Chevron Left
Вернуться к Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) от партнера Университет штата Мичиган

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 672

О курсе

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. Here is a link to a trailer for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/423035246/6b3c18c4c5 This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work. *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

Лучшие рецензии

AA

13 июня 2016 г.

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

MT

10 янв. 2017 г.

Amazing course. Without useless talking, we are immediately thrown into action, and start working immediately. This course helped me gain priceless empiric experience, and finally start writing.

Фильтр по:

201–225 из 272 отзывов о курсе Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

автор: Chew W Y

3 окт. 2016 г.

Positives:-

Good practice with the exciting world of script writing

Learnt how to use the scriptwriting software Celtx.com

Some aspects of the videos were helpful and instructive e.g. teaching us how to write a cold open

Areas of improvement:-

The beginner's course is entirely graded on peer reviews where one could get a range of divergent opinions on the same story, at times scathing and not constructive. Reviewers (who are purported to be beginners themselves) also at times give seemingly 'blind' grades without sharing constructive comments.

The questions that you are graded on e.g. Do you feel immersed in the story? Is the story unique? are highly subjective and solely dependent on the reviewer's fleeting preferences. It would help if the questions were more nuanced and focused on the structure and technical aspects of script writing e.g. format, grammar, three part structure

Lessons were too short and instructional (less than 10 mins of videos for each lesson) only for certain areas; it seemed like one of the major takeaways was to keep writing which is sensible but not helpful from a beginner's point of view.

Suggestions:-

To maintain some objectivity in grading: Mask the general comments section when a reviewer is giving his comments as negative comments from other peers could influence more negativity and vice versa.

Give some guidelines on reviewing to prevent the grading process from turning into trolling.

Would appreciate more helpful lessons with deeper content!

автор: Bence B

23 сент. 2021 г.

It was a great experience to learn the fundamentals of the course. But the platform, this website is quite difficult to navigate. There are weird steps to go back and forth between weeks and assignments, not clear channel of communication among fellow peers and most importantly with our mentor. There should be a message board or at least an email address we, students can write to. There is a forum but its very messy and hard to follow. I completed this course a year and a half ago and never got my certificate because I pressed a wrong button and accidentally extended my deadlines. This should be a reversible step not something that makes you wait weeks to complete your course. I am not alone with this issue. I now returned after a year and I still don't know when and if I can get my certificate because something was still missing from my submissions but when I went through them step by step I saw all my submissions having been rated. With that said I learned a lot and I am very grateful. I can highly recommend. Hopefully the website and communication channels will be improved! :)

автор: Leo H

30 апр. 2020 г.

I think the peer reviews system is flawed some people don't put the time and effort into reading each script and just give others bad reviews for no reason. I also think people should be able to reply to comments left on their work. This will allow people to get more in depth feedback especially if the initial feedback was unclear. I think people should be put into peer review groups at the start that way people will be looking at the same stories the whole way through so they really get a feel for the characters and can give better reviews. I would have also like some more feedback from a mentor at the end of the course. But I really liked the course and really enjoyed writing the script I really like all the feedback you get along the way this was a great thing to do whilst stuck inside especially as because my GCSE'S were cancelled I had no work to do. Thanks.

автор: Yomna F

11 авг. 2020 г.

I loved the course, it had me hooked since day one. This was my first time trying screenwriting, I accidentally enrolled in the course and I decided to go for it and I have absolutely no regrets.

The videos are extremely helpful, but they can still be a bit more detailed to give complete understanding of everything. The mentor was very helpful. The course is flexible and you can submit your work more than once, with enough room for improvement.

I had trouble finding a group to work with and review their work, so maybe at the start of the course groups should be assigned according to genre for example. That way, one can review same works each week and give a review based on complete understanding of the work.

автор: Elizabeth S K

20 мар. 2018 г.

Fantastic introduction to screenwriting and generally good, exhaustive feedback from mentor Jan Zurcher at the end (especially feedback regarding scriptwriting conventions/format).

At the same time, for unsolicited feedback this was a little discouraging; especially the bit where Jan said he didn’t feel engaged, as others had said they did feel engaged. I feel at this early stage, we need constructive feedback but also an incentive to go on, a degree of validation encouraging us to nurture our strengths. I feel the rest will come with practice. In this regard, I found Jan's feedback discouraging rather than constructive.

автор: Robert O

11 апр. 2016 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. It gives you an excellent regiment and list of characteristics that would make your pilot and potential series desirable. My only real issue, which makes it 4 instead of 5 stars, is that the student feedback is somewhat limited in that not all students really understand how to give notes. Often times they are very vague ("good effort, write with move consision") not offering enough particulars to know what you should be looking to improve. But that's the inherent limitation of a course offered in this format. Not a reflection on the curriculum itself.

автор: Santoria R

23 окт. 2016 г.

The course was great in that it moves you to write. I actually completed a pilot script that I was very proud of. My only criticism of the course would be the peer review. For the most part the reviews were weak and lacking substance. I put a lot of energy into reviewing classmates works but I can't say that I got back what I put out. This may be improved with a video teaching students what kind of feedback is expected of them. Other than that, it's worth the time.

автор: Elaine W

6 апр. 2016 г.

I really enjoyed this class. I would say that it is a lot of work in a short period of time. Also there were some issues with the peer review process. For example not knowing the criteria we would be graded on before submitting the assignments, many students unable to get enough reviews to move forward especially if they had to revise their assignment. Hopefully, this will be worked out for future versions. Overall, it was an interesting process.

автор: CECILE G

7 апр. 2016 г.

Well-paced course that encourages you to write, and sets reasonable deadlines that are so important for procrastinators. Don't agree with the statements that reading scripts and watching films won't help you as a writer, as I've found doing both extremely useful in learning to analyze and write more efficiently and effectively. Enjoyed the sessions, got some good feedback, and am continuing to work on the subsequent episodes of my new series.

автор: adriene j

4 июня 2018 г.

Learned much but felt the homework was too much to do within one week. That is, an outline and act due the same week before peer review should be adjusted. Even if the course runs longer, I feel that doing an outline then getting peer review before submitting the act would be more helpful. Allows writer to better flesh out the script with more time to improve and implement the useful peer review suggestions.

автор: Deirdre B

5 окт. 2016 г.

I found this a hugely useful course. I really liked it's minimalism and found it a great writing prompt.

My only criticism was the way the feedback and critique is set up. I found it didn't encourage people to do written analysis of what they liked and didn't like. Sometimes I didn't myself because after I wrote a critique, I would loose it by pressing the submit button before the post button.

автор: Adrianna L

28 июля 2020 г.

I'm glad I took this course. It was very challenging but extremely beneficial. I think the feedback from peers is very helpful. I definitely stayed motivated throughout the course. I highly recommend this course if you want to improve your writing skills and get inspired. You get to write an entire pilot for a TV series.

автор: Adam R

26 авг. 2018 г.

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. A lot of the assignments really helped me to fully flesh out my, initially, basic idea into a much greater story. I did find one or two things that seemed to oppose my understanding of script writing 'rules', but aside from this it was a fantastic course.

автор: Angie M A S

3 апр. 2019 г.

This is a great and helpful course, but I just would like there would be some examples of what we have to do at least in the first and second week. I recommend this course for those who like to write and create new stories, and maybe in the future, make possible the real screenplay.

автор: Aasiya C

25 июля 2021 г.

I had a really pleasant experience throughout this course, I didn't get to have my own writers group but overall it was fun, the project itself was really fun, writing my own script and submitting before deadlines was kind of struggling but helped me learn a lot.

автор: Joyanne F

2 апр. 2021 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this class and feel that I've really grown as a writer. The student peer review process didn't always work for me as not all feedback was constructive. Perhaps students need some direction on how to offer really helpful feedback.

автор: Adrienne R

10 мая 2016 г.

This course is a great introduction to the art of script writing. You'll gain an understanding of basic script formatting, get in the habit of writing consistently and have the benefit of your script being reviewed by peers.

автор: Brittany N

4 апр. 2017 г.

I really loved taking this course. It forced me to sit down and write almost every day, and I really appreciate that. I've learned so much, and I love the fact that I can learn things from fellow students.

автор: Teya S

14 мар. 2017 г.

I'm ALREADY optimistic about my confidence and capabilities. I write down crazy ideas all of the time. This will not give me a framework for which I can have tons of fun and maybe get a show out there!

автор: John M

3 окт. 2016 г.

Excellent quality assignments. Really the best online writing course I've found. This is a teacher that knows what he's doing, and how to draw out the best of his students' unique ideas and talents.

автор: Kristin H

3 окт. 2019 г.

The applied projects were great, and I learned a lot from the peer review assignments. However, I would have liked to get more professional or structured feedback on my work or ideas at some point.

автор: Tim M

30 нояб. 2016 г.

Great course. Learned a great deal about script writing. Much of the peer feedback was very helpful and useful, but a small portion of the peers were did not seem to be very engaged or helpful.

автор: Ciera M

28 дек. 2016 г.

Very enjoyable course! However, I think that it would have been nice to have some more professional viewing of our work, since several of us were taking in this information for the first time.

автор: Michelle B

18 июня 2020 г.

Would like a little bit more about how to protect my intellectual rights. In addition, I would like to know how to properly create a series bible.

автор: Paula M

29 окт. 2020 г.

Great course that was well paced, in helping me gather my ideas on paper and completing a first episode for my series concept--- Thank you