сценарному мастерству.

автор: Ernest L W

17 мар. 2016 г.

One of the best courses I have ever taken. When I first started this course, I began with a passion and throughout each week, it was starting to become a reality. Thank you David Wheeler.

автор: Ellen H

2 окт. 2018 г.

This is a tough course but what makes it simple is how the instructor breaks everything down little by little. I love that I can re-watch the videos. That helps a lot. Feedback is real.

автор: Satyapriya K

19 апр. 2018 г.

Amazing course. Detailed explanations foe every task. A community that reviewed and scrutinized your work. At the end of the course I have a chiseled three act pilot and season outline

автор: Deleted A

27 дек. 2016 г.

I really enjoy screenwriting and this course has not only gave me some interesting points but also, help me develop my own tv show idea and start writing it. It's really good so far!

автор: Manuel R

23 мая 2017 г.

A perfect journey. It has been very useful and inspiring. Active learning, peer to peer evaluation, helpful tutors. This is one of the best experience in online learning I ever had.

автор: Alex V

28 апр. 2020 г.

Awesome course, I really enjoyed it and liked it. I wanna thank every moderator on this course and guys from Michigan State University and Coursera for making this course

автор: Jagriti R

13 окт. 2020 г.

I just loved the way I have learnt every small aspects of script writing in this course. Thank you Coursera, Thank you David Wheeler sir and Michigan State University.

автор: Arnab B

4 авг. 2017 г.

It was a very good course and in a small time i came to know a lot about the script writing sorry that i cannot complete the whole course due to my other commitments

автор: Afaf F

1 нояб. 2020 г.

Thank you for the amazing lesson. I got to write a wonderful script and this course opened my mind on to be more creative in writing. I will miss this course.