Chevron Left
Вернуться к Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I) от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 925

О курсе

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Лучшие рецензии

JL

29 июля 2018 г.

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

SH

6 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics. They put a lot of heart and thought into the design of the course. I will continue to use the concepts I've learned in and out of bioinformatics.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 225 отзывов о курсе Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I)

автор: Naveen P

18 июня 2016 г.

Very well structured and informative. Got a good understanding of motifs finding and its related algorithms

автор: Michał G

29 дек. 2021 г.

Great course, but make sure you have some basic programing skills. They aren't obligatory, but very useful

автор: Samuel C

29 июня 2018 г.

A great introduction to this topic. I really felt I came away from this course with some useful skills.

автор: Víctor G J

15 июня 2017 г.

I've had lots of fun and I've learnt some of the foundations of Bioinformatics. I couldn't expect more.

автор: Alex M

14 июня 2016 г.

The interactive lessons are excellent! Especially with the optional break-out lessons to dive deeper.

автор: Olaf W

2 окт. 2018 г.

Great content, very well structured. Loved the interactive text with the graded coding exercises.

автор: Brian A

18 февр. 2017 г.

Doing the Honors track. It's hard, but extremely rewarding! Thanks for making an awesome course.

автор: Julian A S

15 окт. 2018 г.

Clear and well-formatted. No instructional support in the forums was disappointing, though.

автор: Jacobson O

28 мая 2020 г.

I wish I could give it a 6-star. Awesome content; generous problem sets; worth the money.

автор: Mohamed E

8 июля 2017 г.

An excellent Course, The course left me more enthusiastic about Bio-informatics , Thanks

автор: Yichi S

5 мар. 2018 г.

Very nice introductory course. Well designed and very interactive. I really love it.

автор: Hugo E C A

12 сент. 2019 г.

One great course, however there is not a lot of people to qualify your assignments

автор: John K F E

19 июля 2019 г.

Great introduction to Python and Algorithms and its application to Bioinformatics

автор: Alina F

6 июня 2016 г.

After completing only one Week I am absolutely sure that this course is amazing!

автор: Jeff L

10 окт. 2020 г.

great course. particularly the coding part is challenging, but i learned a lot.

автор: Swaprakash Y

7 июня 2020 г.

An amazing course to apply computer skills to a biomedical engineering stream!

автор: Liang Y

13 мая 2019 г.

I can learn a lot from the simple samples but I think I still have a long way.

автор: Jussi R

18 сент. 2017 г.

Cool stuff, I didn't even realize how close we are computational linguistics.

автор: Adrien L

26 июня 2016 г.

Excellent teachers, excellent assignments. My favorite MOOC so far, congrats!

автор: Fabio J F

17 февр. 2019 г.

Some activities were unnecessary but coding up the algorithms was a treat :)

автор: Sri M K

4 дек. 2016 г.

This course has been a lot of fun. However, I would like to experience more!

автор: Zack X

21 июля 2019 г.

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

автор: Tom v D

14 мая 2021 г.

Great course! Very interesting material, which is very clearly explained.

автор: Mohamed

22 июля 2020 г.

great course really oned my eye on the programming part of bioinformatics

автор: Aremu T V

30 мая 2022 г.

​please i'm done with this course. What is delaying my certificate?