Chevron Left
Вернуться к Social Norms, Social Change I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
Оценки: 872
Рецензии: 215

О курсе

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Лучшие рецензии

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

BB

Jan 07, 2017

This is an extremely useful course. There is an effective blend of lecture, quizzes, case studies, essays, and student discussion. The content is highly relevant. I highly recommend this course.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 209 отзывов о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I

автор: Isabella G

Feb 05, 2019

The course is really interesting and helpful in identify the key components of norms and how to measure them to trigger a change. The videos are clear and the readings are complementary to videos. However, the last lecture is too long, in my opinion, and it would have been more feasible if splitted on two weeks. Moreover, there is scarce or no feedback, both on interventions on the forum and after the quizzes. I understand a person can undertake the quizzes several times, I would rather suggest to set a given number of attempts and after that a feedback on the mistakes, or some kind of guidance in understanding the errors. Overall, a very useful course. I will definitively take the second part!

автор: Karthigeyan

Mar 09, 2018

The course was informative. It showed how challenging is to bring a social change. And it also shed some light on the kind of work Unicef carries on. I would recommend the course to anyone who is interested in bringing out a social change or in knowing how social norms function.

автор: 邹知贤

Nov 11, 2018

Too much overlapping - can be good to help memorizing those complex concepts, but also annoying a bit. It can be helpful to give summary diagrams at the beginning to let the audience have a first impression of the knowledge tree.

автор: Winnifred R L

Jun 11, 2017

This course covers a lot of definitions and basics so is less engaging than the second course but it is certainly worth working through. A great enterprise!

автор: Charlie J

May 26, 2017

This course was a very tough slog for me.

Christina is a philosopher and theorist who spends a lot of time categorizing human behavior in the context of UNICEF behavior modification schemes. I was interested to learn more about FGM and open defecation, as these are two social norms prevalent in Africa, where I live. The theoretical ontology of group behaviors was thorough. I appreciated learning about survey techniques such as vignettes that can be used to access beliefs and behaviors "in the wild," but I must say that it was difficult to maintain my interest as we seemed to circle around over and over again to various "expectations." Perhaps the second course in the series will contain more practical content.

The video content with embedded questions is a sophisticated method of tracking attention, and I found that answering the in-video questions kept me engaged.

The comments by the other participants were somewhat uninspired.

I appreciated the glossary of terms in the resource pack, although there was no definition of a "prudential normative belief" which was mentioned several times in the videos.

The video quality was good, and production values excellent.

It would have been nice to have some of the flowcharts provided in pdf form for later review as a resource.

автор: Daseul K

Jun 15, 2019

Good course!!

автор: Paramjit S

Jun 12, 2019

great learning experience...try practice in my research work

автор: Kevin A

Jun 08, 2019

The course covered the basic components and provided examples to understand the social norms and change, the real life illustrations did make the concepts easier for me to grasp. The discussions at the end of every week also make the course a great platform for learning from other participants.

автор: Zainab M

Jun 08, 2019

This course was really great.I got so many good ideas and learnt so many things.

автор: Tamoghna A

May 16, 2019

Was a fascinating course that highlighted we human beings are driven by norms and societal expectation. Negative norms can be turned positive with the right kind of intervention.

автор: Sabrina P

May 11, 2019

Very well structured. It is really useful forpeople working in programs where social norms are involved

автор: Salman K

May 10, 2019

The course was really helpful and pedagogy used in the course was very user friendly.

автор: umar f

Apr 21, 2019

very well conducted Lectrues and very friendly way to teach with the help of examples.I just loved doing it and looking forward to attempt more in coming days

автор: Pramila S

Apr 18, 2019

Helpful Indeed!

автор: Agnetha C S

Apr 17, 2019

Wonderful!

English is not my first language and I have never been in contact with a similar topic before. However, I did not have to study the vocabulary too much as every little detail was explained, and sometimes even twice or oftener. Easy to understand without spending a huge amount on extra studying.

автор: sonia c

Apr 14, 2019

a very interesting course.. thank you

автор: Andreas T

Apr 13, 2019

Great course.

Looking forwards for part 2.

автор: Leonardo J T

Apr 10, 2019

Excellent

автор: Damini B

Apr 09, 2019

An important course that gives you a framework to understand and analyse social norms by the leading scholar in the field. This is the future of social change.

автор: Cinthia T C G

Apr 08, 2019

Excelente curso, muy orientado a mis necesidades profesionales.

автор: Rahul K

Apr 01, 2019

I must say that, It is a really well structured and detailed program. It helps me to understand the nuances of the society in regard of the situation and practices that occurs due to the social norms. I would highly recommend this course to all people who wants to work on the ground with people.

автор: Venkata R M

Mar 25, 2019

This course is really very helpful to me in improving my academic weightage.It's really helpful to me in gaining the knowledge.It's like studying with the real world scenarios and understanding it in much better way.

автор: Xiaoyu H

Mar 25, 2019

This course is quite good for me, a beginner of sociology research, to get to know some theory of the society.

автор: Catalina M

Mar 24, 2019

Thank you for the amazing course.

автор: Ibrahima

Mar 22, 2019

Excellent