Chevron Left
Вернуться к Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 82,022
Рецензии: 20,104

О курсе

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Основные моменты
High quality instructor
(рецензий: 1484)
Introductory course
(рецензий: 4203)

Лучшие рецензии

DJ

Oct 20, 2017

Dr. Chuck has a special ability to teach programming to people who doesn't necessarily have programming background. This is rare among programming teachers, and shows that he is an excellent educator.

RD

Jun 23, 2016

Extremely basic but Dr. Chuck is so interesting that you never get bored. You can pass the course in a few days with minimum or even no programming knowledge. It's a good starting point for beginners.

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 10,000 отзывов о курсе Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

автор: Dr S K

Nov 22, 2018

Dr Severance is a gifted teacher. I enjoy all the videos and educational resources very much. I have rarely come across such a charismatic lecturer and mentor and I have over 18 degrees and have studied extensively in many UK and US universitties including Harvard. Dr Severance is indeed the best teacher I have had so far. I am looking forward to the rest of the online classes. Every day after a hard day's work, I enjoy watching the videos and doing the programming tasks. These are excellent classes, very thorough explanations, and to the point. Well done to all the team at the University of Michigan, but especially to Dr Severance.

автор: Rajatha S

Sep 09, 2019

I really loved the way this course is organized. All the topics are explained sequentially and none of the basic topic is skipped. Most of the video lectures had programming explanations which helped me to understand better. Although the course covers most important and initial topics, i suggest to have more advanced topics and complex assignments. It is advised to have the code samples and psuedo codes attached in the content so that we can take the reference of it when needed. Overall i would say this course is well suited for beginners in Python and also who are novice in programming. Looking forward to learn more from Coursera.

автор: Marek O

Jun 02, 2017

Before that course I tried to learn python on youtube and on another site that provide learning online platroform, but they leave me with many, many questions unanswered.

This course answered them all. (i.e. What is the difference between "=" and "==", and why is it so important? or Do I have to use "space" and "tab" on keyboard? or What is the difference between try/except and if/else, isn't it the same?, Why "elif", huh? and many, many, many more. )

The best programming introduction I can imagine. Dr Chuck and his lectures are great, especially when explaining differences between human thinking and computer thinking.

Thank You!

автор: Argunova E

Sep 15, 2019

Это мой первый онлайн курс в жизни, рада что взяла этот курс на Курсере. Спасибо за этот курс. Отличный преподаватель, прекрасное объяснение, интересные задания. В этом курсе вся информация идет в нужной последовательность, поэтому я не разу не запуталась и отлично усвоила материал. Хотя мой английский язык среднего уровня, мне удалось все понять и выполнить)

This curs is first online curs for me. I'm very glad that I take it. Thanks for curs. Teacher is fine, perfectly reasoning, interesting assignment. All information go in rite sequence, I don't wander. Althougth my english is not very well, I may understend and execute.

автор: Vivian L

Apr 03, 2020

I felt the way Dr. Chuck structured his teaching videos allowed me to keep focus and not get bored. Dr. Chuck explained the concepts very well! I'm really glad I took this course! I felt doing the assignments really cemented the concepts. The video interviews with the experts were really interesting to watch and how Python grew over the years. The quizzes were not hard. I had taken a C++ course 20 years ago and was not so great at it, now I feel I more confident in programming. It's all very interesting as I can use what I learned in my work place. I've told my coworkers to take this course, definitely worth it.

автор: jiarong s

Nov 10, 2017

Love the way Professor is teaching. I am a beginner in programming, so basically I know nothing in this field. But the way professor explains things and the way he introduces programming and python just makes me even more interested in programming. Now, after finishing week 1 material, I am so excited to continue learning this stuff. I was very nervous and stressed about learning programming, but professor just makes me much more relaxed and confident to learn. Thank you so much! I am so grateful that I find this course! This is the perfect start for me. I appreciate all the efforts and time you have put in this class.

автор: varunendra m

Sep 08, 2017

It was a very nice course, Dr chuck Engages you in class very well.I am not from CS background I was an Aircraft mechanic but still i will say : This course teaches you not only very basics of Python But you will know many other programming stuffs as well, Say it as good practices of programming .I completed this course from Coursera And l was planing go to the site py4e.com to get a advanced knowledge of python.But I found other related courses as well so I will stick back to CourseraOnce again Thanks Dr. Chuck,Its hard for me to pay now for the whole Specialization Yee I will love to get a free certificate ;-)

автор: Adam B

Jun 23, 2018

Great introductory course. Walks you through installing the software and using it, or you can use their browser based Python Playground if you don't want to deal with that.It's very basic. You won't be able to do much after this course, but you will have a good foundation and want to learn more.Time requirement is reasonable. I completed it in about 20 hours across two weeks, and that included getting Python set up on a PC and a Mac and learning how to Git and Github so I could keep my files updated across both of them.Definitely do use the recommended atom.io text editor. It's great, especially if you use Git.

автор: Ivan S

Apr 26, 2018

It's really wonderful course! This course gives a good start in Python. I really recomend you to take it. I enjoyed it, it wasn't boring. Dr. Chuck did a great job and I really thankful for this. I recommend it to people who don't know how to start with programming. The way it was explained it's really easy to understanding. Even if your English not really good (like mine), you can try it. Once you completed this course, you will have an eager to complete a specialization. Anyway you shouldn't stop only on fundamentals of programming but keep going to make something more complex and interesting. Thanks a lot!

автор: Shichun Z (

Jul 18, 2018

I like the way Dr. Severance teaches programming. His teaching is straight forward and very mistake free when you apply what he teaches as he's already talked about the possible mistakes the learners may make. I was a software engineer 15 years ago, and now I would like to learn some new skills and this is the first official time I am back to the programming world. I am very grateful that the first course I started was Dr. Severance's class. Thanks to Coursera as well for putting such quality courses online. I plan to finish the 5-course python specialization and this first course boosts my confidence!

автор: Regina C

Jan 17, 2019

If you are a complete noob, this is the place to start. The course is very informative about the basics of Python that is put in a highly simplified manner. The instructor is entertaining and pleasant to listen to.

I wish there were more graded projects than what is required. The projects are brain teasers, can be tough until you have the "aha moment". Don't expect to ever be given the answer. You must figure it out on your own.

I do not like Coursera's video player, it does not have good controls. There is some clunkiness to the GUI, but overall a good experience. Will continue throughout the courses.

автор: Eoghan D

Jul 03, 2018

Having had little to no experience in coding (only a brief two week module using python in my second year of university) and online courses in general, I am so happy that I decided to sign up for this course. Charles Severance is a fantastic lecturer who does an excellent job of helping students to actually understand and apply the thought processes behind coding rather than simply memorising what others have done. The course is perfect for beginners with a slow pace that gives people time to digest what they have learned. I am now looking forward to taking part in more courses in this specialisation.

автор: Jose R

Dec 22, 2017

I took this course to learn the basics of python for my own personal use, and to develop these skills into data and file manipulation for future career use. I had a little HTML (like, very very little) experience and Visual Basic (.net) experience before taking this course. Having prior coding experience before, this course was very easy for my to get through. However, I am confident that even a non-techsavvy, no prior experience student would have no trouble getting through this course do to how well it was structured. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking into getting started with python.

автор: Meenakshi P

Jan 08, 2018

Excellent course, well taught. I don't have a computing background.

Weeks 1-4 felt easy, Week 5 I had to focus, and weeks 6&7 I was pausing a lot and trying to digest the material.

Next time this course is run it may be helpful to spread this material across 8 weeks, so that material in weeks 6 and 7 can be done over 3 weeks. instead of 2 weeks.

I would also like to see more exercises (even if not graded) in weeks 5 to 7. E.g. to try out the various new lessons/functions. Although, on relflection, there was nothing stopping a student trying this out in Atom or in the PY4E playground!

Many thanks.

автор: Lemboye A

Jun 01, 2019

Upon taking this course, I had zero knowledge of Python, Programming. I always wanted to learn but it always seemed complex.

Up stepped, Python for Everybody by the charismatic Dr Chuck Severance. It was different. The course is both easy to understand and very detailed. It is also quite compelling, meaning for someone like me with a relatively weak self-discipline, I did not have to conjure up this "amazing" will power to complete this course, it automatically drew me in like a magnet.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to any one looking to begin his journey in Python and Programming.

автор: Arslan A

Feb 01, 2019

Although the course 1 is just a beginner's start to the python programming language, but the way it is created will definitely inspire many students to start python programming language seriously and professionally. The worldwide office hours, meetings with other tech person and new technologies introduction etc all are created in a way that nobody can feel alone while taking this course and Its just the start, the other 4 courses in python specialization are must to enroll for professional start. Thank you Coursera, University of Michigan, HEC and Sir Charles Severance for such a amazing course.

автор: Khanh P T

Feb 26, 2016

Having struggled with Python for more than a year and tried different learning materials, I am so happy with the newbie-friendly teaching approach presented in this course. The first few lectures are very helpful as they demystify the conceptual challenges surrounding Python, programming and computers in general--effectively breaking down the psychological barrier common in many students new to programming. I like the textbook and the bonus videos very much, as they offer contextual information about Python and how people are using programming in the real world. I am a big fan of the professor!

автор: Jeffrey A

Jan 24, 2017

This was my first course to do with any type of computer programming I took. I had been interested in the past to learn python, learned some basic stuff but nothing like this. I know how a base understanding of what Python can do. The professor, Dr. Chuck was humorous which made the class fun, his lectures were on point and didn't give you too much information. The only negative, is I found myself getting stuck at assignments and having to look for help elsewhere to complete my programs. I hope with the more I continue to learn, I will be able to finish the assignments with my own knowledge.

автор: Berkeley B

Jan 07, 2016

I really enjoyed my time with this online experience. Though I managed to get thru most of the course without having to post a question, I did realize in the end how easy and responsive the course TA's are in follow up. And there is also the community of other students whom I was able to learn from in seeing their questions and answer sessions. You have no idea how important it was for me to be able to review the material in snippets in my day and then review it again and again so that I could comprehend the nuances of the lessons. Amazing, I wish I had this when I was in my undergrad days.

автор: Kumar A

Mar 17, 2020

The course was awesome, well-furnishing and compatible even for those who are are not aware of programming techniques though. In my opinion, if someone is going to start a journey over python then I'll recommend him/her to kindly pursue this course at least as a start, and I know they will love the respected instructor and his course content and his unique way of imparting knowledge as well.

The only thing I missed here was, they should add a bit more content, adding up some more concepts to the course so as to match-up with the necessities of a well-contented beginner level course on python.

автор: Fuze

Feb 20, 2020

Although this is not the first online course that i have ever taken, this must be the most interesting and the most progressive online course for me. I will move on to the subsequent courses. After taking this course, you will absolutely master how to install Python3, how to write .py files and how to run them. Furthermore, you will learn the mechanism of conditional statements, while loops, for loops, functions, etc. It may be a little confusing when you first started this course, but after countinuous learning, you will be interested and immerse yourself in it. This course is worth taking.

автор: Konstantinos N

Dec 24, 2016

Took the course as a first step in dealing with big data science.

The structure of the course is at all times comprehensible and it has a rather smooth narrative.

The course book is easy to understand, though at times it feels like it skips some steps.

The strongest point of the course is the instructor himself. Having thorough knowledge of the subject at hand, teaches in a funny and at the same time really productive manner. In short he teaches as an educator should teach.

To sum up, really good MOOC programme, gets you ahead in a few weeks time. Will definitely enroll for the second one.

автор: Tianran Y

Sep 03, 2016

Very well done course. It's very slow, so if you're looking for something akin to a full time college course, I would take this at either double or triple the pace the course recommends. It's geared towards people who have never developed or really looked at code at all, so if you have, you'll be ahead of the pack. Overall, I enjoyed the course a lot. It definitely covered things from many angles and went through things slow enough for me me to process everything. That said, I was also able to increase the speed of the videos and complete a few weeks in one when I had the time. Fun class

автор: Jeel P

Mar 07, 2020

The best thing about this course is the Instructor and the video quality, its easy pace, its content which goes from the following path ---> very very easy - very easy - little easy - easy - little intermediate, and it goes on... I mean that the instructor is very much student-friendly, not that kind of instructor that just come to the lecture-gets the beginner and intermediate topics mixed up, starts mugging up what he has to teach and just fades away with a piece of paper without any value in our hands(course certificate). Don't just read reviews get your a** off and start working.

автор: Scott F

Jul 10, 2016

This is a great class for someone who has no experience with Python at all. Dr. Chuck does an excellent job helping you understand the core concepts in a manner that is easy to learn. The lectures are interesting, easy to follow, and full of great material. The quizzes are simple enough but you do have to pay attention in order to get them correct. The assignments were a lot of fun and made you think of how best to incorporate everything you learned. This was a better experience than I have had in other courses I have been through. I am definitely taking the next class from Dr. Chuck!