Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 904
Рецензии: 246

О курсе

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Лучшие рецензии

JR

1 авг. 2019 г.

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM

7 янв. 2016 г.

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 245 отзывов о курсе The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

автор: Jenifer S

9 авг. 2015 г.

What is the Enlightenment? Part One of this course pulls together a number of stimulating readings to introduce the basic concepts of the title. Taught by an expert with grace and style. Stimulating assignments challenge the student to think comparatively and deeply.

автор: Tereza K

12 авг. 2016 г.

I really enjoyed this course. What I found particularly interesting was the possibility of reading the essays of my classmates and learning from them as well. I want to especially thank Prof. Roth for his excitement he brought to philosophy of 18. and 19. century.

автор: ANA C C D R L

3 окт. 2015 г.

Amazing oportunity to develop ideas in different subjects around the theme of modernity. The course covers many authors,and though never gets superficial. The best part is Professor Roth and the pieces of readings in an emotional, thrilling way. Thanks Coursera!

автор: Pam P

4 июня 2021 г.

I​ am writing a book about a woman who wrote a memoir in 1926 and want to be more conversant with intellectual history as I do it. This class was a big help. I started Part II before I realized there was a part I, and now shall continue and complete Part II.

автор: ANUSHKA M

10 июля 2020 г.

The course is highly interesting and the topics chosen paint a fairly detailed picture of the era of enlightenment nad the philosophers in modern Europe. The assignments are interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed myself studying the various books and essays.

автор: Andrea E

23 сент. 2015 г.

I absolutely loved the course content and the style of the instructor.

The only feedback I'd extend is more variety in the writing assignment prompts, and a little more specificity in the quiz wording. Some of the questions seemed phrased in an unclear way.

автор: Sumor S

18 февр. 2017 г.

i learned what I thought I would learn and more! Plus, the other students are really inspiring. It is a great feeling to get a glimpse of how many other people are interested in the same subjects and also write. Great Professor and a great class!

автор: Lola R M

26 июня 2021 г.

This course is well planned and well paced. I feel like I learned a lot from the readings and the very engaging video lectures. This was my first Coursera course and it left me feeling very positively about taking courses online in this format.

автор: Nivedita F

8 сент. 2020 г.

Extremely helpful to build a theoretical background for art and architecture. Prof. Michael Roth has a very good way of explaining things in very simplistic terms. I found the course to be devoid of jargon, very simplified and very elaborate.

автор: Lewis H

2 мая 2019 г.

Fantastic course. I really appreciate the instructor's attention to detail and narrative ability. The topics covered in this class were diverse and interesting. I will certainly be signing up for the second part of this course.

автор: Yesha B

19 янв. 2017 г.

The classes were interesting. Activities and assignments were very innovative and helped me to get idea about Modernism and Postmodernism. The best part was getting reviews from peers. I really enjoyed learning in this course.

автор: APOORVA S R

16 февр. 2021 г.

The course was very well designed and the curriculum touched upon major events of the era under study. The passion with which Prof. Roth taught the course was inspiring and listening to the lectures was extremely insightful.

автор: FARAH K

17 сент. 2020 г.

Michael S. Roth is such an inspirational tutor, his command over the course contents and effective delivery was the highlighting feature of this course. I truly recommend this course and enjoyed learning throughout 7 weeks.

автор: Leanne C

21 мар. 2017 г.

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Instructor has an engaging way about him and makes the subject matter clear in the lectures. Essay-work was thought-provoking and forced critical analysis about research and reading material.

автор: LEE X E

22 июня 2020 г.

It is a great course and a nice lecturer to help people to reflect the world now as well as getting exposed to many great artworks and thoughts that may lead you to a new experience in questioning the modernity. Have fun!!

автор: Johanna N

11 февр. 2016 г.

A truly inspiring, engaging course. I really appreciate the interdisciplinary nature and Mr. Roth's enthusiasm and humor. He is also very good at explain potentially very difficult subjects. I LOVE the inclusion of art and

автор: Raquel O d

13 нояб. 2016 г.

This is a delightful course, despite of its complexity. You can follow the discussion and very good explanation without much difficulty, because the professor guide in a clearly and objective way. I really enjoyed it ;)

автор: Eliana K

14 февр. 2021 г.

It has been a great journey to the world of philosophy and art of 18th-19th century. Proffesor Michael S. Roth is a great lecturer who knows how to keep learners attention throughout the course. Thank you so much.

автор: Serkan B A

4 июня 2019 г.

It might be one of the best courses I've ever taken online. There were some minor errors in English subtitles, and to be honest, I hate peer-review system, but overall, it was great! Would definitely recommend it.

автор: ivan l a

23 авг. 2020 г.

Disfruté muchísimo de las clases del notable profesor Roth y de las lecturas asignadas. Es un curso que te estimula intelectualmente y genera deseos de seguir leyendo los autores estudiados. Me encantó.

автор: D S

31 янв. 2018 г.

Best course and professor I have taken at Coursera, since Demystifying Mindfulness (which is #1).

Really liked Prof Roth, and appreciate his continued emails after the course via Mentor connections.

автор: César F G

20 июля 2020 г.

Un curso completamente excepcional. Estuve realmente meditando y las lecturas son absolutamente bien elegidas para la reflexión, la memoria histórica y la belleza literaria. Muchísimas gracias.

автор: Merlin E

29 мая 2022 г.

Thats really a fantastic course to dive in for greater understanding of the key ideas and figures of the modern and the postmodern. Goona enroll for part II as well... Very much delighted..

автор: Jente L

9 окт. 2020 г.

I enjoyed this course very much. The lectures are incredibly interesting and Roth's passion and enthusiasm about the subjects make the lectures very enjoyable. Would very much recommend.

автор: Kavita J

5 авг. 2021 г.

good course highlighting all the important aspects of the period concisely ,providing detailed information by recommending the necessary material to upgrade your knowledge in depth.