Chevron Left
Вернуться к Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I) от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 924
Рецензии: 225

О курсе

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Лучшие рецензии

JL

29 июля 2018 г.

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

SH

6 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics. They put a lot of heart and thought into the design of the course. I will continue to use the concepts I've learned in and out of bioinformatics.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 225 отзывов о курсе Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I)

автор: Federico R

28 сент. 2016 г.

Excelente!!!

Very well explained. I'm a molecular biologist seeking for some programming skills and understanding of the basics of the everydays tools. I've found some caveats in the coding problems from stepik but I understand that's difficult to give complete and exact explanations to everyone and every programming language that someone can use. Besides that everything's perfect! And recommended!

автор: Philipp M

10 сент. 2017 г.

This course is really educational and well designed. The course content is well structured and clearly described. If you have no previous knowledge in this topic, I would recommend to start with the beginner's course "Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners" in order to be prepared for concepts like pseudocode or the computational way of thinking in general.

Definitely recommended!

автор: Sarthak S C

20 июля 2021 г.

It is a great course that helps me by first simplifying the problem to the level that it becomes ridiculous and then solve that problem, then try to approach a problem with real world constraints using that ridiculous problem. It is a course that introduced me to some of the amazing information and principles that runs this world.

автор: An V

10 июня 2022 г.

too hard to understand, the lessons and tutorials do not lead to how to critical thinking or explain the step by step to figure out the problems.

автор: Kimberly G

20 окт. 2021 г.

The first quiz has 2 out of 5 questions that were not taught in the videos. Since there is no way to answer the questions, and therefore no way to pass the quiz, you can not move forward. This is the only course I had to drop.

автор: Brenden G

5 апр. 2022 г.

This is very misleading and inapprpriate for non programmers. It should include step-by-step giudes to help understand how to solve problems instead of giving vaguue concepts.

автор: Johany C S G

5 янв. 2021 г.

Este curso y la especializacion en general, no esta enfocado a biologos, biotecnologos ni otras carreras de biologia y salud. Es una estafa, me arrepiento infinitamente.

автор: sakshi b

13 февр. 2021 г.

as you proceed this becomes more difficult and unexplanatory

you need proper guidance and good hands on knowledge of coding before starting this course

автор: Isabel J A

30 мая 2022 г.

This is NOT for begginers. I'm completly lost and wasting my time. I'm not able to get a refund nor to finish the course.

автор: Zhenan L

26 авг. 2019 г.

some technical problem, those explanation figure not working.

автор: Brisa G

24 авг. 2021 г.

Muito difícil, não recomendo para iniciantes como eu.

автор: Deleted A

23 авг. 2020 г.

I am unable to make progress due to old deadlines ...

автор: Prathna

25 апр. 2021 г.

Can't find answers for any quiz questions

автор: Fidan Q

20 июля 2020 г.

too hard for understanding i want to quit

автор: ali f

9 июня 2020 г.

videos are not covering quizzes.

автор: 우재웅

2 февр. 2021 г.

too many things do not work

автор: Sakshar C

29 мая 2020 г.

The course was very well designed to engage any one with CS background to get highly motivated to learning Bioinformatics. Personally, I have found the humorous representations of the instructors very appealing and also enjoyed the programming challenges. Moreover, it helped me to develop an insight to connect my CS knowledge for solving Biological problems. I am looking forward to completing the full specialization.

автор: Darius F

4 февр. 2018 г.

Well made introduction into the field. Good programming exercises which are easy to medium difficulty with a computer science background. It feels like they put a lot of thought into the course structure. Some of the biological explanations are too brief without a biological background, and I would guess the same for students without a computer science background regarding the exercises.

автор: Victoria T A

29 янв. 2021 г.

This is an amazing course for me and a perfect choice at that. I am a pure biologist and the computer science aspect bit was indeed challenging being the first time of my doing such ever. I will be starting my PhD (topic - antibiotic resistance) in a few weeks that requires knowledge & skills in bioinformatics. I believe this course has sure prepared me for what is to come. Thank you!

автор: Robert K

30 авг. 2016 г.

This was fantastic course! I've never experienced such passion in an online course. I've learned so much, and I am striving for more... fortunately this is just the beginning. No wonder it has been proclaimed as one of the 50 most popular MOOCs of all time. Not because it is popular you should take it, it has become popular because it is just marvellous.

Worth it!

автор: bob n

16 июля 2020 г.

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Was a big help to have taken the intro class first. Instructors did a reasonable job of leading one through the material. Would have preferred more lecture, less reading, but not enough to knock a star off the rating. Material well organized. As some with an engineering background, the biology was mostly well explained.

автор: Iman N

16 июля 2021 г.

It is a very useful course; however, it would be much better if the instructors recommend the "Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners" course specially for Biologists who want to start this course. Although no programming experience was required during the course, being familiar with the basis of programming would be so helpful.

автор: Ranakombu K K D S

12 апр. 2020 г.

A well-structured and amazing course that provides a wealth of knowledge in bioinformatics including an optional honors track for programming. Thoroughly enjoyed it and excited to continue with the rest of the Specialization! A big thank you to the creators of this brilliant course. Simply one of the best courses on Coursera!

автор: Comfort A

13 сент. 2020 г.

I am so overwhelmed. I learnt a whole lottttt. I learnt how to create motif logos, identify ori and terminus using skew diagrams, amongst others. As a biologist, I was really discouraged at the beginning because of the series of referring links, but I am happy that I could see the end of the course. Thanks for the content.

автор: Tirthankar S

2 апр. 2018 г.

One of the best online courses I've ever taken. Since I come from a biotechnology background, this course was particularly relevant for me in terms of its depth and thoroughness. Seriously considering a future in computational biology, thanks to this course.