Chevron Left
Вернуться к Data Science Ethics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Data Science Ethics от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 458
Рецензии: 137

О курсе

What are the ethical considerations regarding the privacy and control of consumer information and big data, especially in the aftermath of recent large-scale data breaches? This course provides a framework to analyze these concerns as you examine the ethical and privacy implications of collecting and managing big data. Explore the broader impact of the data science field on modern society and the principles of fairness, accountability and transparency as you gain a deeper understanding of the importance of a shared set of ethical values. You will examine the need for voluntary disclosure when leveraging metadata to inform basic algorithms and/or complex artificial intelligence systems while also learning best practices for responsible data management, understanding the significance of the Fair Information Practices Principles Act and the laws concerning the "right to be forgotten." This course will help you answer questions such as who owns data, how do we value privacy, how to receive informed consent and what it means to be fair. Data scientists and anyone beginning to use or expand their use of data will benefit from this course. No particular previous knowledge needed....

Лучшие рецензии

LA

Jun 27, 2019

I really enjoyed the material and the way it was presented. Even though I am not new to the topic, still more avenues and perspectives were supported with very good examples. Very refreshing.

AY

Mar 18, 2019

Absolutely delightful to have Professor Jagadish walking us through the course. The course was informative and very stimulating. Opens up to a new world of data science ethics. Thank you!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 137 отзывов о курсе Data Science Ethics

автор: Aaron Z

Feb 17, 2018

This couse presented some interesting case studies, but never presented a real ethical system. In particular, the instructor frequently equated ethical behavior with socially acceptable behavior (this activity by corporation x was unethical because it resulted in public outcry). Someone with a background in ethics really should have been consulted in course developement.

On a purely practical matter, the ta did not seem to have any training in ethics at all. He just responded to every comment in the discussion area with a "what about" statement that sounded like it came straight from a late night dorm room bs session.

автор: Kim K L

Jul 09, 2018

This is really a great course. It is a starting point for anyone who want to get deeper into Data Science Ethics. Even if I feel that I am fairly familiar with the topic, I learned a lot and particular the case studies were really great. It should be a must for anyone in Data Science.

автор: Darmain

Jul 26, 2019

Very good course with excellent examples and a balanced approach. My only issue was that the pace of the presentation was a little too slow at times. Content-wise, excellent.

автор: Daithi M W

Mar 24, 2018

I've been disappointed with the course overall. it's a very interesting topic, one that's relevant to the times we live in. But I feel that many of the big questions are neither asked nor answered in the course.

The presenter's background is in engineering, not philosophy. This isn't a fundamental problem in itself, but it does mean that concepts are left very vaguely defined. So 'ethics' is, at one point, defined more or less as 'what's socially agreed-up'. But in the questions as well as the videos, the terminology shifts between 'ethically right/wrong', 'appropriate', 'have to do something,' 'by rights', 'legally', and lots more besides. So it's far from clear what the right or wrong position might be in many of the thought-experiments described in the quiz questions. What's more, if an action isn't in itself ethically right, that doesn't entail that it must be ethically wrong: it could be neither. There's virtually no input from other voices, too: no discussions with, say, experts in the field of data ethics, or moral philosophers, or whatever.

At one point in week 1, the presenter correctly points out that ''data ownership is really complex''. So it'd be useful to have a MOOC that makes it less complex: that asks hard questions, and critically examines the range of possible answers. Unfortunately, this MOOC isn't it.

автор: Marco M

Aug 09, 2018

As I expected, the course provided me a lot of food for thought.

The aspect that I appreciated most was the necessity, as an Italian legal privacy counsel, to put aside my legal and GDPR background, and to think in a “more ethic manner”. This kind of approach permitted me to view the EU General Data Protection Regulation with new eyes, finding some aspects about that Regulation that I think could be improved.

автор: Joel D M

Jul 01, 2018

This course is short, slow, and easy, but I ranked it five stars because the content is important in today's growing reliance on data science.

автор: William Y

May 15, 2020

This course should be made mandatory for all IT and data science students. Data science ethics will be the future, helping the society to push back against the overreaching organisations and governments around the world.

This course is also recommended for those without IT nor data science background. You will gain insights on how technology and social media giants collect and utilise personal data, running various experiments in the name of improving services and ensure quality standards.

Prof Jagadish's code of ethics is very easy and simple to remember, and it will remain relevant for most data science context.

автор: Ng L J

Jun 18, 2020

Thank you for this opportunity to teach what is right from wrong when it comes to handling vast amounts of data. Especially at this time when cybercriminal activity is at its peak due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Many pages of notes from your course were created and compiled for further study and teaching other people who want to learn the same thing as well. ;)

автор: Srinivasan K

Sep 12, 2020

Best course to learn ethics in data science domain. Professor Jagdish is highly generous to share his knowledge and delivery of contents are well aligned to chosen topics in every week. My sincere gratitude to Professor Jagdish and Coursera team, for introducing this course to learners.

I strongly recommend this course to all IT professionals.

автор: Zoraya D G

Aug 01, 2020

I want to thank the instructor of the Data Science Ethics course for their guidance. It has been an enriching experience on a topic of great importance in these times when everything is linked to the internet and vertiginous changes take place at a social and technological level. Thank you very much

автор: Bernard D V

Apr 14, 2020

Complete course about the complexity of Ethics in Data Science. The course is well-taught and the case study are really interesting. I higlhy recommend the course even for people who do not work as data scientist because it talks about societal issues linked to data.

автор: Bhargav K

Jun 09, 2020

This course is one of the toughest of course i even attempted. Every Data science student and professional should take up the course to understand the ethical implications in Data science work. Thank you so much for providing this course.

автор: Lukasz S

Feb 15, 2018

Definitely a good choice fo the beginners in this topic. Highly recommended for the Europeans as the American regulations differ and the course covers most of them. Interesting reading materials that encourage to do research on your own.

автор: Keith C

Jun 03, 2019

The course has been well developed with the learner in mind. The material was interesting and covered some topics in which I was interested. The assessment aided the learning process.

It was relevant to the current environments.

автор: Sehresh M

Apr 12, 2020

It is really good course, all described topics are highly important to know for everyone who are working with data and information. if anyone want to know about Data Science Ethics I will recommend to join this course.

автор: V S G

Jun 22, 2020

Simply superb no words to about this course and very clear to understand keen about data and science in real life.Thank you for this golden opportunity to undertake this course.My sincere thanks to Coursera

автор: Christopher A

Feb 13, 2018

I like to think I'm an ethical person, but this course challenged me about some biases I hadn't even considered. It's a well presented course that won't demand that you put hours and hours in every week.

автор: Leila T A

Jun 27, 2019

I really enjoyed the material and the way it was presented. Even though I am not new to the topic, still more avenues and perspectives were supported with very good examples. Very refreshing.

автор: Anny Y

Mar 18, 2019

Absolutely delightful to have Professor Jagadish walking us through the course. The course was informative and very stimulating. Opens up to a new world of data science ethics. Thank you!

автор: Saket k

Aug 23, 2020

Great learning. It's very important to know about data science ethics so that helps human to make productive use of it which will benefit entire diversity.

автор: casey l

Jan 28, 2020

I think some of the concepts are really new and hard to grasp. But that's with everything we are learning that's new. Uncomfortable is good.

автор: Sahibzada A M

May 15, 2018

Excellent Course. Gives interesting and detailed perspectives on ethical matters related to how data can be used and should be used.

автор: Yevhenii S

Jun 09, 2019

It is really good course, all described topics are highly important to know for everyone who working with data and information.

автор: Grzegorz K

Oct 06, 2019

Nice, introductory course to ethics in data science. It is a good starting point for ethics considerations in this area.

автор: BHAVESH N P

Mar 06, 2018

I liked this course very much and Data Science Ethics explained very nice manner. I will recommend to join this course.