Chevron Left
Вернуться к Vector Calculus for Engineers

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Vector Calculus for Engineers от партнера Гонконгский университет науки и технологий

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,082
Рецензии: 297

О курсе

Vector Calculus for Engineers covers both basic theory and applications. In the first week we learn about scalar and vector fields, in the second week about differentiating fields, in the third week about multidimensional integration and curvilinear coordinate systems. The fourth week covers line and surface integrals, and the fifth week covers the fundamental theorems of vector calculus, including the gradient theorem, the divergence theorem and Stokes’ theorem. These theorems are needed in core engineering subjects such as Electromagnetism and Fluid Mechanics. Instead of Vector Calculus, some universities might call this course Multivariable or Multivariate Calculus or Calculus 3. Two semesters of single variable calculus (differentiation and integration) are a prerequisite. The course is organized into 53 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve following each video. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of five weeks to the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/vector-calculus-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/qUseabHb6Vk...

Лучшие рецензии

DK
22 мая 2020 г.

i have completed Three courses of Professor Jeffrey. I'm so happy that i learnt a lot from him. Thanks to our professor Jeffrey and thanks to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

BB
14 мая 2021 г.

Professor Chasnov is a great instructor. I strongly recommend this course (and others from his). Thank you so much for making such great quality content available for everyone no matter where.

Фильтр по:

251–275 из 303 отзывов о курсе Vector Calculus for Engineers

автор: Sarah K

20 авг. 2020 г.

All in all well-run class. Videos were for the most part clear and well-diagrammed, and organized in a way that made sense. Got a good sense of the basics of vector calculus, since we used divergence/curl etc in problems repeatedly after we learned them.

Several sections relied on outside knowledge - for example, the applications to electric/magnetic fields, particularly in the fourth week, was really hard to understand for someone with only a Calc 2 background.

автор: B K

29 июня 2021 г.

Starting from the very basic, the course takes to the advanced concepts on Vector calculus. I took this course as a refresher and found it very helpful. The large number of reading problems helped strengthen the understanding. For some topics, when the professor mentions something but doesn't go at length to explain, some secondary complementary resources could be useful.

автор: Peter B

16 авг. 2020 г.

This class was a very interesting class, but that may be due more to the fact that I am very interested in math than to anything the instructor did. However, I would have appreciated if this class went into more depth about the more abstract, mathematical side of vector calculus, instead of being so laser-focused on practical applications.

автор: Andrew D

16 июня 2020 г.

A difficult course, especially week 3. Two lectures - 24 minutes - on line and surface integrals over vector fields is just not long enough - needs more intuition. I can recommend Clark Brays multivariable calculus book for the intuition. Still not sure how I scraped a pass - worth doing though and thoroughly enjoyed as always.

автор: Saman M

9 июля 2020 г.

Lectures and accompanying pdf notes are clear, but proofs are sketchy. More worked examples would be helpful (perhaps in the accompanying pdf with solutions). Requires a solid background in linear algebra and calculus. Worth taking, particularly if you want to review this material.

автор: Idorenyin U I

14 июля 2020 г.

The beginning was easy and seemed that the rest of the course would be easy, but as you keep on, it gets tougher and harder and only the tough can keep going untill you get to a point where it becomes easy once more to you.

автор: Jose R F

22 апр. 2020 г.

Some additional time for some concepts would be needed, but in general, a really interesting course. Learnt some new "things" that I hardly knew from my old studies. Congratulations to you too for the course.

автор: Usman E G

4 авг. 2020 г.

It was a hard course for me, I don't think the math I did in high school was foundational enough for me to understand this course. I suggest doing some fundamental math courses before attempting this course.

автор: Hayford A A

11 июля 2020 г.

The quizzes and the practice quizzes were a bit challenging. I feel like the videos need more explanations that can help understand some problems in the quizzes. But in all I felt challenged to learn more.

автор: Kodi O

18 июля 2020 г.

It was great, the professor did a great job in explanation, but at the same time, he didn't explain further with examples for some topics which made it really challenging for me to understand.

автор: Jose M B D

10 апр. 2021 г.

It was exciting and challenging more than anything when you already saw something at school then you reinforce it or learn something new, you even put into practice what you know

автор: simon w

1 мар. 2021 г.

excellent videos; good problems; unusual to get a series of high quality notes to download. I found the final section demanding and I will need to review this section.

автор: Abir M

25 июля 2020 г.

Very good course with difficult problems. Very good instructor. Needs to provide a bit more geometric intuition to the sections involving vector integral calculus.

автор: Jose R H P

13 апр. 2020 г.

prof. Chasnov explains really goodand all the topics are presented in a well structured way. I wouldn't recommend this course for learn vector calculus from zero

автор: Srivatsan R

4 мая 2020 г.

Great course all around. Just one suggestion would be to solve at least 1 example of each type of theorem if possible as it makes problem solving much easier.

автор: Anyiam O O

9 июля 2020 г.

It was a very educating course on various theorems, proof of laws, various subtopics on integration and differentiation. I would highly recommend the course.

автор: Peter B

9 мар. 2020 г.

A well thought out and organized course. A great tool to refresh or learn vector calculus and more importantly it's uses in engineering fields.

автор: Alejandro M

15 июля 2020 г.

A short and very complete course of vector calculus, it takes the most important thing to be seen in almost a month.

автор: KARTHIK

16 июля 2020 г.

It was challenging to study vector calculus for futher complicated engineering. Made very useful for furthur.

автор: Mohammad Y A

2 авг. 2021 г.

The course was nice. However, the pace was sometimes faster than appropriate and other slower.

автор: Jeremiah Z W

4 окт. 2020 г.

Given the imposed time constraint, it is a well taught course on multivariable calculus.

автор: Jayadeep U B

12 нояб. 2020 г.

Contents of fourth week can be expanded into two weeks and covered in more detail.

автор: DUNNA V

18 июля 2020 г.

It 's sufficient for easily understand vector calculus and well explained.

автор: Veethika G

6 мая 2020 г.

It's a very interesting and fun course you'll understand things easily.

автор: Fabiola A M

7 сент. 2021 г.

Si me sirvió mucho para mis cursos de mi carrera muy recomendable