Chevron Left
Вернуться к Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 198,082
Рецензии: 47,391

О курсе

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Основные моменты
High quality instructor
(рецензий: 1484)
Introductory course
(рецензий: 4203)

Лучшие рецензии

RT
25 мая 2020 г.

well i am thankful for such platform for providing and me to develop my programming skill, and also for respected sir Charles Russell Severance , the way he teaches i understand from basics of python.

TK
21 нояб. 2020 г.

This course is very useful and the way Dr. Charles Severance teaches is outstanding. It's gonna be a perfect course for those who are looking for a programming course specially designed for beginners.

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 10,000 отзывов о курсе Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

автор: Zou A

17 мая 2019 г.

I love the professor! He is so funny!

автор: Joao C Q F

30 окт. 2020 г.

This course is very interesting

автор: Dushyant P

30 авг. 2020 г.

Simple and informative content

автор: MD E A K

15 мая 2020 г.

Excellent course for beginners

автор: RAVIKUMAR I

15 мая 2020 г.

instructor is really awesome

автор: Selin A

18 сент. 2020 г.

Dr. Chuck is obviously best

автор: Pratik U

15 мая 2020 г.

Good teaching methodology

автор: Anirban M

5 июля 2020 г.

A very good course.

автор: sakshi s k

30 окт. 2020 г.

very very good

автор: Songjie G

17 мая 2019 г.

great!

автор: Pritesh P

23 сент. 2015 г.

Excellent overview of first few concepts in Programming in Python. Useful in understanding programming concepts (early early stages) for those who have never done programming and refresher for those who have, but it has been a while, I look forward to seeing how the other courses in the this series are. Only reason I didn't give a 5 star rating is because I think in addition to the given assignments there should be an extra assignment per week with practical applications. Granted not enough of the language is know yet to warrant anything really complex, but perhaps just number converter for scientific notation, or a tip calculator with code given that can make it practical to use (connect it to a website or phone application).

автор: Ishaan k

6 нояб. 2019 г.

This is a very nice start for python beginners. Professor Charles Severence's way to teaching is very good. This course will help you build a strong foundation in python. I liked the conditional sequences lecture from other lectures. The assignments and quize were so engrossing and tricky which helped me a lot. Moreover the discussion forum is a nice help for fellow students. I would recommend you to take this course. I completed this course in 2 days along with all assignments and quiz submitted. The bonus videos give a nice exposure about successful people and career. I also loved them.

автор: Harsh K M

15 мая 2020 г.

It's not as updated as python's latest version and it's sort of not possible to keep the teaching material up to date, in online courses, I was using Python 3.8.2 while learning this course and the final problem was always giving me an error telling me that " '>' not supported between instances of 'float' and 'NoneType'"

but the problem didn't show me any error on the autograder. so it's cool! and you are a very great professor, really very interesting content!

автор: Suprita D

29 июня 2020 г.

great course, some more examples can be included

автор: ADARSH T I L S

15 мая 2020 г.

This Course is really very helpful for beginners.

автор: Tao S

31 мар. 2020 г.

good course but its more basic than i expected

автор: Nikhil m

17 авг. 2018 г.

Nice course to have a clear idea of python

автор: L S

3 янв. 2020 г.

NB: I audited this course so did not get feedback on assignments. If you are a true beginner, and have no programming or computer experience whatsoever this course is for you. Dr. Severance explains the concepts VERY well using great metaphors and he's quite engaging. However, he takes an incredibly long time to do this and uses many many words and there are many mostly irrelevant videos. If you have any coding experience at all, you might find it better to download python and the free book (which is written in the same engaging style using the same conceptual metaphors) and go at your own pace. The book is really really fabulous and you don't have to listen to the lectures at 1.5 speed waiting for something useful.

автор: Chris L

4 февр. 2018 г.

Videos are rambling at points. Also, the code assignments are 1 and done per week. This means they don't nicely build upon one another and that they can be pretty unforgiving if you aren't ready to spit out the culmination of the week's lecturers in 1 go. The course would be better with more focused lecturers and multiple short code assignments that build on one another.

автор: Tushar K

21 июля 2017 г.

I feel that course should be split out for people with programming background and the first time Python programmers versus the first time programmers. There was too much repetition in some of the classes around basics of programming than python. Thanks!

автор: Daniel D

21 янв. 2019 г.

I work in lesson design and blended learning teacher training. I train teachers how to combine effective teaching practices with technology in K-8 classrooms. There is lots of room for improvement in this course. I would not recommend it to someone with no experience. I have no experience in coding, and did well in this course because I went to other sources to answer my questions and fill the knowledge gaps in this course. Though the instructor was great. He seems very passionate.

From a teaching/pedagogy standpoint the scope and sequence was poor. It went from extremely broad (defining computer parts) to hyper specific (defining variables in python) really quick. There was no information between on the practical pieces of what python is, what it looks like on our computer, and how we interact with it.

It feels like multiple people got together to build the course, but after it was finished they never came back to say “Here’s where we didn’t communicate, let’s edit these things.”

There is a HUGE disconnect between writing python programs and running them vs. running the actual python platform and typing commands line by line. The most frustrating thing was that every example in the course was given as a line of code in the python platform with the chevron prompt, and every single assignment was about writing a program in the text editor and the running the program. I didn’t realize these were two completely different things until about week 6. PLEASE ADDRESS THIS. Make it clear for future students that this is a thing. Go over how to use both, and the benefits and drawbacks of each. Make it clear that your examples are taking place in the command line python platform, but our homework is writing programs and saving and running them. I didn’t understand the use of the ‘type’ function until I realized this discrepancy. This was so confusing.

Some of the quiz questions were very specific questions that were mentioned for about a second or never explicitly made clear. Some of the ideas that were emphasized or mentioned multiple times in the same lecture video (seemed important) were never asked on the quiz. I can give examples of both.

I learned some stuff, but overall I would not recommend this course without pointing to the discrepancies. I would say there are multiple obvious areas for improvement and multiple gaps in knowledge that I filled from other sources. I could give more specific examples, but I feel like I already wrote quite a bit.

автор: Josephine W

7 сент. 2020 г.

The teacher is likeable and the introductory videos really hooked me on the course. However, as a complete beginner, I was very put off by the way that the graded assignments had very little link to the content 'taught' in lectures. In fact, the lectures seem to ramble from one thing to another rather than having the teacher sit down and give step-by-step examples on how to code. Therefore, most of what I learnt was through the textbook that is provided for free anyway, so I may as well have taught a lot of it to myself. After the first few lectures, I stopped feeling as though I was being treated as a beginner, even though this is supposed to be 'Programming for Everybody'. Honestly, a bit of a let down.

автор: Lee D

27 мар. 2017 г.

This course is a first time programming class using Python. This is not what I was looking for. I wanted an introduction to Python for someone who knows a some programming already. Also, this teaches Python 2, which no longer cuts it, especially for an intro class where you'll be taking further work. It may have made sense when this class was done 3 years ago. It does not now.

The teacher was very lively and engaging, and I would enthusiastically recommend taking an online class with him, but the class is out of date and not what I was looking for.

автор: arun k

14 дек. 2019 г.

This course is absolutely pathetic. The instructor is condescending and there is very little that you can learn from this course. The course is structured poorly. Short videos that have very little connection with the actual course material are thrown around the course structure. There is no continuity because of these videos. This is definitely not good quality material on python for beginners. Do not be deceived by the high rating of the course. You will be disappointed.

автор: Mark L

4 июня 2020 г.

Very brief and inadequate for a $50 investment.

I am very disappointed that the course was, surprisingly and unexpectedly cut off in the middle of the already too short beginning course. Even more cash required to continue.

Compared to online free resources available, definitely not worth the investment. I wish I had my money back to put to better use.

I am surprised even further by all the online positive reviews that encouraged me to start with Coursera.

Mark London