Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Probability and Data with R

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Probability and Data with R от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 4,965
Рецензии: 1,195

О курсе

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Лучшие рецензии

AA
24 февр. 2021 г.

I always wanted to learn statistics from scratch, but I never had a good university teacher. Here I found a good teacher and also the opportunity to learn whenever I want ( and skipping parts I knew!)

AM
7 февр. 2021 г.

After trying several courses to get me started with R programming, this one came to the rescue and had all the info I wanted. It also provides a great way to practice through labs and a final project!

Фильтр по:

1151–1175 из 1,176 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Probability and Data with R

автор: Paul A

12 авг. 2020 г.

Avoid, this is a crash grab. The instructors don't seem to know a whole lot of R, or are unwilling to teach what they know. Making the labs work is a hassle on itself, not to mention the final assignment outrageous demands come out of nowhere and blindside you.

The introduction of R to the statistics and probability subjects is shallow at best. To learn the same amount of statistics and R on this course; a good textbook, some videos and a tutorial on R will give you better results on a fraction of the time.

The language used on the quizzes and labs is obscure to say the least. You have to navigate through what feels like booby traps in the hopes of figuring out what you're supposed to answer, not to mention the multiple choices are trap them selves. On the quiz feedback it actually said several times, things like: "Although this is partially correct, this other answer is more correct."

The quizzes took me back to my dreaded time in university where the teachers were out to fail you. Allegedly the instructor has a PhD and focused on pedagogy, to be honest I didn't feel this pedagogy approach anywhere and more like a padded resume.

автор: James B C

13 мар. 2019 г.

By the textbook it appears to be a very vanilla Stat 101 course, chapter 2 of the textbook did cover some conditional probability and Bayes theory otherwise very similar to stat 101 course I took in 1978. In other words, not exactly 21st century data science. Taught at high school / college freshman level (one of the exercises was writing mean and standard deviation with Greek letters -- pure busywork). The textbook inaccurately described a data set with several different data types as a "data matrix" a word usage that conflicts with both linear algebra and the statistical language R. This course is an obsolete and lame intro to statistics; I would recommend instead either Stanford's Introduction to Statistical Learning or the Coursera's Data Science Specialization.

автор: Jim

22 окт. 2021 г.

The labs are terribly written. The instructions don't work in many cases. Even if they did, they assume a fair amount of prerequisite understanding of RStudio. Also, several quiz questions are written incorrectly. There were cases where I had to assume what I thought the question meant, even though the opposite was written, and I was marked correct (proving the question was written incorrectly). I have a statistics degree and have used R in several past projects, so I'm not just complaining out of ignorance.

автор: aparna j

9 авг. 2020 г.

Before assigning such a tough project in week 5 using R, the course should have dealt with R more thoroughly along with theory about probability. Week 5 mentions project to be of 2hrs, but it took me 1 week to understand R all by myself and then complete the assignment somehow. I would say, i chose the wrong course. Highly dissapointed. Should have opted some other course to learn R in depth.

автор: Michael K

14 нояб. 2020 г.

The very first setup of R packages is broken. I paid $49 dollars because I waited 2 days past the 7 day free trial. After spending hours reading through the forums of many people having many different configuration problems, it is clear that the content creators should have fixed these issues on their end. Instead they leave students to figure it out.

автор: Yavor P

6 окт. 2021 г.

T​here is no support from Duke with the practical tasks using R. In fact, their cloud environment no longer supports additional projects to be created. The team doesn't anwer student questions. The only positive thing about the course is that their recommendation for an open source statistics book - that one's worth reading.

автор: Pamela G

6 июля 2017 г.

While the videos and quizzes were easy to use, I had extreme difficulty using the DataCamp and could not find any tutorials that would answer my questions. Also, am unable to complete the course because of technical difficulties with RStudio. The course should have more online resources for those with little experience.

автор: Niharika K

18 дек. 2020 г.

For Beginners, it is very difficult to understand the mechanism of how R works without the video guidance. Though reading is available, but it does not give a good understanding due to the complexities of R.

автор: Bo W

15 апр. 2016 г.

thanks for your effort to make videos, but this is the first time find a class that i can not submit my answer to check if it is correct or not before my account is upgraded. Disappoint to Coursera and Duke.

автор: Chung K K

24 окт. 2021 г.

h​ow to unenroll the course? Other courses have a three-dot button from which I can choose "unenrol", but I cannot do the same in this course, all I have is to "rate the course", which I did.

автор: Piotr Z

7 июня 2020 г.

The course was not very helpful for me, as practical cases with R were poorly developed and the final data capstone project is badly formulated which makes it extremely difficult to pass.

автор: Derek E

7 февр. 2021 г.

The lab instructions are terrible and the code used for this course is dependent on software libraries that are out of date.

автор: Devam R

23 мая 2021 г.

Although the course is alright but the focus is not on R. Thus, the course is not suitable for people who want to learn R.

автор: Manoj G

23 сент. 2016 г.

Speed is very fast for a basic level student. The data explanation and correlation demonstrated is not clear.

автор: Philomena

9 мая 2016 г.

There's no point in auditing the course since you don't get access to the answers

автор: Eduardo F

24 янв. 2021 г.

the introduction with R is extremely confused for someone who is from scratch

автор: Anis R

8 окт. 2020 г.

Manque des fichiers pour travailler les labs (datasets)

автор: Vanderson A D d S

28 июля 2017 г.

There isn't a support to help you with doubts ...

автор: Joanna C

9 мар. 2021 г.

I do not understand the directions make no sense

автор: Martin H L

3 авг. 2020 г.

Quiero darme de baja a este curso por favor

автор: Marty C D

17 окт. 2020 г.

could not run labs. useless without it

автор: Natasha S

29 окт. 2019 г.

Peer reviews were overwhelming

автор: Toan Q

8 июня 2020 г.

Very poor technical support!

автор: Elisa H

5 окт. 2021 г.

Too many explanations

автор: Lloyd S

5 сент. 2017 г.

Not as advertised.