Chevron Left
Вернуться к Social Norms, Social Change I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
Оценки: 1,013
Рецензии: 257

О курсе

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Лучшие рецензии

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Фильтр по:

126–150 из 247 отзывов о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I

автор: Raj K S

Feb 01, 2017

This course was very effective in earning orientation and skills on understanding social norms, expectations (empirical and normative) and measuring norms through tools. Its really critical in delivering our activities and programming in more effective and efficient

автор: Sarah S

Jun 18, 2017

Excellent course, well delivered and a good balance of detail and insight with laymen terminology. I would definitely recommend this course!

автор: Mario S

Nov 06, 2017

excelente curso

автор: Arwa I B A

Aug 20, 2017

GOOD course i learn from it a lot of information and concepts about the community and how to analyse the behavior of my community and think different about the solution of the problem .

автор: Craig C

Jan 28, 2017

A fantastic course that covers a lot in a short period of time and has wonderful lectures that are easy to understand and follow in the time allocated. I love how you can go back and review lectures and quizzes. Thanks to the lecture for her time and all involved in the production including UNICEF and Penn State.

автор: Fr N

Jan 24, 2017

Get in and make the most of this. Awesome in 1 word ;)

автор: Loïc D

Oct 06, 2017

Really great course. Very interesting. Highly recommended for all!

автор: Anthony C A

Aug 13, 2016

I like the course! Very practical! It satisfies my curiosity and interest in answering why people behave the way they do.

автор: Iman A

Jan 05, 2017

Very useful and well-organized!

автор: Adam K

Feb 26, 2017

Challenging but highly informative and beneficial to have learned it.

автор: Mbia E B

Jan 17, 2017

Very very interesting lecture

автор: Hannah A M G

Nov 04, 2018

This is a very useful and informative course for me, especially in my line of work in research and public administration. I hope more people could take this course and appreciate the process of understanding and perhaps changing social norms.

автор: Carmen M M

Jul 11, 2018

This is an excellent theoretical base for understanding social norms and the complex dimension to be considered in assessing impact on behavior. The lectures are well delivered and compel one toward further reading.

автор: Agnetha C S

Apr 17, 2019

Wonderful!

English is not my first language and I have never been in contact with a similar topic before. However, I did not have to study the vocabulary too much as every little detail was explained, and sometimes even twice or oftener. Easy to understand without spending a huge amount on extra studying.

автор: Pramila S

Apr 18, 2019

Helpful Indeed!

автор: umar f

Apr 21, 2019

very well conducted Lectrues and very friendly way to teach with the help of examples.I just loved doing it and looking forward to attempt more in coming days

автор: Andreas T

Apr 13, 2019

Great course.

Looking forwards for part 2.

автор: sonia c

Apr 14, 2019

a very interesting course.. thank you

автор: Sabrina P

May 11, 2019

Very well structured. It is really useful forpeople working in programs where social norms are involved

автор: Catalina M

Mar 24, 2019

Thank you for the amazing course.

автор: Xiaoyu H

Mar 25, 2019

This course is quite good for me, a beginner of sociology research, to get to know some theory of the society.

автор: Venkata R M

Mar 25, 2019

This course is really very helpful to me in improving my academic weightage.It's really helpful to me in gaining the knowledge.It's like studying with the real world scenarios and understanding it in much better way.

автор: Cinthia T C G

Apr 08, 2019

Excelente curso, muy orientado a mis necesidades profesionales.

автор: Damini B

Apr 09, 2019

An important course that gives you a framework to understand and analyse social norms by the leading scholar in the field. This is the future of social change.

автор: Leonardo J T

Apr 10, 2019

Excellent