Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 10,827
Рецензии: 3,092

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 3,073 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: Tran T K

Dec 06, 2019

Thank you, Doctor Maya, for this course. Every lesson is valuable and easy to practice. Everyone should join this course for better eating habits.

автор: Neil C

Dec 08, 2019

Very helpful and easy to understand.

автор: Alexander W

Dec 06, 2019

A bit short, didn't give me the feeling of accomplishment I wanted! Plenty more to add about Water. How and why it makes you feel hungrier being dehydrated or fills you up when you "feel" hungry. Some info on why "athletes" eat/ need more protein and maybe some info on how people work out their calories. i.e. Fat 1-2g per KF or Lean body mass. Protein about 1.4-.18g * bodyweight(in kgs). Then carbs fill up the remaining subtracted by your Metabolic rate + exercise/

автор: Lucy S

May 12, 2019

Very biased view on nutrition, and not in line with latest research on sugar danger.

автор: Sergey V

Jul 31, 2016

this is the most beautiful thing i have ever experienced about food and health

Before this introductory course i had almost total dislike to the theme because of the incredibly high percent of low-quality sources - both human and media - both in informational (logical) and emotional (presentational) parts.

Some highlights:

0: It is a Scientific approach

1. It considers sustainable goals

2. It considers transitions to the goals - very important part which is often omitted

3. It is does not confront with other models (like vegetarian) - this is the first sign of science (but not otherwise: a lot of people have this way of thinking: "science - corporations - just for money - bad for health" - it is obviously logically incorrect way of thinking but wide-spread)

4. It suggest improvements for any income

5. It considers emotional aspects of the solution (this disproves another wide-spread logical error in the area: "science in food - just nutrients - no emotions". For those who is trying to do the critical thinking this error is obvious as well - science is about objective knowledge about the real world - and there is enormous science knowledge about areas which study emotions, in this course the knowledge is gracefully used to transfer the information and construct sustainable goals and transitions).

6. To have a bit of emotions in the last point: it is a very harmonious base knowledge about food and health.

автор: Meharaj

May 31, 2017

Videos were simple,interesting and easy to follow and I finished it one day:). I appreciate Michael and Maya for including Indian food and Islamic view on diet .

I am a Muslim and born in south India. Based on that I would like to comment on few things;- Quran mentions that eat and drink( any healthy drink except alcohol) but do not transgress; It is more explained in Hadeeth, teachings of prophet Muhammed, peace be upon him that for a man a few morsels are sufficient; if he is still hungry let him fill his stomach with 1/3 food, 1/3 water and 1/3 air. It's a pity that in all developed countries we eat food for fun and pleasure.

In South India, Idli is made by soaking rice, black gram(urad dal or uzhunthu) , fenugreek seeds for a few hours, grinding it with salt, fermenting it overnight and steam boiling it the next day. It's balanced with any fresh ground chutney or sambhar(lentil soup) or Idli podi(lentil powder). What Maya showed is called pittu another south Indian dish. In easy blend pancake recipe, baking mix is typed as backing mix. In islamic culture, the theme is 'we are based on what we eat'.That's why it has more guidelines on what we eat and how much we eat and how eat. Unfortunately, we, muslims ignored that guidelines. In India, they are adopting western foods :(

Thanks! Looking forward to see more research on the way eat !

автор: Morgan R

Nov 25, 2019

My mother was obsessed with the Keto diet (don't tell her I said that). It put her in a three-day coma, and we nearly lost her. I remember her following several different fads when I was growing up, and honestly, as a working mom, I fell into the same processed trap that she had fallen into when she was a working mom to four kids and a full-time student.

I work for the Ozark Foothills Literacy Project, a tiny nonprofit that teaches adults basic skills. I have recommended this course to my students, because I didn't feel I was qualified to teach nutrition (I'm overweight). I also struggle with insulin resistance due to PCOS and Dysautonomia. I am working on correcting my bad habits and modeling good ones for my daughter. I don't ever want her to struggle the way that I have. She's two. Where most kids would throw a fit for a toy when their mom is at the market, she throws tantrums for mandarin oranges. #ParentWin

Thank you for providing this course for free. I've introduced you to an entire Juvenile Detention Center, and they are ecstatic.

автор: Jenny R

Jul 09, 2017

This is an excellent introductory course on food and health. I learned quite a bit about nutrients that I didn't know and was reminded of things that had learnt in the past and forgotten. It was an excellent companion to a lifestyle transformation I'm trying to do. It's nice having a reminder each week (by going through the course material) of why you are doing what you are doing (healthy food choices) and what you can improve. The course was not very time consuming and just easy to understand and follow. It's perfect, if you have a busy schedule and can't devote too much time on an online course. I'm now looking forward to further improving my knowledge on nutrition by attending another course on a similar topic. Perhaps another course that delves more into behaviour science and healthy eating would be a great next step after this course. Or a nutrition specialisation... Just putting it out there...

автор: Xin S

Sep 05, 2017

I really appreciate this course! It took me about a month to finish it and I have learned. As a Chinese, I am not really a big fan of North American's fast food and diet, but now I am living in Canada, and the eating culture does affect my life style. I do notice that usually how little vegetables in a Canadian's meal after staying here for a few years. Thanks for this course that I have a clue that how bad fast foods are, the importance of plant-based food and the negative impact of unbalanced food structure to one's life. I hope more and more people can realize the truth of processed food. The most that I have learned from this course is the golden rule: 1/2 plant-based food, 1/4 protein and 1/4 rice or noodle. I have tried it for probably two weeks and it works for me. I have lost some weights and feeling better:) I have also learned how to cook some great dishes! Thanks Maya.

автор: Meagan P M

Aug 15, 2018

A good introduction to food and nutrition that is readily digestible for anyone. Some historical background without going into potential food industry conspiracies (marketing strategies aren't conspiracy, they are fact) is lightly covered to provide context for the Western diet and food experiences. The tone of the course does not demonize food choices and stays on point to promote eating more whole foods and eating in moderation in general. The basic science behind how humans process food into energy is covered well with simple diagrams and does a good job of using both scientific words as well as layman's terms together to make the information more easily understood. Overall, the course promotes taking an active role in the food we eat in order to support our health.

автор: Nikita K

Sep 23, 2018

This course isn't that much of a "course" where you need to study and work a lot, but more of an interactive guide to how we can improve our day-to-day approach to eating and preparing food. For me, many of the things outlined during the course were eye-opening. I've already started applying some of the ideas in real life e.g. substituting processed foods with the natural equivalents, started cooking at home more often. I really loved how the concepts were described in this course - in a comprehensible and actionable way. I will now try to dig deeper some of the topics like nutrients, calories consumption to balance my diet considering that I'm also doing sports. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants treat eating consciously and not as some routine stuff.

автор: Jon M C

Feb 14, 2016

Extremely well produced. I would have liked a little more bit information but for a Free Intro class it's well worth it. Being a food professional in the industry over 20 years the challenge is getting others to change their eating habits. Stopping the super sized highly processed food consumed here in America is difficult when many of the people think that is their only choice and for some of the poorest it is. But all of us can and should pass this message on to others.

On a side note, lose the animation of the overweight guy with the flannel shirt and the cutoff sleeves. You've just alienated a demographic you would like to see change in. Kind of elitist in my opinion. Not that I own any flannel shirts :)

Thank you for a great course!

Jon M. Costedoat

Los Gatos, CA

автор: Will Z

Jun 08, 2016

Excellent course loved the info and the way it was presented. Quick to the point and on par. I wouldn't mind seeing a little more info on seafood and fish in general I've read a few studies and as far as i can tell at this point in the game we've poisoned our oceans tremendously and theres been scientific studies that have found large quantities of highly toxic chemicals in the fish's blood and meat. so thats about the only thing id like to see is going a little deeper into the actual health risks associated with the damage humans have caused to the food we eat from the oceans to GMO's. These seem like hot topics in todays day and age. But like i said i really enjoyed the course and look forward to taking additional courses on nutrition and food prep.

автор: Xuan L

Jun 08, 2019

There are plenty of important and useful information of food and health. By studying this course, I have learned the value of food, how to choose the right food and how to enjoy the real food. Such are truly helpful for me to spend my food budget wisely on food that will both support my good health and enjoyment. The examples raised in the courses are very vivid and easily understood. The explanations are friendly and easy to grasp. I can't agree more with the propose and solution inside this course: make time to cook at home and maximize the value of food. I've started to take time to cook at home and even track my homemade food by using online food blog since last month. Food is essential and I sincerely recommend this course to everyone.

автор: Sarai S T

Feb 02, 2020

This course is very useful because brings good and interesting information in a simple way, so, you can learn and remember the tips easily. In a short period of time, you have meaningful information that you can use in your daily live to improve your habits and the habits of people around you. I think that if you apply this knowledge your health will improve for sure. Este curso es muy útil porque te brinda información buena e interesante, así que, puedes aprender y recordar los consejos fácilmente. En un corto periodo de tiempo, tienes información significativa que puedes usar en tu vida diaria para mejorar tus hábitos y los hábitos de las persona que te rodean. Creo que si aplicas este conocimiento tu salud mejorará con seguridad.

автор: Kevin C

May 16, 2016

This course is extremely well made! I am enjoying it very much! I'm personally using it for a review of nutritional principles and basics and this course is FILLED with wonderfully clear and visually captivating video lectures cut into shorter 4-5 minute lectures! This course is probably meant to be taken over a months time, but It's SO Captivating that I can't get enough and be through it in a few days at most! Thank you for putting this course online for everyone to take, learn and enjoy! I'm going to recommend it to my whole online nutrition course at my university for an excellent review of basic and key nutritional concepts! It will certainly leave a lasting impression on my further nutritional studies.

автор: Laurence D

Dec 29, 2016

Amazing course. I learnt everything I wanted (and needed) to know about the basics of good nutrition. I loved how the course doesn't just give you general information but also practical tips to shop, cook and eat better. I feel that I gained knowledge but also the ability to apply this knowledge in my everyday life, which is very empowering. As a social scientist, I appreciated the effort put in addressing socioeconomic factors affecting people's diet. To me, the course was complete and thorough its its objectives, and the great quality videos were very enjoyable to watch. I could tell that there was a team of professionals who put their passion and skills behind each one of them.

автор: Khrystyna V

Jul 05, 2018

I have studied nutrition and dieting for a long time and had quite a deep knowledge as for a normal person only taking care of my own health. However, there still were some gaps which I could not understand despite all my researching. This course structured all my knowledge and clarified all things that I could not understand. It is so clear and so influential, that I even started to translate it into Ukrainian and Turkish, both of which are my mother tongues, to make it accessible for more people. I am going to convince all of my relatives and friend to take the course because it is crucial for happy and healthy living. I want to thank everyone involved in creating this course!

автор: Ndeye F N

Jul 30, 2019

Unfortunately, I had a failing grade in Sport and to catch up and get my credits, my schools registered me to this "class". At first I was septic about it because i wasn't interested but when I really started reading the materials, I really learned a lot. Life changing information, I tend to really eat until i am full and mostly with processed food, by now i will eat until i'm not feeling hungry anymore and with natural fresh foods.

Now I know how to be healthy by doing shopping and .i am someone who hates to cook and just order food, with the videos, my mind has changed, I will try to cook by myself at home so that i can control what i am eating and be healthier.

Thank you

автор: Valeria F

Jun 03, 2018

It was really nice listening to Mrs. Adam ! I really enjoyed your course, even if, for me, since I am Italian, I already enjoy cooking and eating healthy food. I just want to try to loose some weight, that's why I started and completed the course. I really liked the videos, they look really professional. I am just sad about so many people in the world who cannot afford nice and healthy food, like 13 millions of Americans live in so-called "food desert" with no fresh food at all. I hope that more whealthy people will become aware of good nutrition and so can choose wisely what and how and when to eat and more poor people that can afford the healthy food. Thank you so much!

автор: Sushant K

Feb 14, 2020

A great course for building foundations of food and health. I've been obsessed around diet for the last couple of years and have been to numerous dieticians. After a lot of research, I decided to learn the basics of food & nutrition so as to better work out my diet. This course has been phenomenal in helping me understand the basics. The content delivery is very good and the course is very engaging.

I would recommend everyone who wants to make the most of their life to follow a healthy diet. It allows you to live up to your true potential. This course will help you understand the basics and should be done by anyone who wants to follow a healthy sustainable lifestyle.

автор: Marlene J K

Feb 01, 2016

I signed up for this course because of health issues - my triglyceride level was a bit to high on my last blood analysis. Even though I felt, and still feel, that this course is more specifically aimed at people who are inexperienced in the kitchen and maybe even overweight, it has helped me and my family improve some of the aspects of our lives that could still be improved. Furthermore, i think this is a course that everyone should take for themselves and especially for their families, since the person who cooks is the one influencing everyone's diet and therefore their health.

Maya, thank you so much for sharing your wisdom (and your recipes) with us!

автор: Jenelle H

Dec 31, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. Dr. Adam was very informative. The illustrations were very helpful in helping to support the information that was given. I am an RN, and wanted supplemental information on nutrition for my own personal purposes-overall health. The only thing that I might add, is during the "Reading Nutrition Labels" section, is to perhaps provide more information on how much of each area is recommended. For example, if a food contains X amount of Calories, Y amount of Carbohydrates, and M of Fat, this is/is not a good choice for you to eat. Otherwise, wonderful course. I'm glad that I took it! I gained new knowledge that I can now use.

автор: 张晓航

Jun 19, 2017

Version:1.0 StartHTML:0000000105 EndHTML:0000001189 StartFragment:0000000595 EndFragment:0000001143

This course is not all about nutriology or simply introducing any knowledge as I expected in the first place. In fact, it changes my opinions towards healthy diet. After taking the course, I know which food to choose for health purpose and avoid those heavily processed foods that could lead to obesity. And the most important thing is that I become more positive towards everyday meals. I don't feel boring during the whole process of preparing food anymore even it is only for myself and begin to enjoy the pleasure that food brings to me.

автор: Rafaela P d A

Aug 24, 2017

Even that I haven't paid for it and that I won't have any certificate showing that I took this course, I would spraid the knowledge that I've learnt. Everything that I listen to in this course has made an impact on me and I would like to share with eveyone I know all the tips and advices about healthy food. I got now a different point of view about food. Food isn't just a thing that we eat in order to get energy, it is a delightful way of enjoying life. I'm looking forward to cook one of the Maya's recipes. Finally, I just want to thank the Stanford Univertisty and Course for letting me takes this course from my own house, in Spain.