Chevron Left
Вернуться к Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I) от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 925

О курсе

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Лучшие рецензии

JL

29 июля 2018 г.

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

SH

6 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics. They put a lot of heart and thought into the design of the course. I will continue to use the concepts I've learned in and out of bioinformatics.

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 225 отзывов о курсе Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I)

автор: ARUNESH N

8 июня 2020 г.

The programming assignments could have been described more appropriately otherwise the course material was quite great.

автор: Juana S L

22 апр. 2018 г.

I couldn't finish successfully last question but I don't know why. I believe I understand the meaning of the question

автор: Cagdas U

4 янв. 2019 г.

The answers are stale. MEME tool results don't match what they expect. It takes a while to find students to review.

автор: Hariz S

4 июля 2021 г.

Please do Biology meet Programmer before doing this course. A bit leap even for biologist with some coding skill

автор: Kenny S

11 апр. 2021 г.

the course is great, extermely informative and educational, just takes a lot of time to grok all the information

автор: Максим

6 мар. 2017 г.

Есть недоработки, но вместе с комментариями других учащихся, можно разобраться в сути заданий

автор: Amruth B

3 мая 2021 г.

Good course! However, some parts of the honors track were too challenging for a biologist.

автор: Nghia L

15 авг. 2020 г.

Some parts are written in a way that is very hard to understand, but overall good course

автор: Barby S

19 янв. 2022 г.

NOT FOR BEGGINNERS!!!

Excellent material and teachers. I can't follow them

автор: TeriLynn S

9 июля 2018 г.

The two platform format is quite complex. But the material is excellent!

автор: Jack C

5 янв. 2020 г.

The course was very informative, but at points it was very confusing.

автор: Aditya B

5 авг. 2016 г.

Very well explained for both biologists and computer scientists.

автор: 정문필

7 мая 2020 г.

Best lecture to dive into Bioinformatics first time!

автор: Iqra A

3 авг. 2020 г.

Not made for a biologist but for a programming man.

автор: Shiv H

28 сент. 2018 г.

Good Course but at times difficult to understand.

автор: Nikhil Y

19 апр. 2020 г.

it was an amazing course!!

автор: Meng Z

4 мар. 2019 г.

The course is great!

автор: Shiyamaladevi R S 2

4 нояб. 2021 г.

.

автор: Todd T

9 нояб. 2017 г.

E

автор: Alejandro M H

25 апр. 2022 г.

I liked this course more years ago, when I agreed without the possibility of having a certificate. Today I register it to have the certificate and I am surprised how much it has changed. Many videos were removed and you practically depend on reading the material on Stepik. Perhaps the biggest problem is the lack of clarity of the pseudocodes and the disaster of having to wait for someone to review your assignment to complete the course. It is unbelievable that in 2022 that will be a limitation to obtain the certificate.

автор: Evgeny T

9 февр. 2017 г.

To be completely honest, I was expecting more from this course. One big setback is that the course material does not really go into biochemical fundamentals of what is going on, and instead jumps straight into algorithms. This might work for someone with enough background in biology who needs to learn to code. I, on the other side, have already had some exposure to software development and algorithms, but when Pavel mentions gene expression and transcription I have a very vague idea what he is talking about.

автор: Zhuoxi Y

3 мая 2021 г.

The difficulty of this course is not at all beginners from a biologist's perspective. The difficulty of this course increases drastically from week 1 to week 2. I kindly suggest that the course coordinator to review the content as some students have pointed out that there are certain errors here and there in the stepik tool's content. Another point is that certain terminology presented in stepik are quite poorly explained.

автор: Wesley R

11 окт. 2020 г.

Course was easy to follow and the explanations made sense from the instructors about half the time. The other half, the coding sections and pseudocode would be horribly confusing. The sections about random motif finding and gibbs sampling were particularly frustrating. I would say some coding experience is necessary to do well in this course in a reasonable timeframe.

автор: Hugo A M A

11 июня 2020 г.

It´s too dificult. It says that this course is for beginners, and during the course they assume that we know Python or any other programming language. I passed the first week of bioinformatics 1, but I gave up with the second week. I recommend first doing the course "Biology meets programming".

автор: Hanna A

17 июня 2021 г.

Die Inhalte waren verständlich und gut strukturiert, jedoch braucht man Vorkenntnisse bezüglich des Programmierens, da dies nicht wirklich erklärt, aber für die Honors-Aufgaben vorausgesetzt werden. Der Pseudocode ist leider keine Hilfe dabei.