Chevron Left
Вернуться к Unraveling the Cycling City

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Unraveling the Cycling City от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 167
Рецензии: 78

О курсе

Obscured by its apparent simplicity, cycling is a complex phenomenon. Being an almost perfect human-machine hybrid, cycling is deeply rooted in a plethora of socio-technological systems. Around the world cycling is embraced as an important ingredient to tackle a wide variety of individual and societal challenges. The Netherlands is often seen as an ideal living lab, because cycling has retained its significant share of mobility throughout the country. At the same time, there are large differences in developments across time and space, that allows for a better understanding of potential causal relations. This is also increasingly recognized by (inter)national top tier researchers from many different academic fields. They are uncovering reciprocal relations of cycling with spatial, ecological, historical, social, cultural, economic, biological and political structures. Unraveling the Cycling City bundles the state-of-the-art knowledge that emerges from research and practice on the Dutch cycling system. As such, it provides an easily accessible platform to learn about important causes and effects, to open minds for the complexity of the entire system and to support group deliberations around the world....

Лучшие рецензии

RS

Oct 04, 2020

Wide range of content including relevant literature journals, media and videos. Well structured and considered. A course that is both simple to progress through and offers great depth to the subject.

AC

May 13, 2020

I have to say all the hours of this course are worth it and it was not a waste of time. This is what you want to know when you are surfing on reviews, right fellow student? I hope you enjoy it!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 78 отзывов о курсе Unraveling the Cycling City

автор: Robert E

Jul 17, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The content offered a multidisciplinary and multiscalar perspective on cycling that opened up my thinking about creating contexts for cycling as an active travel professional. Like any course, you get what you put into it. What makes it particularly good though is the quality of selected articles and videos and how they offer a broad variety of different viewpoints to loosen up narrow infrastructural/'technocratic' thinking about cycling and what is needed to change systems of mobility away from the car and toward active modes. Thanks to all the team who delivered this course.

автор: Md F Y M Y

May 13, 2020

This is simply beyond than 'Seeing is Believing'. The course is well crafted with an interesting module through various mode of experience. As an urban planner who believes that cycling can make the change for better cities environment, this course teaches and shared more than Dutch experience and learning curve in advocating cycling, but also many 'unexplorable' aspects of the Dutch success story that we didn't know & understand before, like egalitarian culture, habitus and many more. Fully recommended!!!

автор: Jesus d R P

May 26, 2020

Exceptional insights. An introductory course which looks far beyond the basic facts and opens a whole field of urban planning and desing.

Lessons are structured in a very entertaining and at the same time challenging way. All of the academic papers that are included as bibliography are extremely relevant.

автор: Janene T

Jul 29, 2020

I really enjoyed the scope of this course. The materials delved into the technical components of what makes a cycling city but also went to great lengths to unpack the historical and social elements. It was surprisingly broad while still being specific and detailed.

автор: Mauro A

May 12, 2020

Unraveling the Cycling City is a very complete and well structured course. It gives you the opportunity to learn learn the historical, sociological, urbanistical and cultural aspects of cycling in the Netherlands.

автор: Michael L

Feb 17, 2020

Great course by the University of Amsterdam! Really recommend for everybody who is interested in multi modal approach to the biking city.

автор: Mathias K

Aug 11, 2020

Excelente curso, con buenos videos, lectura de papers y links asociadas a la hermosa cultura ciclo-inclusiva que lleva incorporando Holanda desde los años 70´. El formato online es muy cómodo y la plataforma es fácil de utilizar. Recomendable para romper algunos paradigmas.

Excellent course, with good videos, papers and links, associated with the beautiful cycling culture that Holland has been promoting and developed since the 70's. The online format is comfortable and its platform very easy to use. I recommended to break some paradigms.

автор: Daniel W

May 12, 2020

I would really like to see this course as the intro to a larger specialization. It touched every so briefly on many things and it would have been great to have each expanded.

автор: Vijay M

Apr 20, 2020

Unraveling the Cycling City is a well designed course with comprehensive research material, scholarly articles, educational videos and flexible schedule. Five weeks into this course and I have a renewed approach towards bicycle design, urban planning and better equipped to promote cycling in my city. This course is recommended for transport and city planners, policy makers, cycling advocates and people in the function of mobility and sustainability. Thank You Urban Cycling Institute and Coursera.

автор: Vejuna Z

Oct 11, 2020

This course is very cleverly designed, very interactive, uses a lot of different methods to enagage you and make it very interesting. The content was challenging enough, thought provoking, had a good selection of reading of academic articles, the course leaders give you guidance on the way and provide helpful video discussions of the key literature. It was very intelectually stimulating and very profesionally done to high quality standards. Thank you so much George and Marco!

автор: Alistair M

Jan 28, 2020

As an engineer, this course worked very well in introducing me to different perspectives of cycling infrastructure, from urban planning to social science and history. Through the course, I was supported to reevaluate how I thought of cycling infrastructure and how it connects to the humanity of a city as well as connections with the built environment. Highly recommend to anyone wanting a deeper understanding of active travel in cities.

автор: Axel B

Feb 16, 2020

This course should be standard for everyone involded in city planning, urban design, road design and public transport planning. And highly recommended for everyone else that ever leaves their home. It is far more than an analysis of the urban cycling environment, but a challenge to everyone: What do we want life in our cities and on our streets to be like? And what are the questions we need to ask ourselves to get there?

автор: Karen S L

Feb 04, 2020

Very informative. The course really expanded my knowledge. I would ask you to please check the transcripts of your video presentations. The spoken word "spatial" was transcribed as "special", for example. I noticed several such transcriptions. It makes the course more difficult for learners whose first language is not English. I will certainly sign up for any further courses of this type from the Urban Cycling Institute.

автор: Joseph M W

Aug 07, 2020

A nice combination of rigor and fun! Loved the multimedia, web-based format on the very fine Coursera platform. Learning objectives were clearly defined and were used as recurring benchmarks to test student knowledge.Having the most amazing Amsterdam as the primary case study jazzes up the course while pulling on the heartstrings of those of us shut out from NL by COVID. I learned a tremendous amount, thank you.

автор: Ján R

Feb 17, 2020

Very useful course focused on non-technical aspect of cycle transprtation development - socio-economical aspects, historical sapects, urbanism and planning, connection to public transport, even some psychology and many more. Except two or three lessons (too theoretical to me, thus a little bit boring) the content was really interesting and I am sure I will use it a lot in my cycling decelopment work.

автор: Matthew B

Aug 30, 2020

I loved this course and got a great deal out of it. To those of us who live outside, Amsterdam has always been the byword for excellence in cycling infrastructure so to study it in greater detail was fascinating. I always believed that the infra that's existed in Amsterdam for years was brilliant but to see how it's developing to create even better cycle journeys was eye-opening.

автор: Pedro C

Sep 21, 2020

Very good course on the "hard" (i.e. infrastructure) and "soft" (i.e. psychological) aspects of cycling, that provides a nuanced view of cycling and of how an utilitarian view of transport misses out on key points.

Interesting perspectives with a well-balanced amount of literature, videos and articles produced by specialists from the cycling country of the world.

автор: Guilherme C

Oct 09, 2020

The course enabled me to deepen my understanding of the cycling practice in a lot of different aspects, from the very street design to policies and regulations. It also provides an overview of how the bicycle developed to be a central element of Dutch culture, enabling us to reflect on what could be applicable in different contexts. Highly recommend it!

автор: Stephen H

May 09, 2020

I thought it was an excellent insight into the historical context and contemporary practices and gaps even within a highly developed cycling culture. If you have any interest in promoting cycling, or background in transportation, city planning and urban design, this may broaden your awareness of various topics and how they interconnect.

автор: Norbert P

Aug 07, 2020

Very good and interesting course.

I learned a lot about the social aspect, the organization, and the development of the cycling culture.

Why we cycle – or why we don’t:

I had a question in my mind when I learned the course:

If they already solved their mobility problems, why other cities/country doesn’t apply the same solution?

автор: Jessica A

May 14, 2020

This layout of this course was completely unique and extremely engaging. It really stimulates critical thinking about the interplay of various factors and how they can shape a cycling city. I personally really enjoyed this course and it inspired me to hopefully continue researching and learning about this.

автор: Roberta C

Apr 01, 2020

Un corso sulla città ciclabile osservata da diversi punti di vista - pianificazione, società, economia - e realizzato con la massima cura dall'Istituto di Ciclabilità Urbana dell'Università di Amsterdam, che raccoglie i migliori esperti al mondo su questo tema. Eccellente opportunità e grande ispirazione.

автор: Niren J

May 06, 2020

A well structured course, providing great insights for cycling activists, planners or for anyone else desiring to learn about cycling experiences in urban areas. The course takes one through various perspectives, often through off beaten track when compared to the standard transport planning practices.

автор: Laurence P

May 05, 2020

Cours très riche, très intéressant avec de bonnes surprises. Il m'a permis de renforcer ma culture vélo et de l'ouvrir vers de nouvelles perspectives. Il m'a donné envie de retourner faire du vélo aux Pays-Bas pour observer les flux de cyclistes, pour expérimenter les aménagements.

автор: Katya C

Aug 11, 2020

Very informative course, full of great resources including research articles, videos, interviews, webinars, etc Really enjoyed zoom discussions with fellow students and learn from their experiences. The course gave me vocabulary to advocate for bike infrastructure in my community.