Chevron Left
Вернуться к Social Norms, Social Change I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
Оценки: 1,071
Рецензии: 271

О курсе

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Лучшие рецензии

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 261 отзывов о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I

автор: shady m r

Jul 23, 2017

needs more tests, but it's great overall

автор: MIAWAWANA G F

Mar 24, 2018

super!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

автор: Kristi D

Feb 26, 2018

I learned a lot and I enjoyed the professor's demeanor and personality. I will take the next course in this series for sure.

автор: Lillie K

Jun 30, 2019

the terms became quite confusing to follow

автор: Armand B

Jul 17, 2019

This is a nice course if you want to chose social science field. In terms of Research, you are be able to how to formulates questions based on this course.

автор: Alexandre D

Jul 21, 2019

The course was fun! It was a bit challenging but I think it was very well structured, so kudos to you guys. The text should be translated in other relevant languages such as Arabic, French, and Spanish. Additionally, I found a powerpoint by Cristina Bicchieri titled 'What are norms?' on Academia which could have served useful for other class members.

автор: Nabaraj G

Jul 25, 2019

The Course has excellently delivered the contents which rightly explain the understanding of Social Norms from global perspectives. The lectures and videos are clear and well guide the course contents too. The social change is inevitable and differ from community to community. It would be better to offer next advanced version of the course.

автор: Mira L

Aug 02, 2019

The content was interesting but some parts were repetitive to the point of some confusion. I really enjoyed the new information! Thank you.

автор: Franklin H

Aug 03, 2019

The course was engaging, interesting and informative. I learnt a lot of new things but the information was not too high above my normal level of knowledge and I did not need too much extra reading to understand the content.

автор: sophie p

Aug 10, 2019

The topic is very interesting , at least for us who find understanding humans alluring. What I also really liked and found innovative was the colaboration penn university had with ''UNICEF'', which provided videos with specialist discussing what is happening to developing countries related with the lectures of the course .

Easy to comprehend -thus suitable for beginners-, interesting and innovative ,I highly recommend it !

автор: Atupele M

Aug 13, 2019

It is very helpful

автор: Isha J

Jul 14, 2019

The examination method could've been more rigorous and the readings were not in the right order, but great course overall!

автор: Miryana V

Jul 12, 2019

excellent course, well thought out and great examples with readings to make sure you are on track with the syllabus and provide feedback.

автор: Rowan K

Sep 16, 2019

The most thing which helped me was the examples after every definition .. thanks a lot

автор: Tejaswi M

Oct 17, 2019

Interesting course with valuable theoretical concepts explained. The organization of the content could have been done better, as there seemed to a bit of repetition of some concepts and some concepts not being dealt in depth.

A must-do course for someone interested in Behavior Change Communication. Hoping to learn more in part II of the course.

автор: Youra A

Oct 05, 2019

I enjoyed taking the course very much. It was very helpful understanding the social norms. However, some of the concepts that were introduced in the course were very confusing. I had a hard time understanding it and I think I still need to spend lots of time reviewing the materials.

автор: Rinki R

Oct 14, 2019

This course is well designed and explained by Cristina Bicchieri.

автор: Mahender G

Nov 15, 2019

Very much appreciated

автор: Ibrahima

Mar 22, 2019

Excellent

автор: Juan E

Mar 04, 2019

No es suficientemente claro en las explicaciones por lo tanto las opciones de respuestas a los cuestionarios complican mas la percepción de haber o no comprendido los conceptos.

автор: Catherine H

Dec 23, 2018

This is material that you're not going to use directly, but can use indirectly in your work later on. It's pretty dry material, but I honestly learned a lot of valuable information. I would recommend it if you're willing to put in the work. If not, you wont learn much.

автор: Jan S

Feb 10, 2018

Ok course, the further you get into the course th better the lectures,

автор: Anton Z

Jan 02, 2018

Subtitles need to be reviewed, a lot of errors and they are necessary because the speakers all have strong accents. Sometimes the transcript itself doesn't make sense at all.

автор: Lucia K

Oct 27, 2017

Good course!

автор: Danielle G

Mar 27, 2017

It was alright ..confusing at times an seemed a bit convoluted. someone needs to come up with a better way to explain these concepts so that they are not so jumbled.